What Is the Baldwin Group?
Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell suits small and midsize businesses seeking cyber options by company size, with technology E&O and Zurich management-liability options also available; firms needing broad commercial coverage should compare a full-service broker. Some security services cost extra. 5,6,7
What Is Crime Insurance?
Crime insurance can help reimburse specified business losses from theft and fraud, including employee theft and forgery. Compare those protections separately and ask whether a payment sent after an impersonation scam is covered. 9,10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Crime Insurance
Coverage and Program Structure
Cowbell distributes crime as a module of Zurich Select Plus management liability, accessed by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through Cowbell’s platform API. Baldwin lists crime/fidelity within broader programs. Ask whether crime must be packaged with other modules through Cowbell and compare that structure with Baldwin’s placement. 8 8 3
Placement and Eligibility
Cowbell targets private companies under 250 employees and $50 million in assets and describes employee or third-party theft, fraud and embezzlement. Baldwin names professional-services and real-estate clients without size thresholds. Confirm fit and ask which crime events appear in Baldwin’s carrier form. 8 8 3
Limits and Claims Questions
Cowbell says Zurich underwrites modules on admitted paper, but the reviewed pages do not identify the specific issuer. Baldwin also describes brokerage without naming a particular carrier. Request the legal insurer and policy form before comparing quotes. 8 3
What to Confirm in Crime Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
The Baldwin Group
Review Score
No reviews found
The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]
Read The Baldwin Group reviewsCowbell
Review Score
1 rated source
Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.[8]
Read Cowbell reviewsOffering Details
The Baldwin Group vs Cowbell: Crime Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Baldwin Commercial Crime Brokerage and Advisory | Cowbell / Zurich Select Plus Crime Coverage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Commercial Crime. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3,4Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement. | Crime coverage is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell operates the platform, Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page lists 'Crime Insurance' as one of the four modules a buyer can combine. 8,7Company-reported. Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including crime, are written on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this module. 8,7Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer. |
| Who It’s For | Baldwin’s professional-services and real-estate pages identify firms and property organizations as clients whose programs may include crime coverage. This does not determine an applicant’s underwriting eligibility. 3,4Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability. | Cowbell targets this crime module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, across the same target industries listed for the broader Select Plus product. 8Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list. |
| Coverage Features | Baldwin lists commercial crime or crime/fidelity as insurance options for the cited commercial sectors. It does not describe a specific crime policy, covered loss trigger, limit or exclusion. 3,4Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown. | Cowbell describes crime coverage as protecting against losses resulting from criminal acts such as theft, fraud, and embezzlement committed by employees or third parties. 8Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources. | Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes crime-coverage limit or retention amounts. 8,7Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Baldwin describes tailored commercial risk guidance, policy planning and claims advocacy for the named practices. It does not claim to adjudicate a carrier’s crime-policy claim. 3,4Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established. | Neither reviewed page describes crime-specific risk-control services such as employee-dishonesty prevention programs; both describe the Select Plus product's claims backing only at the whole-product level. 8,7Not publicly disclosed. Management liability page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | This crime module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. 8Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'. |
Full Comparison
More The Baldwin Group vs Cowbell Comparisons
Other Crime Insurance Comparisons
Sources
The Baldwin Group
- The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Professional Liability Insurance & Services. The Baldwin Group; Professional-services customer population lines 35–64; coverage snapshot lines 68–84 lists property, general/professional liability, cyber, workers’ compensation, D&O, fiduciary, crime/fidelity bond, EPL, and IP liability; Employee benefits lines 93–95; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Crime Insurance'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (Crime Coverage definition); Target industries list; FAQ on access and account size. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Crime Insurance Guide
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Crime Non-Financial Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening paragraph; Sample Policy Forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Crime Terms and Conditions. The Travelers Companies, Inc.; I.A–G, printed/PDF pages 1–4; III.RR, printed/PDF p.13; V.B.1–2, printed/PDF pp.18–20; Consideration, printed/PDF p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; I.A.3 p.1; III.C p.7; III.S pp.8–9; III.II and III.KK p.12; III.QQ p.13; V.A.5 pp.17–18 (printed/PDF pages); IV.J–O, printed/PDF pages 14–15. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Crime Coverage Application. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I–III pages 1–2; IX–XI pages 3–4; V–VII, printed/PDF pages 2–3. Accessed 2026-09-16.




