Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Simply Business

Consider Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance if your business fits businesses in its listed commercial and specialty sectors, including technology, and Simply Business if it fits small businesses. Their catalogues overlap on commercial property, cyber, general liability; compare each quote route, identified insurer and policy form before choosing. 1,25

Introduction

This comparison pairs businesses in its listed commercial and specialty sectors, including technology through Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance with small businesses through Simply Business. Their coverage catalogues share commercial property, cyber, general liability. If one of those lines fits your business, compare the proposed forms and quote routes side by side; listed lines do not establish equal policy terms or eligibility. 1 25

Coverage Comparison

CoverageBerkshire Hathaway Specialty InsuranceSimply Business
Builders riskListed 22BHSI’s current U.S. Builder’s Risk page lists construction-project coverage, including hot testing/commissioning, delay and soft-cost features, and selectively considered Master Builder’s Risk programs. Project scope, eligibility, terms and issuer remain policy-specific.Not listed
Business owner’s policyNot listedListed 34
Cargo and transitListed 9,10BHSI's current Marine catalog lists Ocean Cargo, Stock Throughputs, and Project Cargo. The older US-12/22-A guide lists Project Cargo as out of appetite, so confirm its current status; BHSI lists Inland Marine separately.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 11,12BHSI lists all-risk commercial property and selected single-peril options, including earthquake, flood, and windstorm.Listed 35,34Offered as part of a BOP, rather than as a standalone policy.
CrimeListed 14BHSI lists Commercial Crime within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio’s comprehensive form, alongside D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and employed-lawyer coverages. The page targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue; portfolio limits up to $50 million may be shared or separate and are not a crime-specific limit. Crime coverage is distinct from fidelity bonds.Not listed
Cyber liabilityListed 23,18BHSI markets a U.S. Network Security & Privacy product with third-party breach, response-expense and network-interruption features; its Professional First overview also describes stand-alone Cyber and blended E&O/Cyber forms. Product form, eligibility, terms and issuer depend on the risk and policy.Listed 37Add-on for select buyers purchasing another business policy; phone quote route.
Directors and officersListed 13,14Executive First D&O liability materials describe separate public-company and private-company products.Not listed
Employment practices liabilityListed 14BHSI lists employment-practices liability within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio’s comprehensive form, alongside D&O, fiduciary, crime and employed-lawyer coverages. The page targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue; portfolio limits up to $50 million may be shared or separate and are not an EPL-specific limit.Not listed
Fiduciary liabilityListed 14BHSI lists fiduciary liability within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio’s comprehensive form, alongside D&O, employment-practices, crime and employed-lawyer coverages. The page targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue; portfolio limits up to $50 million may be shared or separate and are not a fiduciary-specific limit.Not listed
General liabilityListed 15,16BHSI lists primary general liability, with contractor and pollution features described in its casualty materials.Listed 31
Media liabilityListed 18,19BHSI’s Professional First overview names Media Liability, and its architects/engineers product describes media liability only within a specialized combined design-industry form. The overview’s catalogue listing does not establish standalone terms or current account availability.Not listed
Product liabilityListed 15,16BHSI lists primary products and completed-operations liability as a casualty product.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 17,18,19Professional First materials describe a professional-liability portfolio with several professions and service types.Listed 33
Representations and warrantiesListed 20,21BHSI lists Representations & Warranties Insurance within its Transactional Liability products.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 24BHSI’s U.S. Surety page lists performance, payment, advance-payment, maintenance, supply and warranty bonds for contractor and construction-supplier accounts. Bond obligations depend on the bond form, principal, obligee and jurisdiction; this catalogue listing does not establish bond approval or terms.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 18,19Professional First materials identify Technology E&O as a professional-liability product.Not listed
Tools, equipment and inland marineListed 9BHSI lists inland transit, motor-truck cargo, warehouse legal liability, contractor equipment, and floaters under Inland Marine.Listed 36
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 15,16BHSI lists lead umbrella and excess casualty within its U.S. casualty products.Not listed
Workers’ compensationNot listedListed 32

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

Carrier

Carrier & MGA

7.0/ 10

Assessed entity: Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company. Scope: Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (BHSIC, NAIC 22276) as a U.S. admitted insurer, using Nebraska and New York regulator records and AM Best. It does not cover policies issued by affiliates under the BHSI brand (for example Berkshire Hathaway International Insurance Ltd in the U.K.), and it is not a claims-outcome measure.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

-/ 10

Review Score

The public ratings for Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance are low but thin: Trustpilot shows 2.1 out of 5 from 9 reviews and BBB shows 1 out of 5 from 6. Both mix travel and commercial customers, so we don't count them in a score.[5][7]

Read Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance reviews

Simply Business

5.7/ 10

Review Score

4 rated sources

Customers disagree about Simply Business. Trustpilot shows 4.3 out of 5 from 1,901 reviews, but BBB customers give it 1.95 from 20 reviews and ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0.[6][10][7]

Read Simply Business reviews

Key Differences Between Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and Simply Business

Business Fit and Coverage

The catalogues share commercial property, cyber, general liability; other listed lines appear in the comparison table. For the overlap, match the policy forms, limits, exclusions and endorsements before treating the products as alternatives. A shared line name does not establish equal protection or eligibility.

BHSI's U.S. industry focus spans real estate, public entities, financial institutions, healthcare, education, manufacturing, retail, logistics, transportation, energy, and technology. The at-a-glance guide associates these industries with particular product segments; it does not say every segment serves every listed industry. 1Company-reported. Company-stated industry focus in the United States section of the At A Glance (U.S. section version 2026-8-03 A); industry lists are segment-specific, not a universal eligibility statement.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 25,30,26Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Roles and Quote Access

BHSI’s U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) lists commercial property, casualty, healthcare professional liability, executive and professional lines, surety, travel, programs, employer stop loss, and homeowners insurance. The guide is informational, not policy coverage, and its brand-level list does not identify the insurer on a particular policy. 1,2,5Company-reported. A description of BHSI's U.S. line list in its U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) only. The guide says its descriptions are informational and are not coverage; its brand-level list does not assign an issuing insurer to a particular product or policy. This is not a claim that one legal insurer issues every BHSI product.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 25,26,38,27Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

BHSI's website terms say online application or quote submissions are informational and nonbinding; only contracted agents of the National Indemnity group may bind coverage, issue policies or certificates, or change coverage. Group companies' authority also varies by state, so the terms do not show that every application must begin through an agent. 5Company-reported. The website's own online submissions and binding authority described by BHSI's terms; not a statement about every product's intake process or a claim that purchase can be completed online.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 27,26Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Use these routes to plan who will assemble the submission and whether you can complete the purchase online or need an agent or broker. Ask Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and Simply Business to confirm the route for your state, coverage and business details; an online quote path alone does not show that a risk can be bound. 5 27

Policy Service and Claims

BHSI's U.S. website terms and claims page reviewed on September 28, 2026 do not explain how commercial policy renewals are quoted or completed. The U.S. product directory opened for this correction displays category navigation, but it is not a review of the linked product pages. These limited checks do not establish that renewal support or a renewal route is unavailable. 6,5,7Not found in reviewed sources. A narrowly scoped research gap in the opened U.S. website terms and claims page and the U.S. product-directory landing page, checked 2026-09-28. The directory landing page provides category navigation only; linked product pages and account-specific servicing routes were not reviewed for this claim. This does not mean BHSI lacks renewal support.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 27,28,26Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

For claims outside separate product-specific instructions, BHSI's U.S. claims page lists email, 24-hour toll-free, and postal reporting routes; several products have their own route. 7Company-reported. Claims-notice channels published on BHSI's U.S. claims page at review date; policy/product-specific directions govern and the general channels are not universal.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 26,28Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Compare the practical handoffs for documents, policy changes, renewal questions and claim notices. A listed support route describes access to help, not a claim outcome or a guarantee of service speed.

What to Confirm in Quotes

Request quotes for the same business details, coverage lines, limits, deductibles or retentions and policy period. Ask Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance and Simply Business to name the producer and issuing insurer for each proposed policy, confirm who can bind it, and itemize any customer fees or intermediary compensation. For the overlapping commercial property, cyber, general liability, compare the actual insuring agreement, exclusions, sublimits and endorsements. Also confirm who handles account changes and receives claim notices. 1 25 26

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaBerkshire Hathaway Specialty InsuranceSimply Business
Business role

BHSI’s U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) lists commercial property, casualty, healthcare professional liability, executive and professional lines, surety, travel, programs, employer stop loss, and homeowners insurance. The guide is informational, not policy coverage, and its brand-level list does not identify the insurer on a particular policy. 1,2,5Company-reported. A description of BHSI's U.S. line list in its U.S. At A Glance section (version 2026-8-03 A) only. The guide says its descriptions are informational and are not coverage; its brand-level list does not assign an issuing insurer to a particular product or policy. This is not a claim that one legal insurer issues every BHSI product.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company (BHSIC) identifies itself in its Singapore-branch public disclosure as a Nebraska-domiciled direct property and casualty insurer, wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, which is wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. The Singapore-branch disclosure states this ownership chain. A Missouri Department of Insurance record separately lists BHSIC as active, NAIC 22276, and Property and Casualty in Missouri. Neither source identifies BHSIC as the issuer of every BHSI-branded U.S. policy. 3,4,5Company-reported. Company-reported corporate identity and ownership in BHSI's Singapore-branch public disclosure, corroborated for company identity and Missouri P&C authority by the Missouri Department of Insurance record accessed 2026-09-28. Neither source maps BHSIC as issuer for every BHSI-branded U.S. product; use policy-specific documents for that.

Simply Business describes its U.S. service as an online commercial-insurance marketplace and licensed producer connecting business customers with insurers. Its June 30, 2026 Terms identify Simply Business, LLC and Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC d/b/a Harborway Insurance as licensed producers, with Harborway a Simply Business subsidiary; the Terms say Harborway policies are underwritten by Spinnaker Insurance Company. Other site policies are underwritten by third-party providers, so the selected issuer depends on the offer and policy. These roles and license statements are company-reported. The contact-page footer says Simply Business, LLC is licensed in all U.S. states and D.C.; for California it says the company operates under the name Simply Business Insurance Agency, LLC and displays License #0M20593. The footer also lists Colorado, New York, Pennsylvania and Texas operating names; it gives no other license identifiers. No regulator lookup was performed or required for this candidate. 25,26,38,27Company-reported. U.S. commercial insurance distribution described by the company. Simply Business, LLC, Simply Business, Inc., Harborway Insurance Agency, LLC, the stated parent and each policy issuer are distinct. The Inc./LLC relationship remains unresolved.

Application process

BHSI's website terms say online application or quote submissions are informational and nonbinding; only contracted agents of the National Indemnity group may bind coverage, issue policies or certificates, or change coverage. Group companies' authority also varies by state, so the terms do not show that every application must begin through an agent. 5Company-reported. The website's own online submissions and binding authority described by BHSI's terms; not a statement about every product's intake process or a claim that purchase can be completed online.

The company advertises online quotes and weekday phone access to licensed agents. Its Terms say a quote is not guaranteed and Simply Business cannot bind a risk without panel-member approval; a quote or online purchase path does not establish that every applicant can bind online. 27,26Company-reported. Published U.S. quote and service channels. Binding depends on panel-member approval and the individual offer.

Servicing and renewals

BHSI’s U.S. Claims Service Standards document (version US 2024-10-07A) says coverage issues or reservations are discussed directly with insureds, brokers, and relevant parties, and brokers and policyholders are kept involved during third-party settlement discussions. These are company-stated process standards, not measured claims outcomes. 8Company-reported. Company-stated U.S. claims-service standards in version US 2024-10-07A; accessed 2026-09-28. Process commitments are not evidence of measured service or outcomes.

BHSI's U.S. website terms and claims page reviewed on September 28, 2026 do not explain how commercial policy renewals are quoted or completed. The U.S. product directory opened for this correction displays category navigation, but it is not a review of the linked product pages. These limited checks do not establish that renewal support or a renewal route is unavailable. 6,5,7Not found in reviewed sources. A narrowly scoped research gap in the opened U.S. website terms and claims page and the U.S. product-directory landing page, checked 2026-09-28. The directory landing page provides category navigation only; linked product pages and account-specific servicing routes were not reviewed for this claim. This does not mean BHSI lacks renewal support.

Simply Business lists licensed-agent phone support Monday through Friday: sales 8 a.m.–8 p.m. Eastern Time and service 9 a.m.–6 p.m. These listed hours do not establish a response-time guarantee. 27Company-reported. Hours displayed on the current U.S. contact page; no actual wait-time observation is implied.

The company describes account access for policy documents, certificates, account updates and adding coverage; help material routes some changes to an agent or insurer. Not every policy change is described as self-service. 27,28,26Company-reported. Company-described post-purchase service paths; available tasks may depend on policy and insurer.

The Help Center FAQ says most customers opt into automatic renewal and gives 60-day notice and 30-day processing timing only for those who opt in. The same Help Center summary and June 30, 2026 Terms use broader automatic-renewal wording without the FAQ’s opt-in qualification. The public descriptions conflict; they do not establish which wording applies to every policy. 28,26Conflicting sources. Company-published descriptions reviewed 2026-09-29. FAQ detail, Help Center summary and Terms are inconsistent; no buyer-specific policy notice was reviewed.

Claims assistance

For claims outside separate product-specific instructions, BHSI's U.S. claims page lists email, 24-hour toll-free, and postal reporting routes; several products have their own route. 7Company-reported. Claims-notice channels published on BHSI's U.S. claims page at review date; policy/product-specific directions govern and the general channels are not universal.

The Terms say third-party insurers underwrite site policies and each provider handles claims on its own policies; the Help Center directs policyholders to identify and contact the insurer. This establishes a published route, not agency assistance after notice or claim outcomes. 26,28Company-reported. General site-policy claim responsibility. Harborway/Spinnaker applies only to the named Harborway placement relationship.

Customer focus

BHSI's U.S. industry focus spans real estate, public entities, financial institutions, healthcare, education, manufacturing, retail, logistics, transportation, energy, and technology. The at-a-glance guide associates these industries with particular product segments; it does not say every segment serves every listed industry. 1Company-reported. Company-stated industry focus in the United States section of the At A Glance (U.S. section version 2026-8-03 A); industry lists are segment-specific, not a universal eligibility statement.

Within its U.S. executive-lines commercial and financial segment, BHSI lists publicly traded and large privately owned commercial firms; investment, money-center, national, and regional banks; asset managers; and insurance companies and brokerages. The size description applies to the commercial-firm entry, not every listed institution or all BHSI products. 1Company-reported. Only the U.S. Executive Lines, Commercial & Financial segment, At A Glance p. 50. The “publicly traded and large privately owned” qualifier attaches to the Commercial Firms bullet only.

Simply Business says it serves small businesses and solopreneurs and lists examples such as contractors, cleaning businesses, LLCs and sole proprietors. These examples describe its stated audience, not guaranteed insurer eligibility or availability. 25,30,26Company-reported. Company-described U.S. audience; eligibility varies by insurer, state and business details.

Sources

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Official Website

  1. At A Glance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States section, zero-based PDF pages 49–53 (viewer pages 50–54): product/industry lists on pages 49–50; U.S. disclosure/version footer on page 53 is 2026-8-03 A. The 2026-09-14 A footer is on preceding European page 48, not the U.S. section. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Us. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; About BHSI; company profile page re-opened through official site on 2026-09-28; company says it is part of National Indemnity group. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Public Disclosure — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Singapore Branch. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Singapore branch public disclosure, Company Profile ¶¶ 1–2; direct page opened 2026-09-28. ¶ 1 identifies BHSIC as a Nebraska-domiciled direct P&C insurer; ¶ 2 states BHSIC is wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, itself wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Company Details — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Company. Missouri Department of Insurance; Company Details fields: legal name, active license status, NAIC number 22276, and Property and Casualty description; Missouri regulator record also lists 2025 property-casualty lines. Accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Terms of Service. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Important Information Concerning Use of this Web Site, paragraphs 2–4; nonbinding submissions, contracted-agent authority, state variation, product availability and policy-specific terms. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. United States. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States products directory, opened 2026-09-28. Rendered page lists U.S. category links and Casualty/Property headings (lines 6–44); this directory view is navigation, not the linked product pages or a full review of product materials. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. Claims — United States. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Claims Reporting, lines 34–91; separate product-specific directions, then “All other claims” email, 24-hour toll-free phone, postal/overnight mail. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Claims Excellence — United States. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Claims Service Standards, version US 2024-10-07A in footer/document end; page 2 lines 30–34 describe coverage discussion and third-party settlement communications. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. Marine. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Inland and ocean marine product list, covered property classes and target businesses; lines 18-69. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. Ocean Marine Cargo Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Two-page U.S. marketing PDF marked US-12/22-A; product types lines 14-20; ocean marine cargo appetite, capacity and placement lines 43-57; out-of-appetite and target risk characteristics lines 58-72; terms disclaimer lines 103-114. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. Property. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; All-risk, single-peril, catastrophe, inland/ocean marine and builder's risk offerings; target account descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. General Property Appetite Guide. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Page 1: minimum premium, product/forms, territory, attachment and working capacity; page 2 footer identifies 2026-02-10 A; lines 0-9, 89-99. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Executive First Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: government investigations, shareholder derivative actions, late-notice qualification, defense counsel selection; Top Targets: large commercial and financial firms, lines 6–19. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Executive First Private Company Portfolio. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: D&O, EPL, Fiduciary, Commercial Crime and Employed Lawyers in one comprehensive form; shared or separate limits to $50m; EPL First services. Top Targets: private companies at $10m+ revenues and listed industries, lines 11–25. Portfolio limit is not a separate line limit. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  15. Casualty Appetite Guide - U.S. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Casualty appetite PDF page 1: $50K minimum premium, GL/products/lead umbrella/excess lines, selected $10M excess capacity, placement forms and target/avoided classes; guide dated 2026-07-15. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  16. Casualty. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; US casualty product lines and features: Primary General Liability lines 10-34; Primary Products/Completed Operations Liability 35-44; Lead Umbrella and Excess Casualty 46-63. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  17. Professional First Professional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; U.S. Professional Liability landing page links Professional Liability / Network Security & Privacy, stand-alone Network Security & Privacy, and Architects, Engineers and Consultants PL, lines 6–15; footer copyright © 2026. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  18. Professional First Professional Liability Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; PDF pp.1–2: claims group and reporting; primary blended E&O/Cyber and stand-alone Cyber forms; line capacity statement; named Lawyers PL, Technology E&O, Miscellaneous PL, Media Liability, Network Security & Privacy; named technology-services target types and selection categories; dated 2026-06-03-A. Group capacity not a line policy limit. Source version: 2026-06-03-A. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  19. Professional First Architects, Engineers and Consultants Professional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: professional/pollution liability; media, technology and cyber/network security/privacy liability; direct breach/extortion expenses; risk services; primary/excess and project-specific product availability; target professions, lines 6–29. Its combined-form technology feature is not itself a standalone Tech E&O statement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  20. Transactional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights list R&W, tax, contingent-liability and class-action-settlement insurance; Top Targets list manufacturing, financial institutions, technology, real estate, energy, healthcare and retail, lines 6–27. The target list is for the transactional-liability portfolio, not exclusive R&W eligibility. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  21. Transactional Liability Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; PDF pp.1–2: R&W, tax, contingent-liability, and class-action-settlement products; portfolio-wide primary/excess and up-to-$25m capacity; premiums/retentions vary by transaction/risk; portfolio appetite and in-house claims group; R&W buyer-use descriptions; dated 2025-05-16-A. Product-specific limits and final terms not stated. Source version: 2025-05-16-A. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  22. Builder’s Risk. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Current U.S. page: all-risk, hot testing/commissioning, delay/startup/soft costs, single-peril/DIC primary/excess; separate EAR and CAR target categories; Master Builder’s Risk selectively considered, lines 6–35. Reopened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  23. Professional First Network Security & Privacy Policy. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights: third-party breach exposures, regulatory investigations/fines/penalties, direct breach/extortion expenses, electronic-content media liability, business interruption from network-security failure, eRiskHub; Top Targets: professional-services firms, lines 6–19. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  24. Surety. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights name performance, payment, advance-payment, maintenance, supply and warranty bonds; Top Targets name regional/national/global contractors and construction suppliers/services; PPP/project-delivery capability; lines 6–32. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Simply Business Official Website

  1. Our Small Business Insurance Story. Simply Business; Opening description and audience; digital marketplace, business types and U.S. service. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Terms of Service. Simply Business; Dated June 30, 2026; §1 lines 22–28; §8 lines 87–113; §10 lines 143–149; §19 line 211. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Contact Us. Simply Business; Opening contact details lines 20–31; licensed-agent phone hours lines 46–59; U.S. licensing and state-specific name disclosures in footer lines 108–111, including California License #0M20593. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Help Center. Simply Business; Claims, account servicing, agent-routed changes, renewal FAQ and Common Topics. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. How Simply Business Works. Simply Business; Common types lines 92–160; quote/purchase flow; estimate-method footnotes lines 198–200. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Business Insurance for Small Businesses. Simply Business; Small Business Insurance Coverage Options and policy links. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. General Liability Insurance for a Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage lines 51–75; audience lines 61–65, 153–155; application and examples elsewhere on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Workers’ Compensation Insurance for Small Business. Simply Business; Coverage and benefits lines 45–69; state/buyer qualifications lines 178–189. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Professional Liability Insurance Coverage. Simply Business; Coverage lines 45–100; buyer examples lines 101–158; online quote steps lines 237–260. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Business Owner’s Policy Insurance. Simply Business; Bundle lines 34–38, 218–243; add-on/exclusion discussion lines 226–243; buyer and quote sections. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. Commercial Property Insurance. Simply Business; Lines 15–18 present physical-location cover as part of a BOP; lines 34–49 describe the package; lines 59–63 say it is offered as part of the BOP rather than as a standalone policy and link to a BOP quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  12. Inland Marine Insurance. Simply Business; Equipment/inventory lines 15–18, 59–63; examples and quote workflow lines 97–140, 168–191. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  13. Cyber Insurance. Simply Business; Claim types lines 88–105; select-buyer add-on/phone quote lines 171–175; route and last-updated lines 389–395. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  14. Producer Compensation Disclosure (United States). Travelers; Ownership interest in a producer, lines 57–60: Travelers says it owns Simply Business, Inc.; relation to Simply Business, LLC not stated. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot