The Baldwin Group vs CFC: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

CFC places D&O inside a management-liability package and separately offers Side A DIC; The Baldwin Group describes brokerage and program guidance. 3,4,9,10

What Is the Baldwin Group?

Baldwin’s Insurance Advisory Solutions group describes commercial-risk and employee-benefit services for businesses and private-risk management for high-net-worth individuals and families; its business-insurance page outlines a five-step RiskMap process. 1,2

Read the The Baldwin Group profile

Read the The Baldwin Group D&O Insurance page

What Is CFC Insurance?

CFC fits technology businesses seeking one eligible package for E&O, cyber, media/IP and general liability; buyers wanting to bind directly online should compare other routes. Its cyber policies may also include 24/7 incident support. 5,6,7,8

Read the CFC profile

Read the CFC D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 12,13,14

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Published Terms and Placement

CFC includes D&O in its US Management Liability package rather than selling it standalone, while separately offering excess Side A DIC. The Baldwin Group describes D&O placement and benchmarking across management-liability programs. A buyer seeking one line alone should ask CFC about package requirements and Baldwin whether a standalone placement is available. 3 9

Coverage Structure and Buyer Questions

CFC says its D&O section adds an additional limit for insured persons, while its reviewed brochure does not publish the amount. The Baldwin Group describes Coverage A, B and C as common grants but provides no buyer-specific schedule. Ask both to separate the entity and individual limits on the quote. 3 9

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask The Baldwin Group to show the proposed policy form, limit, retention and carrier for your company. 3
  • Ask cfc to confirm the cited feature, its conditions and its effect on the proposed D&O terms. 9

The Baldwin Group and CFC Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

The Baldwin Group Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed public sources do not establish a representative customer rating for The Baldwin Group’s commercial advisory business. BBB pages show different legal entities: an A+ regional insurance-agency grade with zero listed reviews and complaints for The Baldwin Group Mid-Atlantic, LLC, and an A- grade plus six complaints in three years for The Baldwin Group Personal Insurance, LLC. A 2026 personal-lines complaint describes delayed refund handling. A separate National General auto review mentions a Baldwin referral but concerns insurer policy administration. None of these observations supports a group-wide or commercial rating.[8][1][2][4][9][10]

Read The Baldwin Group reviews

CFC Review Score

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

The reviewed sources did not yield customer reviews of CFC; the available survey concerns UK brokers. The one rating we found is from UK brokers: 4.76 out of 5 in Insurance Times’ 2024/25 survey.[4][11]

Read CFC reviews

The Baldwin Group vs CFC D&O Insurance Compared

The Baldwin Group vs CFC: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaBaldwin Directors and Officers Liability Brokerage and AdvisoryCFC Directors & Officers Liability
Role in This Line

The source describes The Baldwin Group’s brokerage or advisory role for Directors and Officers Liability. It does not identify Baldwin as the risk-bearing insurer for a particular placement. 3,4Company-reported. The cited company page describes its brokerage/advisory role and does not name the issuer for a buyer-specific placement.

CFC includes directors and officers liability inside its US Management Liability package rather than selling it as a standalone product. It separately sells Side A DIC, an excess policy that sits above a company's existing D&O program. 9,10Company-reported. CFC's management-liability product page and brochure; package composition as CFC describes it.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

CFC's regulatory page discloses CFC Underwriting Limited's FCA authorization and CFC's Lloyd's Syndicate 1988, managed by Asta Managing Agency Ltd, but neither the regulatory page nor the management-liability brochure names the carrier or syndicate that would issue a given US D&O policy. 8,10Not publicly disclosed. Regulatory information page and brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Baldwin’s management-liability practice discusses public-company, IPO and SPAC D&O programs; its real-estate practice names owners, managers, REITs, lenders and associations. These contexts do not guarantee placement eligibility. 3,4Company-reported. This is the audience or client context named on Baldwin’s page, not an underwriting decision or guarantee of product availability.

CFC's brochure lists California-domiciled business and US publicly traded companies among the risks it declines for the package that carries this D&O coverage. 10Company-reported. Brochure's 'What we decline' list; underwriting still applies to any individual business.

Coverage Features

Baldwin describes D&O insurance as protecting individual directors/officers and the entity against certain alleged management-related losses, and discusses Coverage A, B and C as common policy grants. This is general product education, not a buyer’s policy wording. 3,4Company-reported. The statement reports Baldwin’s marketed coverage or advisory description only. No individual quote, binder, policy form, schedule or endorsement was reviewed; policy entitlement and terms remain unknown.

CFC says its directors and officers cover includes protection for the entity itself and aims to prevent directors and officers from having to sell personal assets to pay defense costs. 10Company-reported. Brochure's 'Directors and officers cover' description; the issued policy wording determines actual entity and Side B/C coverage terms.

CFC's brochure lists an additional limit for insured persons as part of the directors and officers liability section, on top of the package's base limit. 10Company-reported. Brochure's 'What else is in the policy?' list; the dollar amount of that additional limit is not stated on the reviewed pages.

CFC separately offers Side A DIC (difference in conditions), which it describes as excess coverage for directors and officers of private and publicly traded organizations, sitting above the primary management-liability D&O cover. 9Company-reported. Management-liability product page; Side A DIC has its own brochure that was not opened for this record, so its terms are not otherwise described here.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed source does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or coverage schedule. Confirm the quote and issued policy or bond. 3,4Not publicly disclosed. No buyer quote, binder, policy or bond form was available in the reviewed public sources.

The reviewed brochure does not publish a specific dollar limit, retention, or the size of the additional insured-persons limit for D&O. Those figures appear only on the quote and declarations. 10Not publicly disclosed. Brochure as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

Baldwin describes management-liability advice, D&O benchmarking and program guidance, including public-company and pre-IPO contexts. Benchmarking is not a coverage term or quote. 3,4Company-reported. These are company-described brokerage and risk-advisory services; account-specific service commitments and third-party terms are not established.

Confirm in your quote.

Claims Support

Confirm in your quote.

CFC provides a US claim-notification route by phone, email and online form, and says a dedicated claims adjuster manages a claim from notification through resolution. 11Company-reported. Claims page as read on 2026-09-23; not specific to D&O claim outcomes or timing.

Related Pages for The Baldwin Group vs CFC D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for The Baldwin Group and CFC

Other Coverage Lines Compared for The Baldwin Group vs CFC

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for The Baldwin Group vs CFC D&O Insurance

Sources About The Baldwin Group

  1. The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc. Form 10-K for fiscal year ended December 31, 2025. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; filed by The Baldwin Insurance Group, Inc.; Part I, Item 1, “The Company,” lines 194–196; “Operating Groups,” lines 260–263; “Clients and Insurers,” lines 286–288; pp. 6–10; opened 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business Insurance. The Baldwin Group; RiskMap process, lines 40–68; Connect With Us consultation invitation, lines 182–187; accessed 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Commercial Real Estate Insurance & Risk Management. The Baldwin Group; “Coverage designed to perform” and sections “Management & governance risk” / “Professional & specialty risk,” lines 120–150; coverage lines plus claims advocacy at lines 153–163; page accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  4. Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. The Baldwin Group; D&O report and advisory team lines 23–32; Nasdaq collaboration with public-company/IPO/SPAC scope lines 38–44; accessed 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources About CFC

  1. About CFC. CFC; Matt Taylor biography: independent MGA and Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology. CFC; Introduction; Technology key features; Digitally traded. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Technology — United States product brochure. CFC; Page 1: coverage sections, including Products and services liability; Response app highlights; Limits and deductibles. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Regulatory information. CFC; CFC Underwriting Limited; CFC Lloyd's Syndicate 1988. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Management liability. CFC; Our management liability products: Management liability, Side A DIC. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Management liability — United States product brochure. CFC; Directors and officers cover; At a glance: What we like; What we decline; What else is in the policy? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Claims. CFC; Notify a claim or cyber incident; We're in it with you. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot