Beazley vs CFC D&O Insurance

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O up to $20 million; CFC puts D&O in a package and declines California and public companies.

What Is Beazley?

Beazley is a specialty insurance group whose MediaTech product combines technology and professional E&O, media and cyber coverage. Separate offerings address executive liability, digital health and other specialty risks. 1,2,3,4

Read the Beazley profile

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC provides specialty insurance through an MGA model, with technology products for startups through multinational businesses. Its U.S. technology materials describe combined liability and cyber protection, while California eligibility requires product-specific confirmation. 6,7,8,9

Read the CFC profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Standalone Private D&O Versus a Package Slot

Beazley underwrites private-company D&O itself, offered as a standalone product and bundled with employment practices and fiduciary liability in ExecuGuard. 5 3 CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product, and separately sells Side A DIC as excess above an existing D&O tower. 10 11 Beazley also offers dedicated additional Excess Side A when the company cannot indemnify individuals or the underlying limit is exhausted. 5 CFC’s DIC sits over a tower; Beazley’s Excess Side A is listed on the private-company D&O page.

Appetite

Beazley’s D&O page targets privately held companies of all sizes facing litigation such as employment allegations, fraud and misrepresentation claims, without a stated employee-count or revenue threshold. 5 CFC’s brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 11 CFC’s brochure lists California domicile among package declines; Beazley’s private-company page does not.

Defense Choice and Limits

Beazley lets the policyholder choose duty to defend or pay on behalf and advertises limits up to US $20 million on admitted or non-admitted paper. 5 CFC’s brochure does not publish a dollar limit and lists an additional limit for insured persons without stating the amount. 11 CFC provides a US claim-notification route with a dedicated claims adjuster. 12 Beazley illustrates claims work with a securities class-action scenario on the ExecuGuard page. 3 Neither reviewed set names the specific issuing entity. 5 9

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask whether a CFC quote is the Management Liability package or Side A DIC only. 10
  • If you are California-domiciled or public, ask CFC whether the decline list applies. 11
  • Ask Beazley whether the quote is duty to defend or pay on behalf, and whether Excess Side A is attached. 5
  • Confirm whether Beazley’s $20 million advertised maximum is the quoted limit, and whether paper is admitted or surplus. 5

Offering Details

Beazley vs CFC D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaBeazley D&O – Private CompaniesCFC Directors & Officers Liability
Role in This Line

Beazley underwrites private-company directors and officers (D&O) liability itself, offered as a standalone product on its D&O - Private Companies page and bundled with employment practices and fiduciary liability coverage in its ExecuGuard package policy. 5,3Company-reported. US private-company D&O as described on the two reviewed product pages; does not establish which entity issues a particular policy.

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 10,11Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it.

Issuing Insurer

Neither the D&O - Private Companies page nor the ExecuGuard page names the specific Beazley insurance entity that issues the policy; ExecuGuard states both admitted and non-admitted versions are available, so the issuing carrier depends on the policy placed. 5,3Not found in reviewed sources. Both product pages as read on 2026-09-23; the issued policy's declarations control the actual insurer.

CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 9,11Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

The D&O page targets privately held companies of all sizes facing litigation such as employment allegations, fraud and misrepresentation claims, without a stated employee-count or revenue threshold on that page. 5,3Company-reported. Private-company D&O only; ExecuGuard buyers can additionally choose to share limits across D&O, EPL and fiduciary coverages.

CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 11Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business.

Coverage Features

The D&O product lets the policyholder choose between a "duty to defend" or "pay on behalf" claim-handling structure, and Beazley says it pays 100% of defense costs for covered loss. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; actual defense obligations and cost-sharing are set by the issued policy.

Beazley offers a dedicated additional Excess Side A limit that responds for individual directors and officers when the company cannot indemnify them or the underlying limit is exhausted, plus an optional employed-lawyers errors-and-omissions extension. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; availability and pricing of the extension depend on underwriting.

CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 11Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms.

CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 11Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages.

CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 10Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here.

Limits and Retentions

Beazley advertises private-company D&O limits up to US $20 million, on either an admitted or non-admitted (surplus lines) basis; actual limits and retentions are set by underwriting and appear on the declarations. 5,3Company-reported. Advertised maximum capacity, not a guaranteed quote amount.

The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 11Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

D&O policyholders get pre-approved choice-of-counsel flexibility, and law-firm insureds can access a bespoke executive-risk wording through Beazley's related Practice Protect product. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page; scope and terms of the Practice Protect wording were not independently reviewed.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

How to Apply

Beazley lists a downloadable EPL renewal application as a tool on the D&O page and names regional Executive Risk underwriters and brokers as contacts, but the reviewed page does not describe a self-service online quoting flow for new D&O business. 5Company-reported. D&O - Private Companies product page as read on 2026-09-23; buyers typically work through a broker or underwriter contact.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Claims Support

Beazley illustrates its D&O claims approach with a securities class-action and shareholder derivative-action scenario in which its claims team worked with the insured's defense counsel toward a dismissal, avoiding a settlement; this is a single company-reported example, not audited claims-outcome data. 3Company-reported. ExecuGuard page scenario section; outcome statistics are not independently verified.

CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 12Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing.

Full Comparison

More Beazley vs CFC Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Beazley

  1. MediaTech for Small Businesses. Beazley; Opening product description; What we offer: E&O (Tech and Professional), Media, Cyber coverage includes; How can we help; SME placement paragraph; Tools & Resources. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Execuguard (Combined EPL, D&O, and Fiduciary). Beazley; What we offer: separate or shared limits among EPL, D&O and fiduciary; Limits up to US $20,000,000, both admitted and non-admitted available; Examples or Scenarios: California securities class action/derivative action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Virtual Care. Beazley; Available Coverages; Who we can help; Where is this offered. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. D&O - Private Companies. Beazley; What we offer; How can we help: duty to defend/pay on behalf, 100% defense for covered loss, Excess Side A limit, private placement coverage, Practice Protect for lawyers; Up to US $20,000,000; Tools & Resources: EPL_RenewalApp. Accessed 2026-09-23.

CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot