CFC vs Chubb D&O Insurance

CFC puts D&O in a US management-liability package and declines California-domiciled and US public companies; Chubb underwrites ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O for smaller private firms.

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 1,2,3,4

Read the CFC profile

What Is Chubb?

Chubb is the marketing name for a global insurance group whose U.S. companies underwrite commercial property, casualty, cyber and financial-lines coverage, including technology-focused DigiTech ERM and small-business packages. Founders and finance teams typically work through an appointed agent, then receive a policy issued by a named Chubb-group insurer rather than by the Swiss holding company. 8,9,10

Read the Chubb profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Package Module Versus ForeFront D&O

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling a standalone D&O product, and separately sells Side A DIC above an existing D&O program. Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability through ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 for smaller privately held companies. 5 6 11

Chubb also offers separate ForeFront versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations. CFC’s reviewed materials do not describe those organization-specific ForeFront tracks. 12 5

Who Each Will Write

CFC lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O. Chubb aims this D&O product at smaller private companies. 6 11

Chubb’s reviewed ForeFront materials do not list California domicile or US public status as decline categories. CFC separately sells Side A DIC that it describes as excess for directors of private and publicly traded organizations. 11 5

Limits for Individuals

Chubb publishes a $500,000 sublimit for security-holder derivative-demand evaluation costs and an optional additional $500,000 Side A dedicated limit for executives. CFC lists an additional insured-persons limit on top of the package base but does not publish the dollar amount, and does not publish an overall D&O limit. 11 6

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • If you are California-domiciled or US publicly traded, ask CFC whether the management-liability package is available. 6

  • Ask Chubb whether the $500,000 derivative-demand sublimit and optional $500,000 Side A limit apply, and whether you are on the private, not-for-profit or healthcare ForeFront version. 11

  • Ask CFC for the dollar amount of the additional insured-persons limit and whether Side A DIC would sit above the package. 6 5

  • Get the issuing entity: Chubb ForeFront versus CFC’s unnamed US D&O issuer. 12 4

Offering Details

CFC vs Chubb D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCFC Directors & Officers LiabilityChubb ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 5,6Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it.

Chubb underwrites D&O and Entity Liability directly through ForeFront Portfolio 3.0, describing this specific version as designed for directors and officers of smaller, privately held companies. 11Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O and Entity Liability product page.

Issuing Insurer

CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 4,6Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Who It’s For

CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business.

Chubb aims this D&O product at smaller private companies and offers separate versions for not-for-profit and healthcare organizations in its ForeFront Portfolio. 11,12Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0 D&O page opening description; ForeFront Portfolio page coverage list.

Coverage Features

CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms.

CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 6Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages.

CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 5Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here.

Chubb lists a broad definition of Insured covering the parent organization, subsidiaries, directors or officers (including foreign equivalents), advisory board members and volunteers worldwide; automatic not-for-profit outside-directorship coverage; a broad definition of Claim including written demands, civil and criminal proceedings, and extradition requests; and civil fines and penalties coverage where insurable, including FCPA civil penalties. 11Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list; subject to the policy as issued.

Chubb says the policy uses a streamlined insured-versus-insured exclusion with exceptions (including financial impairment, former executives after one year, and whistleblower and employment claims) and conduct exclusions that require final non-appealable adjudication before they apply. 11Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list, exclusion-related bullets.

Chubb says the policy provides private-placement and failed-IPO coverage, a full Side A carve-back to the pollution exclusion, and a guaranteed IPO quotation including coverage for road-show presentations. 11Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 6Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Chubb publishes two specific sublimits: a $500,000 sublimit for security-holder derivative-demand evaluation costs, and an optional additional $500,000 Side A dedicated limit for executives. Overall policy limits are not published and depend on the issued policy. 11Company-reported. Coverage Highlights list.

How to Apply

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Agents and brokers can quote and issue the ForeFront Portfolio, including its D&O and Entity Liability coverage, through Chubb Marketplace. 12Company-reported. ForeFront Portfolio page quoting section.

Claims Support

CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 7Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More CFC vs Chubb Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. ForeFront Portfolio 3.0: Directors & Officers and Entity Liability Insurance. Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Directors & Officers (D&O) and Entity Liability list, including Insured definition, sublimits, Side A coverage, Claim definitions, conduct and insured-v-insured exclusions, IPO coverage. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; ForeFront Portfolio's seven coverages; Directors & Officers and Entity Liability listed for private companies, not-for-profit and healthcare organizations; Chubb Marketplace quoting. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot