CFC vs
USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance
CFC slots D&O into a US management-liability package and Side A DIC; USI brokers placements and applies its ExecuSafe endorsement set.
What Is CFC Insurance?
CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 8,9,10
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 13
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Package Underwriting Versus Broker Placement
CFC puts directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling a standalone D&O form, and it also sells Side A DIC as excess above an existing D&O tower. 5 6 USI is a broker for D&O, not the issuer of that package. 11
USI is a broker: it reviews management-liability gaps and places coverage, including through ExecuSafe, an endorsement package it applies to policies it places with the market. 11 CFC underwrites a package form; USI shops and endorses a policy someone else issues.
Who Is in Appetite
CFC’s brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6 USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe and separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients through its Technology practice. 11 9 A California public company that CFC’s brochure would decline is still inside USI’s described brokerage work.
Limits, Insurer Names and How You Start
CFC lists an additional limit for insured persons but does not publish a dollar amount, retention or overall D&O limit. 6 USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey on private-company D&O claim cost and does not publish ExecuSafe limits or retentions of its own. 11
CFC names Syndicate 1988 and Underwriting Limited without tying either to a given US D&O policy; USI also leaves the ExecuSafe issuer unnamed. 4 11 USI routes ExecuSafe inquiries to a listed email; CFC describes a US claim-notification path rather than a public self-serve quote. 11 7
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask whether a CFC quote is the Management Liability package or Side A DIC sitting over another tower. 5
- If you are California-domiciled or publicly traded, ask CFC whether the brochure decline list applies. 6
- Ask USI which insurer is on the ExecuSafe placement and which endorsements attach. 11
- Compare quoted limits; neither reviewed set publishes a bindable D&O dollar maximum. 6 11
Offering Details
CFC vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | CFC Directors & Officers Liability | USI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it. | USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 11Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section. |
| Issuing Insurer | CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 11Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business. | USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 11,9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description. |
| Coverage Features | CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms. CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages. CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here. | USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 11Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23. | USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 11Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data. |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 9Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified. |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 11,9,12Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages. |
| Claims Support | CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More CFC vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
CFC
- About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





