CFC vs Risklytics Cyber Insurance

CFC screens applicants with a security questionnaire; Risklytics says it charges no broker fee on top of the premium, which the carrier pays as commission.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is Risklytics Insurance?

Risklytics describes a commercial insurance brokerage for robotics, autonomy, hardware and AI businesses. It prepares applications and seeks coverage from insurers; California placement eligibility remains unconfirmed. 9,10,11

Read the Risklytics profile

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 14

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

How Each Company Is Compensated

Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium for its cyber liability line, and that its commission as a licensed producer is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way.

You start Risklytics Cyber Liability Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. 13,9Company-reported. Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form.

CFC's reviewed pages describe its own named product rather than a brokerage fee structure, since CFC designs and names Cyber Proactive Response itself. 5

What Triggers Eligibility

CFC segments cyber eligibility by revenue band, from $0 to $250 million for its main products. 5 Risklytics instead frames eligibility around a moment: the first time a company holds customer data in production, or when an enterprise or government contract requires it. 12

How Limits Are Framed

CFC publishes a specific maximum line size of $25 million, but only for its Corporate cyber tier reserved for $250 million-plus businesses. 5 Risklytics instead describes a "typical ask" of $1 million or more in enterprise contracts, rather than a maximum the carrier will write. 12

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Risklytics to name the specific insurer it places your cyber liability policy with, since its site does not disclose one. 12
  • Ask CFC to confirm which revenue tier applies to your business and the underwriting insurer behind it. 5
  • If your product involves AI, robotics or autonomy, ask Risklytics how policy wording treats a prompt-injection or model-output incident before binding. 12
  • Request published limits and retentions from both; figures shown are illustrative or tier-specific rather than a standard quote. 12 5

Offering Details

CFC vs Risklytics Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Cyber Proactive ResponseRisklytics Cyber Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

CFC's flagship cyber product, Cyber Proactive Response, targets businesses with revenues from $0 to $250 million and pairs the policy with built-in security monitoring, incident response and claims handling rather than selling those as add-ons. 5Company-reported. Cyber insurance product page's Cyber Proactive Response summary; CFC separately sells Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber for businesses at $250 million and up, and a Cyber excess policy.

Risklytics Insurance Services is a licensed insurance producer (NPN 22311838) that places Risklytics Cyber Liability Insurance with outside carriers; it says it does not underwrite policies itself. 9Company-reported. About page; describes Risklytics' brokerage model generally, restated for this line.

Issuing Insurer

The Cyber Proactive Response application form names only CFC Underwriting Limited, an entity authorized and regulated by the UK Financial Conduct Authority, as the party administering the form. Neither the cyber product page nor the application discloses which specific insurer or Lloyd's syndicate capacity sits behind a US Cyber Proactive Response policy. 8,4Not publicly disclosed. Application footer and the regulatory information page, both checked on 2026-09-23; CFC also operates Lloyd's Syndicate 1988 and CFC USA Inc.'s admitted and E&S licenses, but no page ties one of these specifically to Cyber Proactive Response.

Risklytics does not name the carrier that underwrites Risklytics Cyber Liability Insurance on its site. It says it places business with specialist insurers willing to write robotics, autonomy and AI risk; the issuing carrier appears on the bound policy. 12,9Company-reported. Lines page and about page; no specific insurer is published for this line.

Who It’s For

CFC segments cyber eligibility by revenue: Cyber Proactive Response and Cyber (admitted) are positioned for businesses with revenues from $0 to $250 million, while Corporate cyber is for businesses at $250 million and above. 5Company-reported. Cyber product page product summaries; actual eligibility for a given applicant depends on underwriting.

Risklytics says companies typically need this coverage the first time they hold customer data in production, and that enterprise and government contracts require it once a vendor touches their data. 12Company-reported. Lines page.

Coverage Features

Cyber Proactive Response includes crime cover, a 12-month indemnity period for business interruption, and data recreation cover, with unlimited claim reinstatements available at either no deductible or a single deductible at most. 5Company-reported. Cyber product page Key features list for Cyber Proactive Response.

Risklytics describes Cyber Liability as paying for breach cleanup, legally required notifications, and the claims that follow a hack or data leak, such as a ransomware attack or exfiltrated customer records, and says it does not respond to a model giving bad output with no breach involved. 12Company-reported. Lines page; the issued policy and declarations control actual coverage.

Limits and Retentions

For larger businesses, CFC's Corporate cyber product (for revenues of $250 million or more) has a published maximum line size of $25 million; the Cyber Proactive Response and Cyber (admitted) pages for smaller businesses do not publish a maximum dollar limit. 5Company-reported. Cyber product page Corporate cyber Key features; limit for any individual policy appears on its declarations.

Risklytics lists a typical ask of $1 million or more in enterprise contracts for this line. 12Company-reported. Lines page; actual limits are set on the bound policy.

Risk Services

Every CFC cyber policyholder gets CFC Response, described as an in-house incident-response service available 24/7, plus a free mobile app offering dark web monitoring, phishing simulations and external network deep scanning. 6,7Company-reported. Response page and cyber brochure; CFC characterizes its incident response team as one of the largest in-house teams in the industry, a claim not independently verified here.

Risklytics calls cyber the easiest line for its clients to get with reasonable security basics in place, and says whether a prompt-injection attack or a model leaking data is covered depends on policy wording it reads before binding. 12Company-reported. Lines page.

How to Apply

The US Cyber Proactive Response application is a one-page form asking whether multi-factor authentication is enforced for remote network access and email, whether backups are offline or MFA-secured, and whether the business had a cyber incident in the last three years. 8Company-reported. Cyber Proactive Response application form sections on cyber security controls and previous cyber incidents.

You start Risklytics Cyber Liability Insurance through Risklytics' online application. Risklytics says there is no broker fee on top of the premium and a licensed producer stays on the file until the program binds; its commission is paid by the carrier out of the premium either way. 13,9Company-reported. Pricing page describes the general application and fee process, not a line-specific form.

Claims Support

CFC says its in-house cyber claims team resolves several thousand cyber claims a year and reports a 99.4% cyber claims acceptance rate over a recent 12-month period. 7Company-reported. Cyber brochure claims statistics; these are company-reported figures and were not independently audited.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs Risklytics Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988; CFC USA Inc. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Cyber insurance | CFC. CFC; Cyber Proactive Response, Cyber (admitted), Corporate cyber, Cyber excess product summaries and Key features; FAQs: How is a cyber insurance policy structured? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Incident response | CFC. CFC; Proactive protection; Immediate response; Real-time support. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Protecting businesses against cyber risk (cyber product brochure). CFC; Market-leading cover highlights: separate limit for incident response costs, unlimited reinstatements with nil deductible, full business interruption cover; Award-winning cyber claims team stats. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  8. Cyber Proactive Response Insurance application form (US). CFC; Basic company details; Cyber security controls; Previous cyber incidents; footer entity line. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Risklytics

  1. About Risklytics: who we are. Risklytics; “What we do”; Licensing: Risklytics Insurance Services, National Producer Number 22311838, resident license Massachusetts. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  2. Insurance for Frontier Tech. Risklytics; You describe your company; One application. Written for you; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Terms of Service. Risklytics; Effective August 7, 2026; sections 1–5, 7, 9 and 12. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Cyber Liability Insurance. Risklytics; Coverage line: Cyber Liability; Built for moments like these; When to buy; Who requires it; How hard to get; Common questions. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. How pricing and broker fees work. Risklytics; Buying direct / Generic broker / Risklytics comparison table: no broker fee, commission paid by the carrier out of premium. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot