Coalition vs
USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance
Coalition distributes Executive Risks D&O on Zurich or surplus paper; USI brokers D&O and applies its ExecuSafe endorsement package without naming the insurer.
What Is Coalition Insurance?
Coalition offers cyber insurance and technology E&O alongside cyber risk-management services. Its U.S. products are distributed through insurance producers, with separate admitted and surplus-lines routes and an executive-risk product suite. 1,2,3,4
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 6,7,8
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Product Suite Versus Broker Endorsement Package
Coalition designs D&O as one of four Executive Risks coverages and sells it only through appointed brokers. USI brokers D&O instead: it identifies exposures, reviews existing management-liability policies, and places coverage, including through ExecuSafe. 4 9
Coalition names Zurich American Insurance Company as the admitted Executive Risks carrier and also places the suite non-admitted with unaffiliated insurers. USI’s reviewed sources do not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements. 5 9
Size Caps Versus Seed-to-IPO Technology Practice
Coalition says Executive Risks D&O is available to private and not-for-profit U.S. organizations with up to $500 million in assets, up to 1,000 employees, and up to $500 million in plan assets. USI’s ExecuSafe article does not publish those maxima. 4 9
USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, and its Technology practice places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. Coalition’s reviewed sources do not describe a seed-through-IPO technology D&O practice. 9 7 4
Hotline Tools Versus Limit Benchmarking
Coalition says Executive Risks policyholders, including D&O buyers, get a risk assessment, an HR and director/officer hotline, training, a handbook builder and website compliance tools. USI’s reviewed ExecuSafe materials do not describe that policyholder toolkit. 4 9
Coalition publishes limits up to $10 million per coverage line. USI’s Technology practice cites a benchmarking case that changed a software company’s D&O limit and says the change saved more than $100,000 a year, but it does not publish its own placed ExecuSafe limits. 4 7 9
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
-
Ask Coalition whether the quote is admitted Zurich American paper or a non-admitted unaffiliated insurer. 5
-
Ask USI which carrier would issue the policy and whether ExecuSafe endorsements are on the form. 9
-
Confirm whether USI is routing you through the Select Business email for ExecuSafe or through the Technology practice for a seed-to-IPO placement. 9 7
-
Compare Coalition’s $10 million per-line figure with the actual placed limit USI proposes after any benchmarking. 4 7
Offering Details
Coalition vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coalition Executive Risks — Directors and Officers Liability (D&O) | USI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coalition designs and distributes D&O as one of four coverages in its Executive Risks product suite, sold through appointed brokers. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section. |
| Issuing Insurer | Coalition's disclaimer names Zurich American Insurance Company (NAIC 16535) as the admitted carrier for Executive Risks, and says Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. also places Executive Risks with unaffiliated insurers on a non-admitted basis, so the carrier for a specific D&O policy depends on the placement route. 5Company-reported. U.S. Disclaimers page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 9Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Coalition says Executive Risks products, including D&O, are available to private and not-for-profit U.S. organizations in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., with up to $500 million in assets, up to 1,000 employees, and up to $500 million in plan assets. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks FAQ as read on 2026-09-23. | USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 9,7Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description. |
| Coverage Features | Coalition says D&O coverage protects company leadership from liability arising from their business decisions, including alleged breaches of duty or financial mismanagement. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23; exclusions and limitations apply per the page footer, and the issued policy controls actual terms. | USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | Coalition says limits up to $10 million per coverage line may be available for Executive Risks products, including D&O, subject to exclusions and limitations. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks FAQ as read on 2026-09-23; not a quoted or bindable limit for any specific applicant. | USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 9Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data. |
| Risk Services | Coalition says Executive Risks policyholders, including D&O buyers, get a customized risk assessment, a hotline for assistance with HR and director/officer-related issues, employee training, a handbook builder, and website compliance tools. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks page and FAQ as read on 2026-09-23. | USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 7Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified. |
| How to Apply | Coalition distributes Executive Risks, including D&O, only through appointed insurance brokers rather than direct to buyers. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 9,7,10Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages. |
Full Comparison
More Coalition vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coalition
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive Risks. Coalition; Product Offering: Directors and Officers Liability (D&O) — offers protection for company leadership from liability arising from their business decisions, including alleged breaches of duty or financial mismanagement; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer?, What resources do you have for policyholders? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Admitted Executive Risk: insurance products offered by Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. acting on behalf of unaffiliated insurance companies and, on an admitted basis, on behalf of Zurich American Insurance Company (NAIC # 16535). Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





