CFC vs Counterpart: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

CFC includes D&O in its US Management Liability package and separately offers Side A DIC excess; Counterpart markets separate private-company and nonprofit D&O products. 5,6,10,11

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

Read the CFC D&O Insurance page

What Is Counterpart Insurance?

Counterpart describes a broker-focused platform for small businesses and lists management and professional liability programs. Buyers should compare the named profession, carrier, state, policy wording and any package component on the actual quote. 8,9

Read the Counterpart profile

Read the Counterpart D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 13,14,15

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Primary Package and Separate Side A DIC

CFC includes D&O within its US Management Liability package rather than as a standalone product and separately sells Side A DIC excess above an existing D&O program. Counterpart publishes a private-company D&O page and a separate page for not-for-profit organizations. A buyer comparing packaged D&O with an excess layer for individual directors can ask CFC how the Side A DIC placement sits above the existing program, while Counterpart prospects can confirm which segment page applies to their organization. 5 10 11

Stated Package Eligibility

CFC's U.S. brochure lists California-domiciled businesses and publicly traded U.S. companies among the risks it declines for the package that includes D&O. Counterpart markets separate private-company and nonprofit D&O pages, with eligibility subject to review of the proposed risk. A California-based or listed company should raise that status when asking CFC about the package; a nonprofit or private company should identify its Counterpart segment before comparing policy wording. 6 10 11

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Does CFC's package accept the company's domicile and public-company status, and what separate Side A DIC layer can be quoted over existing D&O? 6 5
  • Which Counterpart segment and insurer will the proposed quote name for your organization's legal form? 10 11

CFC and Counterpart Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]

Read CFC reviews

Counterpart Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.[7][10]

Read Counterpart reviews

CFC vs Counterpart D&O Insurance Compared

CFC vs Counterpart: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Directors & Officers LiabilityPrivate Company and Nonprofit Directors & Officers Liability
Role in This Line

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it.

Counterpart describes itself as distributing insurance through its producer and surplus-lines broker and says businesses access the program through a wholesale broker. 8,12Company-reported. The cited pages do not map a particular insurer to a D&O quote or state.

Issuing Insurer

CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business.

Counterpart publishes a private-company D&O product page and a separate D&O page for not-for-profit organizations. 10,11Company-reported. Separate product pages show different marketed segments; eligibility depends on the proposed risk and insurer review.

Coverage Features

CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms.

CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages.

CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here.

The private-company D&O page describes protection for management-liability claims and includes illustrative coverage and limit examples. 10Company-reported. Illustrations and summaries are not policy terms or an available limit commitment.

Counterpart separately markets D&O for not-for-profit organizations. 11Company-reported. The retained page summary does not establish a particular nonprofit’s eligibility or the terms of its policy.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Confirm in your quote.

Claims Support

CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for CFC vs Counterpart D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for CFC and Counterpart

Other Coverage Lines Compared for CFC vs Counterpart

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for CFC vs Counterpart D&O Insurance

Sources About CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources About Counterpart

  1. Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Retained provider source: product page sections on covered organizations, coverage, example limits/retentions and capacity; prior access 2026-09-28. Direct reopen failed in this session. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Retained provider source: product page sections on nonprofit eligibility, coverage and underwriting partners; prior access 2026-09-28. Direct reopen failed in this session. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Retained source: article describes wholesale-broker referral route; prior access 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot