Coterie Insurance vs Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Coverdash offers a fully digital self-serve purchase; Coterie's MPL is placed only through the agents and brokers using its quoting platform.

What Is Coterie Insurance?

Coterie Insurance is a managing general agency and digital small-business insurance platform built for licensed agents and distribution partners. It markets business owner's, standalone general liability and miscellaneous professional liability policies, with optional endorsements for eligible risks. 1,2,3

Read the Coterie Insurance profile

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 5,6,7

Read the Coverdash profile

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 10,11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Self-Serve Purchase Versus Agent-Only Distribution

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 8 Coterie's Miscellaneous Professional Liability brochure describes distribution only through agents and brokers using Coterie's quoting platform, with no direct-to-business application path. 4

Published Limit Structure Versus None Shown

Coterie publishes specific each-claim limit options of $25,000, $50,000, $250,000, $500,000, or $1,000,000, with the aggregate set at two or three times the each-claim limit:

Coterie offers MPL each-claim limits of $25,000, $50,000, $250,000, $500,000, or $1,000,000, with the aggregate set at two times the each-claim limit (three times for the $1,000,000 option); the basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional purchased extensions of 1 to 6 years, and up to 6 years of prior-acts (retroactive) coverage. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Available Limits' table and 'Extended Reporting Period'/'Retroactive Date' definitions.

Coverdash's professional liability page doesn't publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 8

What Each Policy Is Described as Covering

Coverdash says its coverage responds to a client's financial harm from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. 8 Coterie's MPL base form covers economic or financial damages from wrongful acts in professional services but specifically excludes bodily injury or property damage, fraud or intentional wrongful acts, and wrongful termination or discrimination claims. 4

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Coverdash for the specific limit and retention options available on your quote, since the reviewed page doesn't publish standard figures. 8
  • Ask an agent or broker which of Coterie's five each-claim limit tiers fits your contract requirements before binding. 4
  • Get the issuing insurer from both; Coverdash's page doesn't name one, and Coterie's brochure names only the policy form, not the carrier. 8 4
  • If you operate in DC, IL, MA, MT, ND or VA, confirm availability directly, since Coterie's MPL is currently unavailable in those states. 4

Offering Details

Coterie Insurance vs Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCoterie Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL)Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

Coterie writes Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) as a claims-made policy sold through agents and brokers to protect a small-business client against third-party claims for errors or omissions in their professional services. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure policy-overview paragraph.

Coverdash arranges professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 7,8Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the professional liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

Issuing Insurer

The MPL brochure names the policy form 'Coterie Professional Liability Errors and Omissions Insurance Declarations' (form code CTPL CWW PL) but does not name the issuing insurer; that appears only on the policy declarations. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms' table.

The professional liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 8Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

Who It’s For

Coterie lists dozens of eligible professions for MPL, including accounting services, architects and engineers, bookkeeping, human resources consulting, interior design, property management, real estate agents/brokers, and technology services/IT consulting, each with profession-specific exclusions in some cases (for example, barbers/beauticians exclude services like electrolysis and tattoo services). 4Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Eligible Professions' and 'Eligible Professions (Continued)' lists.

Coterie says MPL is available in most states but is currently unavailable in DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure 'MPL unavailable' note.

Coverdash markets professional liability to any small business, startup or e-commerce seller that gives advice, provides a service or delivers work for clients, citing examples including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. 8Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and profession-specific appetite.

Coverage Features

Coterie's MPL policy covers economic or financial (non-physical) damages arising from wrongful acts in professional services, such as faulty reports or verbal advice that cause a client financial loss; it is written on a claims-made basis covering incidents reported during the policy period or an extended reporting period, occurring after the policy's retroactive date. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure policy overview and 'Professional Liability Limits of Insurance' definitions.

Coterie's MPL base form excludes bodily injury or property damage claims, fraud or intentional wrongful acts, wrongful termination or discrimination claims, and claims based on contractual liability assumed beyond what would exist without the contract, among other listed exclusions. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Professional Liability Policy Base Form Exclusions' list.

Coverdash describes professional liability as covering claims that a client's financial harm came from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. 8Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits, exclusions and whether the policy is claims-made.

Coverdash's coverage hub lists this general professional liability product separately from Tech E&O (for technology companies) and Lawyers Professional Liability, so a technology or legal business would typically be pointed to the more specific product instead. 9Company-reported. Coverage hub category structure; does not establish which product a given underwriter would actually issue.

Limits and Retentions

Coterie offers MPL each-claim limits of $25,000, $50,000, $250,000, $500,000, or $1,000,000, with the aggregate set at two times the each-claim limit (three times for the $1,000,000 option); the basic policy includes a 60-day extended reporting period, with optional purchased extensions of 1 to 6 years, and up to 6 years of prior-acts (retroactive) coverage. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure 'Available Limits' table and 'Extended Reporting Period'/'Retroactive Date' definitions.

The professional liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 8Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

How to Apply

MPL is distributed only through agents and brokers using Coterie's quoting platform; the reviewed brochure does not describe a direct-to-business application path. 4Company-reported. MPL brochure framing as 'for Agents and Brokers'.

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 8Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

Full Comparison

More Coterie Insurance vs Coverdash Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Coterie Insurance

  1. Instant Bindable Small Business Insurance Quotes for Agents. Coterie Insurance; Built for Agents and Brokers; online workflow; core lines; endorsements; availability sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Allianz X Announces Strategic Investment in Coterie Insurance. Coterie Insurance and Allianz X; September 11, 2025 announcement; MGA role; Series C investment and reinsurance relationship. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Coterie Insurance small business products overview. Coterie Insurance; Product line overview page listing Professional Liability among Coterie's coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Policy Overview & Product Highlights for Agents and Brokers. Coterie Insurance; Policy overview paragraph; Eligible Professions list; 'Currently unavailable in: DC, IL, MA, MT, ND, and VA'; Professional Liability Limits of Insurance table; Claims-Made Policy Form / Retroactive Date / Extended Reporting Period definitions; Mandatory Countrywide PL Policy Forms; Base Form Exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Negligence, Mistakes and errors, Missed deadlines, Legal defense; Who It's For industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Professional Liability separately from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot