Beazley vs
Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Hiscox names its admitted underwriter and sells online in 49 states; Beazley names its own insurer but sells E&O only inside a bundled form.
What Is Beazley?
Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. 1,2,3,4
What Is Hiscox?
Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 7,8,9
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 13,14,15,16
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Both Name an Insurer, on Different Documents
Beazley's Digital MediaTech Application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. on its cover page. 5 Hiscox names its underwriter in a different place entirely:
Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 12,9Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.
Beazley's name appears on the blank application form itself; Hiscox's appears in its appetite guide and about-us page rather than the application. 5
A Standalone Direct Sale Versus a Bundled Form
Hiscox sells professional liability directly online to small businesses in 49 states and D.C. (excluding Alaska), as its own named product. 10 Beazley instead sells professional E&O only bundled inside MediaTech, alongside technology E&O, media liability, and cyber coverage in one small-business form. 1
Claims-Made Structure on Both Sides
Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy: covered only if the claim is made and typically reported while the policy is active. 11 Beazley's sample MediaTech form is also claims-made and reported, but adds a purchasable Optional Extension Period that Hiscox's FAQ does not describe for its own product. 6
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Confirm Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the specific entity on your declarations, since the exact contracting entity can vary by channel. 12
- Confirm the specific insurer on your Beazley declarations, since the blank application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. generally. 5
- Ask whether Hiscox sells professional liability online in your state or requires a specialist broker. 10
- Ask Beazley for the specific tail pricing and duration of its Optional Extension Period. 6
- Ask whether Beazley's declarations set a separate E&O limit or share the Policy Aggregate Limit with media and cyber. 6
Offering Details
Beazley vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Beazley MediaTech for Small Businesses | Hiscox Professional Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Beazley sells professional errors and omissions coverage bundled inside MediaTech, a single small-business form that also includes technology E&O, media liability and cyber coverage. It is not sold as a standalone professional-liability policy for this segment. 1Company-reported. US small-business MediaTech product page; does not address any larger-account professional liability program Beazley may write separately. | Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 9,10Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel. |
| Issuing Insurer | Beazley's posted Digital MediaTech Application names Beazley Insurance Company, Inc. as the insurer on its cover page. The actual issuing entity for a given policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations, not the blank application. 5Company-reported. Application form F00859, 042022 edition; not a regulator record and not evidence of the entity for every state or route. | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 12,9Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote. |
| Who It’s For | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 10,12Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant. |
| Coverage Features | The sample MediaTech form covers a Tech & Professional Services Wrongful Act: a negligent act, error, omission, misstatement or unintentional breach of contract in rendering Professional Services, defined as services performed for others for a fee. 6Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, insuring agreements and definitions; the issued policy's wording and any endorsements control. The sample form's definition of Professional Services excludes services performed as an accountant, architect, surveyor, health care provider, lawyer, insurance or real estate agent or broker, or civil or structural engineer, so those licensed professions are not covered by this professional E&O trigger. 6Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, Professional Services definition; a business in one of these excluded professions would need different coverage even if it buys MediaTech. | Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 11Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | Coverage is claims-made and reported: it responds only to claims first made and reported during the policy period (or a purchased Optional Extension Period), and defense costs reduce the available limit. A buyer can purchase an Optional Extension Period (a tail) for additional premium after non-renewal or cancellation. 6,5Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731; application form repeats the same notice; specific tail pricing and duration are set in the declarations, not disclosed publicly. Unless the declarations list a separate amount, each insuring agreement in the sample form (including the professional-liability trigger) shares the same Policy Aggregate Limit of Liability with the policy's media and cyber coverages rather than carrying its own dedicated limit. 6Company-reported. Sample policy form F00731, 022019 edition, Limit of Liability and Coverage section; actual sublimits depend on what is purchased and shown on the declarations. | The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 10,11Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed. |
| How to Apply | Beazley's MediaTech application asks applicants to describe the professional and technology services they perform, disclose employee count and multi-year US and non-US revenue, and state whether written client contracts include scope-of-work, damages-cap and consequential-damages-disclaimer provisions. 5Company-reported. Application form F00859, 042022 edition, General Information, Revenue Information and Contractual Controls sections; a completed application does not establish acceptance. | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 10Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. |
| Claims Support | Beazley says its cyber and tech claims team, including experienced litigators, has handled thousands of E&O claims, which it describes as including implementation errors alongside software failures and IP disputes. 1Company-reported. MediaTech product page claims paragraph; outcome and volume figures are Beazley's own description and not independently verified. | A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 11Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time. |
Full Comparison
More Beazley vs Hiscox Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Beazley
- MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; SME placement paragraph; claims team paragraph. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Legal Information. Beazley; Website conditions: US jurisdiction availability, surplus lines and policy wording disclaimers; Beazley plc identity. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; ExecuGuard product introduction: combined EPL, D&O and fiduciary coverage for private organizations; What we offer: separate or shared limits, admitted or non-admitted; How can we help. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Beazley Digital Media Tech Application. Beazley; F00859, 042022 edition, Beazley Insurance Company, Inc.; page 1 claims-made-and-reported notice and General Information; page 1-2 Revenue Information. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Beazley MediaTech Sample Policy. Beazley; F00731, 022019 edition; Media, Tech, Data & Network Liability insuring agreement; Definitions: Tech & Professional Services Wrongful Act, Professional Services; Limit of Liability and Coverage; Optional Extension Period. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Hiscox
- Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





