Corgi vs Coverdash D&O Insurance

Corgi sells a named RRG D&O form with $1M/$2M example limits; Coverdash brokers standalone D&O digitally without naming the insurer.

What Is Corgi Insurance?

Corgi Insurance sells commercial coverage to technology startups through stage-based packages (pre-seed and seed, Series A, and growth stage) that combine general liability, directors and officers, technology E&O, cyber, and related lines, alongside a growing small-business product line for other industries. Coverage may be issued by Corgi’s own risk retention group, an affiliated admitted carrier, or a partner insurer, so the issuing entity and available protections depend on the specific product and state. 1,2,3,4,5

Read the Corgi profile

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 7,8,9

Read the Coverdash profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Named Risk Retention Group Versus Unnamed Carrier Placement

Corgi’s D&O is a claims-made form underwritten by Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. Coverdash arranges standalone D&O as a broker and places it with a carrier under standard brokerage terms; Coverdash does not name that insurer. 6 10 9

Corgi sells D&O as a standalone startup policy and also bundles it into stage-based packages from pre-seed and seed. Coverdash sells standalone D&O separately from a management-liability bundle that can add employment-practices, fiduciary and crime on top of the D&O core. 6 10

Three Coverage Parts Versus Unpublished Amounts

Corgi splits the form into Side A (individuals, no retention when the company cannot indemnify), Side B (company reimbursement) and Side C (entity cover, with extra exclusions including intellectual-property claims and contractual liability). Coverdash describes protection for directors, officers and the company against leadership-decision harm, investor suits and regulatory investigations. 6 10

Corgi’s illustrative structure shows limits up to $1 million per claim and $2 million in the aggregate, with a $25,000 retention per claim (none on Side A) and defense inside the limit. Coverdash’s reviewed sources do not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 6 10

Self-Serve Quote Versus Digital Quote-to-Purchase

You can request a Corgi D&O quote through a self-serve application. Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process, with the option to add other coverages alongside D&O. 6 10

Corgi offers optional endorsements for outside directorship, crisis-event expense and investigative costs, and its standard form excludes registered public-securities claims with a Regulation D carve-back. Coverdash says D&O is frequently required as a condition of funding. 6 10

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Confirm you can buy a risk-retention-group policy in your state and that Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. is the issuer on a Corgi quote. 6

  • Ask Coverdash which carrier would issue the policy and whether you are quoting standalone D&O or the management-liability bundle. 10

  • Ask Corgi whether the Regulation D carve-back, Wells Notice coverage on Sides A and B, and any of the three add-ons are on the quote. 6

  • Get dollar limits from Coverdash, which the public D&O page does not show, and compare them with Corgi’s illustrative $1 million / $2 million structure. 10 6

Offering Details

Corgi vs Coverdash D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCorgi Directors & Officers (D&O)Coverdash Directors & Officers Insurance
Role in This Line

Corgi sells D&O as a standalone startup policy and also bundles it into its stage-based packages starting at pre-seed and seed, describing it as protection for directors and officers against personal financial liability for management decisions. 6Company-reported. Product page for form CORG-DO-0100, last reviewed by Corgi on April 24, 2026 per the page itself.

Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 9,10Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the D&O page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

Issuing Insurer

Corgi's D&O product page states directly that the policy is a claims-made policy underwritten by Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., a risk retention group. 6Company-reported. Policy Boundaries section of the D&O product page; this is a line-specific underwriter statement, distinct from Corgi's general multi-entity disclaimer.

The directors and officers page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 10Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

Who It’s For

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. 10Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific funding or governance situation.

Coverage Features

The policy has three coverage parts: Side A pays individual directors and officers directly when the company cannot indemnify them and carries no retention; Side B reimburses the company when it does indemnify directors and officers; Side C covers the company entity itself, subject to additional exclusions including intellectual-property claims and contractual liability. 6Company-reported. Coverage summary for form CORG-DO-0100; the issued policy and declarations control.

The standard policy excludes claims from registered public securities offerings, but a carve-back preserves coverage for exempt transactions such as Regulation D private placements, which Corgi says covers how most startups raise capital. 6Company-reported. Scenario notes for form CORG-DO-0100; not every fundraising structure automatically qualifies as exempt.

Corgi covers individual directors and officers (Sides A and B) who receive a Wells Notice, subpoena or target letter from a regulator, but the standard policy excludes entity-level regulatory investigations of the company itself. 6Company-reported. Policy notes for form CORG-DO-0100; informal inquiries and document requests that don't rise to these triggers are not covered.

Coverdash describes directors and officers coverage as protecting the company's directors, officers and the company itself against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, suits from investors or shareholders, and regulatory investigations, and pays defense costs and settlements for covered claims. 10Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

Coverdash sells this standalone Directors & Officers product separately from its bundled management liability product, which adds optional employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage on top of the D&O core. 10Company-reported. Comparison of the directors-and-officers and management-liability product pages; does not establish which structure is cheaper or better suited to a given company.

Limits and Retentions

Corgi's illustrative D&O structure shows limits up to $1 million per claim and $2 million in the aggregate, with a $25,000 self-insured retention per claim (no retention on Side A) and defense costs included within the limit. 6Company-reported. Illustrative policy structure on the product page; actual limits and retentions appear on the declarations.

The directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 10Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

Risk Services

Corgi offers three optional D&O endorsements: Outside Directorship (extends coverage to directors and officers serving on outside boards at the company's request), Crisis Event Expense (covers PR and crisis-communications costs after negative publicity), and Investigative Costs (broader coverage for regulatory inquiries short of a formal claim). 6Company-reported. Available Add-ons section of the product page; endorsement availability varies by jurisdiction and underwriting, and each requires a separate endorsement to apply.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

You can request a D&O quote online through Corgi's self-serve application. 6Company-reported. Product page quote call to action.

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 10Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

Full Comparison

More Corgi vs Coverdash Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Corgi

  1. Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance; What's Actually Inside Your D&O Policy (form CORG-DO-0100); Scenario notes; Policy notes; Available Add-ons; FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Management decisions, Investor and shareholder claims, Regulatory actions, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Directors & Officers separately from Management Liability, D&O Side A and the D&O + EPLI Bundle. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot