At-Bay vs
Cowbell
Compare At-Bay and Cowbell on technology/cyber program selection, excess structure, and security-service costs.
Introduction
A software company increasing its cyber and technology limits can compare At-Bay with Cowbell at the product level. At-Bay markets combined Tech E&O and cyber protection; Cowbell’s comparable technology offering is Prime Tech, alongside a separate family of cyber-only programs. A comparison against the wrong Cowbell program could obscure the professional liability requirement. 2 29 22
Where Each Provider Shines
Where At-Bay Shines
Where Cowbell Shines
- A range of primary and excess cyber programs serves different business sizes and risk profiles, with eligibility and terms varying by program. 22,24,25,26,27,28
- Cowbell pairs cyber insurance with risk insights, training and security services. Included services vary; some require a subscription. 35,24,28
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage Type | At-Bay | Cowbell |
|---|---|---|
| Crime | Not listed | Listed 31,32 |
| Cyber liability | Listed 3 | Listed 24,25,26,27,28 |
| Directors and officers | Not listed | Listed 31,32 |
| Employment practices liability | Not listed | Listed 31,32 |
| Fiduciary liability | Not listed | Listed 31,32 |
| Management liability | Not listed | Listed 31,32 |
| Professional liability / E&O | Listed 4 | Not listed |
| Technology errors and omissions | Listed 2 | Listed 29,30 |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 2,3 | Not listed |
Listed products and programs, including policies arranged through insurers or partners. Optional endorsements are discussed in the analysis below. “Not listed” means no separate offering appears in the reviewed catalogue; confirm availability and policy terms with the provider.
Key Differences Between at-Bay and Cowbell
Start with the Appropriate Primary Policy
Cowbell distinguishes admitted Prime 100/Prime 100 Pro from non-admitted programs such as Prime 250 and Prime Tech. Its materials name different insurers by program. At-Bay’s disclosed route uses non-admitted insurers, and its historical carrier transition concerns eligible Cyber and Tech E&O business. Insurer status and form selection therefore need to be attached to an actual proposal, not the brand alone. 25 26 29 5 11
Excess Coverage Needs Its Own Review
Cowbell markets Prime Tech Plus as excess technology E&O/cyber, while At-Bay advertises primary and excess technology appetite. Ask the broker to identify the underlying policy and where the excess form follows or changes its coverage. An advertised maximum limit does not establish that a particular layer can attach to your existing program. 30 2
Security Services Are Not Uniformly Included
Cowbell’s resiliency catalogue mixes complimentary services, trials and subscriptions. At-Bay distinguishes Stance access under the Embedded Security Fee and Endorsement from separately purchased MDR. Map each service against your existing security stack and assign responsibility for alerts, activation and renewals; neither catalogue proves a better incident outcome. 35 7
What to Confirm in Quotes
Ask for the exact primary and excess product names, insurers, California eligibility, shared aggregates and response-vendor conditions. Compare included service periods and recurring costs, then record incident reporting contacts from each policy. Both companies describe claims assistance, but those descriptions do not establish payment decisions or claims quality. 34 8
Service Comparison
At-Bay vs Cowbell Insurance: documented services and availability
| Criteria | At-Bay | Cowbell |
|---|---|---|
| Access to insurers | At-Bay announced in August 2023 that eligible new E&S Cyber and Tech E&O business would be quoted on At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper. That historical announcement does not identify the insurer on a current California quote or establish the issuer for MPL. 11 The current MPL product page does not name its issuing insurer. A September 2023 announcement names United Specialty Company for MPL, but that historical reference is insufficient to establish the current contracting insurer or California placement. 4,13 | Cowbell's materials name Palomar Specialty Insurance Company for Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro, Palomar and Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company for Prime 250, and Chaucer for Prime One. Prime Plus and Prime Tech Plus name only A-rated carrier paper, while the Select Plus page says Zurich admitted paper without naming the issuing legal entity. 24,25,26,27,28,30,31,20 |
| Availability | At-Bay lists California P&C and surplus-lines license number 0L73812 for At-Bay Insurance Services LLC. This is a company disclosure, not an independently checked California Department of Insurance record or confirmation that a particular product is available. 5 The reviewed product and licensing pages do not establish current California eligibility for a specific startup, product and issuing insurer. At-Bay warns that products may not be available in every state, and MPL has state restrictions; obtain California placement confirmation through the broker. 5,2,3,4 | Cowbell publishes producer and surplus-lines license lists covering all 50 states and the District of Columbia, but a license is not product availability. Current materials separately describe Prime 100 Pro in 47 states, Prime 250 nationwide on surplus or excess paper, and Prime Tech surplus-lines availability in all 50 states. 18,19,25,26,29 |
| Servicing and renewals | At-Bay Stance offers vulnerability monitoring, fraud defense, employee security training and access to cyber advisors. Access is tied to the policy’s Embedded Security Fee and Endorsement; optional managed detection and response (MDR) is a separate purchase from At-Bay Security, LLC. 7 At-Bay markets Stance MDR for endpoints and email, plus managed extended detection and response (MXDR) spanning endpoint, email, identity and cloud. It says MDR is optional for insurance and available beyond its policyholders. Coverage enhancements and premium credits have qualifying conditions. 7 At-Bay describes broker dashboard access to active policies and renewals, with rapid and manual renewal paths. Its platform page says rapid renewals bind automatically 15 days before expiry; buyers should confirm enrollment, terms and change deadlines with their broker. 6 | Cowbell describes continuous risk ratings, policyholder insights, security connectors, cybersecurity training and resiliency support alongside its cyber products. Some services are complimentary or limited to a trial or first policy year; managed detection, penetration testing, identity monitoring and compliance support also appear as subscription services for qualified customers. 35,24,28 Cowbell's FAQ directs policyholders to their agent for cancellation and directs agents to Cowbell for endorsements. It describes different renewal workflows: Prime 100 proposals are generated roughly 60 days before expiration, while Prime 250 requires a signed renewal application and underwriting review before a quote is released. 33 |
| Claims assistance | At-Bay describes an in-house claims team that coordinates with a breach coach and response partners after a cyber incident. Its claims page provides incident reporting routes, and Response & Recovery is integrated with the claims process. This establishes a described support process, not claims payment or service quality. 8,9 | Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team and incident-response panel are available around the clock. Its public intake instructions ask for the policy number or company name, the incident date and details, and a point of contact; coverage and claim payment still depend on the issuing insurer and policy. 34,24,27 |
| Fees and compensation | Stance access uses an Embedded Security Fee and Endorsement, while MDR is separately purchased. Security costs should be distinguished from the insurance premium and any broker charges. 7 Commission rates, broker compensation arrangements and a complete placement-fee schedule were not disclosed in the reviewed product, platform and US terms pages. This does not establish that commissions or fees are absent; request an itemized quote and compensation disclosure. 2,6,10 | For direct-billed policies, Cowbell lists ACH or wire, e-check, credit card, phone payment, check and premium financing. Its FAQ discloses a 2.99% credit-card processing fee and says a financing selection shows the amount financed, payment schedule and finance charge before enrollment. 33 The reviewed U.S. sources did not disclose Cowbell's producer commissions or other insurer-paid compensation, and they did not publish policy premiums applicable across buyers. Ask the broker for an itemized quote and any compensation disclosures that apply to the placement. 15,33,18,23 |
Sources
At-Bay Official Website
- Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage and Policy Highlights. At-Bay; Tech E&O Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite; footnotes 1–7; state disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Cyber Insurance. At-Bay; Cyber Coverage Highlights; Primary & Excess Appetite. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite. At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights; MPL Appetite; state restrictions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses. At-Bay; Producer introduction; California row; agency and surplus-lines footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Broker Platform. At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Claims Handling. At-Bay; At-Bay Cyber Incident Roadmap; The At-Bay Claims Team. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Response & Recovery. At-Bay; Minimize Downtime with One Partner; integration with claims process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Terms of Service. At-Bay; US terms effective April 11, 2023: Insurance Product Terms; Payment Policy; Service. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Begins Issuing Policies on its own E&S Paper. At-Bay; August 9, 2023 release: opening paragraph and new-business transition effective August 7, 2023. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Surplus Tech E&O Appetite Guide. At-Bay; Pages 1–2; September 2023 copyright; revenue and limit statements; Restricted classes. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite. At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Cowbell Official Website
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Cowbell; Opening paragraphs identifying Cowbell Cyber, Inc. and its subsidiaries; Paid Services §3; footer producer disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Company. Cowbell; Technology That Signals Protection; Backed By Prominent Venture And Growth Investors; office locations; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Our Next Era — Cowbell Closes $60M Series C Round. Cowbell; 26 July 2024 announcement describing Zurich as a Series C investor and partner. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- License Information. Cowbell; Cowbell Insurance Agency LLC producer and surplus-lines license lists for 50 states and the District of Columbia; footer availability qualification. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Name Search. California Department of Insurance; Search for Cowbell Insurance Agency on 15 September 2026 returned ‘Captcha validation failed’; no license result was obtained. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Palomar Specialty Insurance Company — Company Profile. California Department of Insurance; Company information: NAIC 20338, California ID 1969-5, Unlimited-Normal status, property-and-casualty company, Oregon domicile. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Find An Agent. Cowbell; State selector and directory of appointed U.S. agents and brokers. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Broker Resources. Cowbell; Current U.S. sales enablement catalogue listing Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus, Prime Tech and Prime Tech Plus materials. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cowbell Overview. Cowbell; Our Products: cyber, Professional Indemnity, Zurich management liability and Cowbell Resiliency Services; product-level qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime 100 Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $100 million revenue; Palomar paper; coverage descriptions; US0001 1025 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime 100 Pro Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: admitted cyber for businesses up to $100 million; enhanced options and $3 million limit; 47-state list; Palomar paper; US0001 0826 disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime 250 Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted standalone cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; 50 states and D.C.; Palomar and Chaucer paper; illustrative-coverage disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime One Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: non-admitted cyber for advanced digital exposures, typically $250 million-plus revenue; selected risks up to $10 million; Chaucer Specialty; US0001 0426. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–2: non-admitted follow-form excess cyber for businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million excess limits; unnamed A-rated carriers; US0001 0226. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–3: follow-form excess Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; unnamed A-rated paper; US0002 1025. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Management Liability Coverage For Small And Medium Enterprises. Cowbell; Zurich Select Plus description; admitted paper; private-company D&O, employment practices, fiduciary and crime modules; wholesaler access and target account FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; four modular coverages; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Frequently Asked Questions. Cowbell; Policy cancellation; direct- and agency-bill payment; 2.99% credit-card fee; premium financing; P100 and P250 renewals; endorsements; risk-engineering call. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Claims And Incident Response Services. Cowbell; Cowbell Claims Approach; incident-response panel; reporting channels; initial company, incident-date and contact information; claims assistance description. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cowbell Resiliency Services. Cowbell; Cybersecurity services; policyholder access and trials; subscription services; service-provider and insurance-coverage qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
Suggested Comparisons
Alliance Risk vs At-Bay
Comparing Alliance Risk and At-Bay when a software contract includes service credits and the company is considering managed cyber protection.
Alliance Risk vs Cowbell
Alliance Risk and Cowbell compared for a SaaS buyer deciding who assembles the program and who supplies cyber coverage and services.
Amelia Risk vs At-Bay
Compare Amelia Risk’s startup and consumer-product brokerage with At-Bay’s specialist technology coverage for a business selling both hardware and software.





