CFC vs HUB International Product Liability Insurance

CFC underwrites life-science and nutraceuticals packages with published products-liability maxima; HUB brokers general and product liability across casualty carriers.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 9,10,11

Read the HUB International profile

What Is Product Liability Insurance?

Product liability insurance addresses liability for injury or damage associated with a defective product that a business manufactures, wholesales, distributes or sells. 13,14,15,16

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance

Designer of Two Packages Versus Casualty Broker

CFC sells product liability only inside life science and nutraceuticals packages. HUB brokers general and product liability as part of its casualty practice, arranging coverage with regional, national and specialty carriers rather than underwriting the policy. HUB’s reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer; CFC’s brochures also leave the carrier unnamed. 5 12

CFC’s packages cover government-enforced product recall costs, with voluntary recall available as an extension, alongside the products-liability grant. HUB pairs product-liability brokerage with related casualty coverages it also arranges, including product recall, crisis-response support, sexual misconduct liability, active-assailant protection and Violent Acts Liability. 6 7 12

Industry Focus

CFC’s life science brochure lists devices and software as a medical device among products it considers, and nutraceuticals appetite includes energy drinks and cosmetics. HUB highlights transportation, construction, healthcare, hospitality, manufacturing and real estate as industries where it says commercial liability exposures, including product liability, are most complex. 6 7 12

Limits and Structure

CFC publishes brochure maxima of $15 million claims-made and $7 million occurrence for products liability. HUB does not publish product-liability limits on the reviewed page; its casualty team says it runs risk-financing assessments to set retention levels, program structures and coverage limits. 6 7 12

What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes

  • Ask CFC which package and trigger apply, and whether voluntary recall is included. 6
  • Ask HUB which carrier would issue the product-liability layer and whether recall is a separate placement. 12
  • Compare HUB’s proposed structure and retention against CFC’s brochure maxima if you need a high limit. 12 7
  • Check CFC’s ordinary-decline product lists before assuming a life-science or nutraceuticals application will proceed. 6

Offering Details

CFC vs HUB International Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Life Science and NutraceuticalsHUB International General & Product Liability Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

CFC sells product liability only inside its life science and nutraceuticals package policies, not as a standalone product-liability product. 5Company-reported. Life science product page, which lists life sciences and nutraceuticals as the two package policies covering products/completed operations exposure.

HUB brokers general and product liability insurance as part of its casualty practice, arranging coverage with regional, national and specialty carriers rather than underwriting the policy itself. 12Company-reported. Casualty product page, read 2026-09-23; the page does not name a specific issuing insurer.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed life science and nutraceuticals brochures describe CFC as the policy designer and point of contact but do not name the insurer that carries the product-liability risk for either package. 5,6,7Not publicly disclosed. Life science page and both brochures as read on 2026-09-23. CFC's own materials describe it as an underwriting manager rather than a risk-bearing insurer, so a specific carrier for either package would need to come from the quote or declarations.

HUB says it maintains relationships with regional, national and specialty carriers for casualty placements, but the reviewed page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's product liability policy. 12Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the casualty product page on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific placement depends on the quote.

Who It’s For

For the life science package, CFC says it considers companies importing, manufacturing, distributing or leasing tangible products, implantable and non-implantable devices, and software as a medical device, but ordinarily declines products such as hip and knee replacement kits, infusion devices, implantable silicone, and breast implants. 6Company-reported. Life science brochure's "Products we consider" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.

For the nutraceuticals package, CFC says its appetite covers products like energy drinks, weight-loss or weight-gain products, functional health products and cosmetics, but ordinarily declines products containing or derived from kratom or colloidal silver, or with excessively high stimulant levels. 7Company-reported. Nutraceuticals brochure's "What we like" and "What we ordinarily decline" lists; actual acceptance depends on individual underwriting.

HUB highlights vertical expertise in transportation, construction, healthcare, hospitality, manufacturing and real estate as industries where it says commercial liability exposures, including product liability, are most complex. 12Company-reported. Casualty product page industry-expertise description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

Both packages cover legal expenses and compensation for bodily injury or property damage claims arising from use, ingestion, or (for life science) implantation of the insured's product, alongside product recall costs for government-enforced recalls, with voluntary recall available as an extension. 6,7Company-reported. Life science and nutraceuticals brochures' "Commercial general liability"/"Products and completed operations" and "Product recall" sections; exact wording and exclusions are set by the policy as issued.

HUB says its General & Product Liability offering addresses injuries or property damage to the public arising from a client's premises or operations, its products, contractual liabilities, natural catastrophes, or violent events. 12Company-reported. Casualty product page scope-of-protection description; the issued policy's insuring agreements and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB pairs its product liability brokerage with related casualty coverages it also arranges, including product recall coverage, crisis-response support, sexual misconduct liability (SML), active-assailant protection and Violent Acts Liability insurance. 12Company-reported. Casualty product page complementary-coverages list; availability of each coverage depends on the client and placement.

Limits and Retentions

CFC's brochures list a maximum products-liability limit of $15 million on a claims-made basis and $7 million on an occurrence basis for both the life science and nutraceuticals packages. 6,7Company-reported. "Limits and minimum premiums" sections of both brochures; the limit actually issued depends on underwriting.

Published product liability policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed page. 12Not publicly disclosed. Checked the casualty product page on 2026-09-23; limits are set through the risk-financing assessment and the quote.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

HUB says its casualty team runs risk-financing assessments to set retention levels, program structures and coverage limits. 12Company-reported. Casualty product page strategic-approach description.

How to Apply

CFC publishes separate application forms for life science products/software and for nutraceuticals, so the underwriting intake differs by package even though both share the same product-liability grant. 5Company-reported. Life science product page's downloads list.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Claims Support

CFC says it has pioneered coverage for nutraceuticals as an emerging risk area and has claims handlers experienced with that sector's product claims. 8Company-reported. CFC's claims page, "Emerging risk" section; a general capability statement with no published nutraceuticals-specific claim volume or outcome data.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs HUB International Comparisons

Other Product Liability Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC USA Inc.; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd’s Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Life science. CFC; Life sciences and Nutraceuticals tiles; "What does CFC's life science policy cover?" list; downloads (brochures, application forms). Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Life science | Product brochure | United States. CFC; Commercial general liability; Product recall; At a glance: Products we consider / What we ordinarily decline; Limits and minimum premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Nutraceuticals | Product brochure | United States. CFC; Products and completed operations; Product recall; At a glance: What we like / What we ordinarily decline; Limits and minimum premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  8. Claims. CFC; Emerging risk: "CFC has pioneered coverage for many emerging risk areas - like intellectual property and nutraceuticals - and is one of the only teams in the market with experience handling claims from a variety of new sectors". Accessed 2026-09-23.

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Comprehensive Casualty Insurance Solutions. HUB International; General & Product Liability section: scope of protection for premises/operations, products, contractual liability, catastrophes and violent events; complementary casualty coverages (product recall, crisis response, SML, active assailant, Violent Acts Liability); risk-financing and strategic casualty approach; vertical industry expertise; carrier relationships. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Product Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot