CNA vs Harper: How Do They Compare for Product Liability Insurance?

CNA lists U.S. life-sciences manufacturers, distributors, wholesalers, and research organizations; Harper says its placement can address vendor-contract limits and additional-insured status. 4,9

CNA Small Business Insurance: Products, Agents and Service

CNA directs small-business buyers to independent agents and describes CNA Connect as a businessowners policy for more than 600 small-business classes. Issuer and availability vary by policy and state, so confirm both in a quote. 1,2,3

Read the CNA profile

Read the CNA Product Liability Insurance page

What Is Harper Insurance?

Harper suits hard-to-place businesses such as contractors, care providers, manufacturers and transportation firms; standard small businesses seeking direct quotes should compare online carriers. Its workers’ compensation service helps classify payroll for audits. 7,8

Read the Harper profile

Read the Harper Product Liability Insurance page

What Is Product Liability Insurance?

Product liability can cover claims that a product you make, import, distribute or sell injured someone or damaged property. If your business handles products, describe every role in the supply chain and ask how the quote treats product damage and recall costs. 11,12,13,14,15

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance

Product Classes

CNA names U.S. pharmaceutical, nutraceutical, biotechnology, medical-device, and R&D or clinical-trial organizations. Harper describes product liability for makers, importers, and sellers of physical products. A life-sciences company should compare its specific product and business role with both published audience descriptions; neither description guarantees eligibility. 4 9

Injury and Property-Damage Claims

CNA describes its Life Sciences Work-Hazard Product Liability policy for bodily-injury or property-damage claims. Harper describes coverage for injury claims from a product and property damage the product caused, including legal defense costs for those claims. Both descriptions concern harm attributed to a product; the proposed forms and exclusions determine the actual response. 4 9

What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Harper to match each retailer requirement and show the additional-insured wording. 9
  • Ask CNA to itemize product and E&O limits and confirm your product class. 6

CNA and Harper Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CNA Review Score

9.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Customer feedback on CNA is mixed and hard to compare. NerdWallet gave it 4.5 out of 5 for manufacturers, while Trustpilot shows about 1.4 out of 5 from 49 mostly self-selected reviews.[1][5]

Read CNA reviews

Harper Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no customer star rating for Harper. Its Trustpilot page has 0 reviews, and BBB shows 0 customer reviews and 2 complaints.[4][6]

Read Harper reviews

CNA vs Harper Product Liability Insurance Compared

CNA vs Harper: Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCNA Life Sciences Product LiabilityHarper Product Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Confirm in your quote.

Harper places product liability coverage as a broker: it says a specialist reviews the business and approaches insurers on the client's behalf rather than underwriting the policy itself. 9Company-reported. Product liability page's 'Why Harper' section; describes Harper's placement process, not a specific insurer or policy.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The reviewed product liability page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a given policy; Harper says it places the coverage with 'real insurers' generally rather than a named carrier for this line. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Checked the product liability page and the coverage directory on 2026-09-23; neither names a carrier for this specific line.

Who It’s For

CNA targets life-sciences manufacturers, distributors and wholesalers, including pharmaceutical, nutraceutical, biotechnology and medical-device organizations, as well as R&D/clinical-trial organizations. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Life-sciences product and professional liability Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. life-sciences manufacturers, distributors, R&D and clinical-trial organizations Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control.

Harper says the line is for makers, importers and sellers of physical products, and that importers, distributors and retailers can be named in a product claim even when they didn't manufacture the item. 9Company-reported. Product liability page introduction and FAQ answer on non-manufacturer exposure.

Coverage Features

CNA markets a Life Sciences Work-Hazard Product Liability policy for bodily injury or property damage arising from product work-hazard claims. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Life-sciences Work-Hazard Product Liability Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. life-sciences manufacturers, distributors, R&D and clinical-trial organizations Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control.

CNA says Products–Work Hazard Liability and Professional Liability may be issued separately or combined with one aggregate; monoline options are available. 6Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Small-business life-sciences products and professional liability Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. small-business life-sciences products liability; summary is not policy form Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control. Source FAQ is dated 2023 and is an informational summary, not the issued policy form. Historical FAQ summary ©2023; not the issued form. Source/date qualification: Copyright ©2023; FAQ details are historical summary, not issued policy terms.

Harper describes the coverage as responding to injury claims from a product, property damage the product caused, and the legal defense costs of those claims. 9Company-reported. Product liability page's four coverage tiles (Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance); the issued policy and its exclusions control actual scope.

Limits and Retentions

CNA’s small-business life-sciences page states that qualified applicants may obtain product liability with E&O limits up to $10 million. 5Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Small-business life-sciences Products Liability with E&O Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. small-business life-sciences professional and products liability Claim limitation: Up to $10 million for qualified risks; not guaranteed offered limit or universal availability.

Harper names product category, sales volume and sales channel as what drives product liability pricing, but the reviewed page does not publish specific limit, retention or premium figures. 9Not publicly disclosed. Product liability FAQ 'What does it cost?'; figures are unavailable on this public page and would appear on a quote.

Risk Services

Confirm in your quote.

Harper says it will write the policy to match a retailer or marketplace vendor agreement, including additional-insured status and the specific limits those contracts require. 9Company-reported. Product liability page 'We know this' section and FAQ on additional-insured requests; a service Harper describes performing, not an independently verified outcome.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

You request a quote through Harper's online form or by phone; Harper says one application is then shopped across the insurers that write the applicant's product class. 9Company-reported. Product liability page quote form and 'Why Harper' process steps.

Related Pages for CNA vs Harper Product Liability Insurance

Product Liability Insurance Pages for CNA and Harper

Other Coverage Lines Compared for CNA vs Harper

Other Product Liability Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for CNA vs Harper Product Liability Insurance

Sources About CNA

  1. Insurance for Small Businesses. CNA; Insurance for Small Businesses, lines 38-50 and 65-67 (CNA Central and agent route); lines 79-106 (product and stated appetite lists); page footer line 132 (CNA registered service mark). Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. CNA Connect Small Businessowners Policy (BOP) | CNA Insurance. CNA; CNA Connect; coverages, product range, services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. General Disclaimer. CNA; General Disclaimer paragraphs 1 and 5 (HTML lines 24 and 28): CNA describes Continental Casualty Company and its relevant affiliates; references to CNA may include one or more CCC affiliates; each particular policy/product/service is the responsibility only of the specific CNA company that issues or supplies it. Footer line 57 identifies CNA Financial Corporation as trademark registrant. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Life Sciences Insurance | CNA. CNA; Life Sciences: products, target classes, claims and risk control. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Small Business Life Sciences Insurance | CNA. CNA; Coverage and appetite: products liability, limits, optional features and target classes. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. Life Sciences Coverage Highlights FAQ | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–3: work-hazard products liability, separate/combined form, recall benefit, reporting, availability and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Sources About Harper

  1. Text Messaging Terms and Conditions. Harper Global Enterprises Inc.; Effective August 24, 2026; sections 1–3 (entity, consent and service messages), 5 (message costs), 9 (delivery) and 11 (coverage confirmation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. We're Announcing $47M to Build the Insurance Company Every Business Deserves. Harper / Dakotah Rice; February 26, 2026 article: brokerage identity; AI-assisted submissions and follow-ups; 24–48-hour coverage statement; more than 165 underwriters; plans for additional direct appointments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Product Liability Insurance. Harper; Know your coverage: What is Product Liability insurance?; Injury claims, Property damage, Defense in depth, Vendor agreement compliance; Why Harper (specialist, market access, recommendation, same-day certificates); FAQs on importers/distributors/retailers and pricing drivers. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. What We Cover. Harper; Coverage directory list including Product Liability; intake selector categories. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the Product Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Commercial General Liability Coverage Form. ISO Properties, Inc.; specimen hosted by Hiscox; Recall exclusion p.5; Supplementary Payments pp.8–9; Section III limits p.10; V.16 and V.21 p.15, warnings/instructions continue p.16. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot