Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Coverdash: How Do They Compare for Product Liability Insurance?

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance markets primary products/completed-operations liability. Coverdash describes defense for injury claims involving design, manufacturing or warning defects and offers a digital quote-to-purchase process. 6,10

What Is Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance?

BHSI provides commercial and specialty insurance in the U.S., with product-specific industry lists that include healthcare, energy and technology. Online quote and application submissions are nonbinding. 1,2,3,4

Read the Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance profile

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash suits small businesses that want online shopping or an embedded partner purchase with one account for policies and billing; firms needing specialized complex-risk advice should compare broker-led programs. 7,8,9

Read the Coverdash profile

Read the Coverdash Product Liability Insurance page

What Is Product Liability Insurance?

Product liability can cover claims that a product you make, import, distribute or sell injured someone or damaged property. If your business handles products, describe every role in the supply chain and ask how the quote treats product damage and recall costs. 12,13,14,15,16

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Product Liability Insurance

What the Published Offering Defines

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance identifies primary products/completed-operations liability as a distinct casualty product and names manufacturers and distributors as targets. Coverdash describes coverage for claims that a product was flawed in manufacture, unsafe by design or lacked adequate warnings, including legal defense even for a groundless claim; it also notes resellers can be named. Buyers can use those scenarios to test whether each proposal addresses their role in the supply chain. 6 10

Buying and Policy Details to Resolve

Coverdash describes a digital quote-to-purchase process and lets buyers add other coverages alongside product liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance’s record presents a commercial casualty product but no comparable digital workflow. For a fast quote, Coverdash’s process may be convenient, but the record does not publish standard limits or carrier-specific terms. Ask both providers who issues the policy, whether recall costs are excluded, and how limits apply to each product and territory. 10 6

What to Confirm in Product Liability Insurance Quotes

  • Will Coverdash’s quote include your products, reseller role and sales territories? 6 10
  • Which Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance carrier form and separate recall terms would apply to your products? 6 10

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The public ratings for Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance are low but thin: Trustpilot shows 2.1 out of 5 from 9 reviews and BBB shows 1 out of 5 from 6. Both mix travel and commercial customers, so we don't count them in a score.[5][7]

Read Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance reviews

Coverdash

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Coverdash offers convenient quote comparison, but public customer feedback is sparse. A BBB unanswered-complaint record makes responsiveness worth checking before purchase.[1][4][6]

Read Coverdash reviews

Offering Details

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Coverdash: Product Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaPrimary products/completed-operations liabilityCoverdash Product Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Confirm in your quote.

Coverdash arranges product liability coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 9,10Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the product liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The product liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 10Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed product liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

Who It’s For

BHSI identifies manufacturers and distributors, including discontinued-products/IBNR exposures, as products-liability targets. 6Company-reported. Selected US products/completed-operations risks. Material limitation: A target class is not a guarantee of eligibility; discontinued-product exposure has distinct underwriting.

Coverdash markets product liability to manufacturers, wholesalers, distributors and retailers, noting that resellers who did not make a product can still be held liable when it causes harm. 10Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting.

Coverage Features

BHSI markets primary products/completed-operations liability as a distinct casualty product. 6Company-reported. BHSI US commercial primary products/completed-operations liability. Material limitation: This does not establish product-recall expense insurance.

Coverdash describes product liability as covering claims that a product was flawed when made, that its design made it unsafe, or that it lacked adequate safety warnings, and pays legal defense costs even for a groundless claim. 10Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

Limits and Retentions

The casualty appetite guide names Products Liability, primary GL and lead umbrella/excess as lines, and states capacity and minimum-premium guidance for selected casualty accounts. 5Company-reported. Selected US casualty submissions in the guide. Material limitation: The shared guide parameters do not promise product-specific limit availability; contract wording controls.

The product liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 10Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed product liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for product liability, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 10Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

Full Comparison

More Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance vs Coverdash Comparisons

Other Product Liability Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

  1. At A Glance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States section, zero-based PDF pages 49–53 (viewer pages 50–54): product/industry lists on pages 49–50; U.S. disclosure/version footer on page 53 is 2026-8-03 A. The 2026-09-14 A footer is on preceding European page 48, not the U.S. section. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Us. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; About BHSI; company profile page re-opened through official site on 2026-09-28; company says it is part of National Indemnity group. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Terms of Service. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Important Information Concerning Use of this Web Site, paragraphs 2–4; nonbinding submissions, contracted-agent authority, state variation, product availability and policy-specific terms. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Public Disclosure — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Singapore Branch. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Singapore branch public disclosure, Company Profile ¶¶ 1–2; direct page opened 2026-09-28. ¶ 1 identifies BHSIC as a Nebraska-domiciled direct P&C insurer; ¶ 2 states BHSIC is wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, itself wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Casualty Appetite Guide - U.S. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Casualty appetite PDF page 1: $50K minimum premium, GL/products/lead umbrella/excess lines, selected $10M excess capacity, placement forms and target/avoided classes; guide dated 2026-07-15. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. Casualty. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; US casualty product lines and features: Primary General Liability lines 10-34; Primary Products/Completed Operations Liability 35-44; Lead Umbrella and Excess Casualty 46-63. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Product Liability Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Manufacturing defects, Design defects, Failure to warn, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Excess & Specialty category listing Product Liability and Product Recall as separate catalog entries. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Product Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability Coverage: premises, products liability and completed operations; major exclusions including damage to your work, impaired property, sistership liability and failure to perform; Limits of Insurance products and completed operations aggregate; glossary Sistership Liability. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Commercial General Liability Coverage Form. ISO Properties, Inc.; specimen hosted by Hiscox; Recall exclusion p.5; Supplementary Payments pp.8–9; Section III limits p.10; V.16 and V.21 p.15, warnings/instructions continue p.16. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot