Corgi vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy

The Hartford bundles property, liability and business income you can quote online; Corgi lists a two-part BOP with a 1–14 day turnaround.

What Is Corgi Insurance?

Corgi Insurance sells commercial coverage to technology startups through stage-based packages (pre-seed and seed, Series A, and growth stage) that combine general liability, directors and officers, technology E&O, cyber, and related lines, alongside a growing small-business product line for other industries. Coverage may be issued by Corgi’s own risk retention group, an affiliated admitted carrier, or a partner insurer, so the issuing entity and available protections depend on the specific product and state. 1,2,3,4,5

Read the Corgi profile

What Is The Hartford?

The Hartford is the brand of The Hartford Insurance Group, Inc., whose subsidiaries underwrite property-and-casualty insurance and employee benefits. Small-business buyers can start online or by phone or work through independent agents, while the issuing company and state eligibility still have to be confirmed on a quote. 6,7,8

Read the The Hartford profile

What Is a Business Owner’s Policy?

A business owner’s policy packages property, general liability and business interruption coverage for eligible businesses. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Business Owner’s Policy

What the Bundle Names

The Hartford’s BOP puts commercial property, general liability and business income into one policy. Corgi’s catalog line names only general liability and commercial property. 9 2

Who Issues the Policy

The Hartford presents the BOP as its own product, though the reviewed pages do not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given policy. Corgi’s homepage listing also does not name an issuing insurer, policy form or underwriting entity. 9 6 2

What to Confirm in Business Owner’s Policy Quotes

  • Ask whether business income is on both forms; The Hartford includes it in the base description, and Corgi’s listing does not mention it. 9 2
  • Confirm the writing company: a Hartford subsidiary versus whoever Corgi uses for this line. 6 2
  • Compare add-ons The Hartford lists as extra (workers’ compensation, professional liability, commercial auto, data breach) with what Corgi will attach. 9 2
  • Get limits, deductibles and premium in writing; The Hartford reports an average of $1,687 a year as an estimate, and Corgi publishes neither figure. 9 2

Offering Details

Corgi vs The Hartford Business Owner’s Policy: documented features by provider

CriteriaCorgi Business Owners Policy (BOP)The Hartford Business Owner's Policy (BOP)
Role in This Line

Corgi lists a Business Owners Policy among its main policies, but groups it with the slower, non-instant-quote products rather than the modules that get an on-page instant quote. 2Company-reported. Homepage coverage catalog as read on 2026-09-23. No dedicated BOP product page was found on corgi.insure or its sitemap.

The Hartford's BOP bundles commercial property insurance, general liability insurance and business income (interruption) coverage into one policy, rather than requiring three separate policies. 9Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed homepage listing does not name an issuing insurer, policy form number or underwriting entity for the Business Owners Policy. 2Not publicly disclosed. Homepage catalog card as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated BOP page exists to check for a form number or underwriter disclosure.

The BOP page does not name which Hartford property-and-casualty subsidiary would issue a given buyer's policy; the Legal Notice says coverages may be offered by one or more of several listed subsidiaries depending on product and jurisdiction. 9,6Not publicly disclosed. BOP page and Legal Notice as read 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Not described in the reviewed sources.

The Hartford says a BOP fits a business that has a physical location, faces a possibility of being sued, or has assets that could be stolen or damaged, and can be customized for specific industries. 9Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.

Coverage Features

Corgi describes its BOP as combining general liability and commercial property coverage into a single policy, designed for small and growing businesses. 2Company-reported. One-line homepage product description; no policy form, limits, exclusions or endorsement list is published for this line.

The Hartford says a BOP does not itself include workers' compensation, professional liability, commercial auto or data breach coverage, but these can be added on top of the base policy, along with off-premises utility business-income coverage. 9Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23.

Limits and Retentions

No limits, deductibles or retentions are published for the Business Owners Policy in the reviewed sources. 2Not found in reviewed sources. Homepage catalog card only; Corgi publishes illustrative limits for several other lines (e.g. D&O, EPLI, Crime) on their own product pages, but no equivalent page exists for BOP.

The Hartford reports its customers paid an average of $1,687 a year (about $141 a month) for a BOP; the page does not publish standard coverage limits or deductibles, since actual limits are set at quote or issue. 9Company-reported. Company-reported average as of 2026-09-23; described on the page as an estimate, not a quote for any specific business.

How to Apply

Corgi tags the BOP card with a 1-14 days turnaround, distinct from the same-day instant-quote path it advertises for CGL, Cyber, Tech & AI, D&O, EPLI, Fiduciary, Media and HNOA. 2Company-reported. Homepage badge language only; the reviewed sources do not describe the actual BOP application steps or underwriting requirements.

The Hartford offers an online quote flow for a BOP, described as customizable by adding coverages; buyers can also call a listed phone number to start a quote. 9Company-reported. BOP product page as read 2026-09-23. Quote availability observed without completing a purchase.

Full Comparison

More Corgi vs The Hartford Comparisons

Other Business Owner’s Policy Comparisons

Sources

Corgi

  1. Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Corgi Insurance: Startup Insurance, Quoted in Minutes. Corgi Insurance; Explore Our Main Policies: Business Owners Policy (BOP) card, listed with an 1-14 days turnaround badge rather than the Instant quote badge used for CGL, Cyber, Tech & AI, D&O, EPLI, Fiduciary, Media and HNOA. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.

The Hartford

  1. SaaS Insurance for Your Business. The Hartford; Audience list (software startups, SaaS, IT consulting); Get a Business Owner’s Policy; What Is Business Owner’s Policy Insurance?; general liability introduction and Get a Quote; Get Commercial Property Insurance; Commercial Property Insurance for Your Business; Benefits of The Hartford’s WC Insurance for Employers and Employees; cyber insurance and data breach descriptions; Get a quote for cyber insurance; EPLI introduction and Private Choice Premier; add-ons (workers’ compensation, data breach, commercial auto); technology professional liability mention; small-business availability banner; industry-average premium footnote; footnote 2 state restrictions; footer product-availability disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Find a Local Insurance Agent. The Hartford; Small-business and midsize agent locators; FAQ that buyers can purchase without an agent by calling or quoting online; statement that agents may charge fees. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Business Owner's Policy (BOP) Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Business Owner's Policy Insurance?; What Is Included in a Business Owner's Policy?; Additional Coverages You Can Add; Who Needs a Business Owner's Policy?; How Much Does a BOP Cost?; BOP vs. General Liability comparison. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Business Owner’s Policy Guide

  1. Business Interruption and Business Owner Policy. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Background; General liability, Commercial property and Business interruption bullets. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot