Armilla vs Counterpart

Armilla is an MGA focused on AI liability insurance and model assessments, and separately markets a performance warranty; Counterpart focuses on management and professional liability through its broker subsidiary. Choose Armilla when AI risk or a model-performance warranty is the need; consider Counterpart for its management and profession-specific programs, checking whether any AI feature is actually in the proposed policy. 3,11,9

Introduction

Coverage Comparison

CoverageArmillaCounterpart
CrimeNot listedListed 21Named Commercial Crime product; confirm agreements, controls, limits and exclusions in the policy.
Directors and officersNot listedListed 17,18Distinct private-company and nonprofit D&O product pages; class and insurer vary by placement.
Employment practices liabilityNot listedListed 19Named Employment Practices Liability product; examples and policy terms govern.
Fiduciary liabilityNot listedListed 20Named Fiduciary Liability product for benefit-plan exposures; law and policy terms govern.
General liabilityNot listedListed 22,25GL is described as a companion/package component with miscellaneous professional and lawyers liability; this does not establish broad standalone CGL.
Generative AI liabilityListed 3Armilla markets standalone AI liability insurance as a managing general agent.Not listed
Medical malpracticeNot listedListed 23Allied healthcare liability for named classes; not universal conventional malpractice.
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 22,24,23,25Several separately scoped professional-liability programs; do not generalize terms across professions.

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Armilla

Managing general agent

Carrier & MGA

5.2/ 10

Assessed provider: Armilla. Scope: Armilla Insurance Services Inc. as a company-named Lloyd's coverholder and AI insurance intermediary in North America, assessed against two named programmes and no others. For the AI Liability Insurance programme, also marketed as Armilla Insured, capacity is assessed as Armilla discloses it: a binding authority led by Chaucer and written by certain underwriters at Lloyd's, available to US insureds, offered through surplus lines insurers. For Armilla Guaranteed, a contractual performance warranty rather than insurance, no issuer is named and no capacity is assessed. The four reinsurers Armilla names on its broker page are attached to no programme and are not assessed as capacity for either. Financial resilience is scoped to Armilla's ability to sustain its own operations; the risk sits with the Lloyd's underwriters, whose capital is not Armilla's and is out of scope.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Armilla

-/ 10

Review Score

Armilla has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. Armilla sells AI insurance, a small niche, so you'll want to ask for references.[1][4][6]

Read Armilla reviews

Counterpart

-/ 10

Review Score

We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.[7][10]

Read Counterpart reviews

Key Differences Between Armilla and Counterpart

Roles, Coverage and Buyer Fit

Armilla describes its insurance business as an MGA that works with insurers rather than carrying policy risk. Armilla Guaranteed is a contractual performance warranty, not insurance. Counterpart’s policy obligations rest with the named insurer. Identify the contracting party and separate warranty remedies from insurance terms. 4 10 6 11

Armilla directs buyers to an AI risk assessment before proposing insurance or a warranty; written confirmation and underwriting are required for coverage. Counterpart’s “Quote Online” path could not be reviewed, and an older help article describes wholesale referral. Neither public route establishes immediate binding. 2 9 1 13 14

Armilla names backers but not the insurer for each quote. Counterpart names underwriting companies without a product/state map. Ask each for the exact insurer, contracting entity, exclusions, claims process and fees. For Armilla, also confirm whether assessment, monitoring and renewal services are separately priced. 3 10 11 7

What to Confirm in Quotes

Ask Armilla to separate the AI liability policy proposal, any performance warranty and the model-assessment service; identify each contracting party, insurer, remedy or claim path, and separate charges. 2 4 5 7 Ask Counterpart for its current quote route, policy issuer and whether any AI-related language is an actual insuring term or only a profession-specific feature. 13 11 25

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaArmillaCounterpart
Business role

Armilla offers AI insurance, performance warranties and model assessments, but the insurer—not the brand—takes on policy risk. Armilla describes its insurance operation as an MGA and Armilla Insurance Services as a Lloyd’s coverholder. 3,1,6Company-reported. Company descriptions of the Armilla brand and insurance operation; delegated authority and producer licensing have not been independently verified.

The reviewed corporate record identifies Armilla Insurance Services Inc. but does not establish California insurance authority; verify the licensed producer on your quote. Florida’s registry lists the company as a Delaware corporation. 8Verified. Exact entity spelling in corporate filing F24000002598, inspected on September 16, 2026. No California producer lookup was completed.

Counterpart says its U.S. products are offered by its wholly owned subsidiary, Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc., which it identifies as a licensed producer and surplus-lines broker. The company says the issuing carrier is responsible for policy obligations. 11Company-reported. Provider-published U.S. distribution disclosure; this does not rule out an additional delegated program role.

Customer focus

AI developers and companies deploying AI can approach Armilla, which markets to startups and large enterprises; its pages set no minimum revenue or funding stage and do not guarantee a bootstrapped company qualifies. 6,2Company-reported. Published customer descriptions; no inferred startup eligibility thresholds.

Counterpart describes management and professional liability products for small businesses and presents both brokers and small businesses as audiences. This stated focus does not establish independent eligibility or appetite. 9,10Company-reported. Current company marketing for U.S. audiences.

Coverage lines

If an AI error causes a covered third-party loss, Armilla’s standalone liability brief lists possible areas such as model errors, hallucinations, harmful outputs, agent mistakes, non-breach data leakage, property damage and regulatory proceedings. These are advertised scopes, not confirmation a particular loss or fine is insured. 3Company-reported. Direct product brief; no policy wording reviewed. Sample areas are not separately marketed general liability, cyber, media or property policies.

If you promise an AI system will meet a performance target, Armilla Guaranteed is a contractual warranty rather than insurance; Armilla says it funds remedies for missed metrics and may refund the buyer if remediation fails. Its FAQ lists misuse, unauthorized changes and external events as typical exclusions. 2,4Company-reported. Warranty description, distinct from affirmative AI liability insurance; no executed warranty or issuer agreement inspected.

Counterpart’s current product pages list private-company and not-for-profit D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary, crime, professional/general liability, allied healthcare, architects/engineers/contractors and lawyers liability. Several lines appear only as a component or product-specific feature; availability, eligibility and terms depend on the actual program and policy. 9,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,25Company-reported. Current site marketing catalogue checked September 29, 2026. Marketing membership is separate from acceptance of a three-claim line-comparison offering.

Application process

Expect an AI risk assessment before Armilla proposes insurance or a warranty; its site directs buyers to contact the team, and coverage requires written confirmation and completed underwriting. 2,1Company-reported. Published process, not a submitted application, quote, binding test or promised turnaround.

A February 2025 Counterpart help article describes a wholesale-broker referral route. Its current homepage also shows “Quote Online,” but we couldn’t confirm whether the current path is broker-assisted or lets a buyer quote, purchase or bind directly. 14,9,13Conflicting sources. Older dated directions conflict with or leave an ambiguity beside a current digital quote CTA; no form or transaction was tested.

Counterpart says its dashboard shows broker-submission statuses from in progress through underwriting review and quote; its article says binding requires a signed application and any required subjectivities. 15Company-reported. Company-described broker workflow in a July 2025 article; not independently tested.

Servicing and renewals

Armilla says buyers begin with an AI risk assessment before it customizes an insurance or warranty proposal. Confirm the assessment deliverables, monitoring and retesting terms in the proposal. 2Company-reported. Initial assessment described on the AI insurance page; reviewed evidence does not establish specific assessment deliverables, monitoring or retesting terms.

Price monitoring and retesting separately unless the proposal includes them: reviewed pages do not explain insurance renewal or whether ongoing model monitoring is included in premium. 5,2Not publicly disclosed. Limited to public product and assessment pages reviewed September 16, 2026.

Counterpart says brokers can renew professional-liability accounts in a few clicks and can speak with profession-specialized underwriters. This is not a measured renewal time or a promise of automatic, guaranteed or direct insured renewal. 16Company-reported. Company-described professional-liability broker service.

Fees and compensation

Request an itemized premium, assessment price and broker or policy charges: Armilla advertises broker commissions without rates and its general terms permit service fees without an insurance-specific schedule. 6,7Company-reported. Public broker compensation and generic website fees, not a policy-specific compensation disclosure. Company-reported commission model; amounts unresolved.

Counterpart’s license disclosure says its subsidiary may receive compensation from an insurer or intermediary and that commissions or fees are set by the underwriting insurer. The reviewed disclosure does not state the amount applicable to a particular buyer or quote. 11Company-reported. Provider-published disclosure, no buyer-specific amount.

Sources

Armilla Official Website

  1. Armilla: AI Insurance. Armilla; Affirmative Insurance Built for AI Risk; Risk Teams; footer surplus-lines and Lloyd’s disclosures. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. AI Insurance – Lloyd’s Coverholder | Armilla AI. Armilla; Armilla Insured; Armilla Guaranteed; FAQ: getting started, warranty classification, claims framework and exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Armilla AI Insurance Brief. Armilla; Introduction identifying the MGA; Tailored Protection for AI Pioneers: standalone AI liability and Sample Coverage Areas; Industry Protection; footer on surplus-lines placement and Lloyd’s underwriting. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. AI Performance Warranty Brief. Armilla; Opening partner disclosure; AI Performance, Guaranteed; Real-World Protection Examples. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Armilla Assessments: AI Verification & Red-Teaming. Armilla; Active AI Risk Assessment; FAQ: testing process, ongoing support and starting an assessment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Armilla for Brokers: Specialized AI Coverage. Armilla; Coverage Options; Competitive Commissions; Flexible, Tech-Enabled Underwriting; broker appointment FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Armilla Terms of Service. Armilla; Last updated April 5th, 2023; sections 1 Agreement to Terms and 4 Fees and Payment. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Detail by Entity Name: ARMILLA INSURANCE SERVICES INC. Florida Department of State, Division of Corporations; Entity name; Filing Information; document F24000002598. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Counterpart Official Website

  1. Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Licenses & Carriers. Counterpart Insurance Services, Inc.; Provider-published entity/license disclosure, carrier table, policy obligation and compensation disclosure. Source snapshot 2026-09-28. No product/state issuer map. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Counterpart press articles. Counterpart press site; May 19, 2026 Series C item describes a future first-time push to retain risk through Counterpart Insurance Company; July 14, 2026 item announces excess coverage across product lines; Sep 1, 2026 item announces Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Counterpart application destination. Counterpart; Reached from current homepage Quote Online CTA; the page requires JavaScript and the quote app did not display. No form/account/quote/purchase/bind flow tested. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Purchase route lines 17–22; article dated Feb 6, 2025; wholesale referral instructions. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  7. What is my application status? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Dashboard statuses lines 17–26; article dated July 16, 2025; broker submission and signature/subjectivity requirements. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  8. Counterpart Professional Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Broker renewals and profession-specialized underwriters, lines 72–81. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  9. Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; example limits and retentions; capacity. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  10. Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Who we cover; coverage; underwriting partners. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  11. Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Eligibility; listed allegations; illustrative limits and retentions; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Plan and employer eligibility; ERISA and plan administration; examples and illustrative limits. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Commercial Crime Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Employee theft, forgery, computer/system fraud, funds-transfer and social-engineering scenarios; examples. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Professional & General Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: lines 4–8 MPL available alone or packaged with GL; lines 38–207 professions/examples; 208–245 industries, state availability, coverage descriptions; 251–283 services. Company marketing, not binding terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  15. Allied Medical & Healthcare Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; Named allied health classes, combined coverage/enhancements, limits/examples; Sep 28 source inspection. Not universal malpractice or standalone CGL. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  16. Architects, Engineers, & Contractors Liability. Counterpart, Inc.; A&E/contractor classes, services, example limits and enhancements; Sep 28 source inspection. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  17. Lawyers Professional Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Re-opened Sep 29: rendered lines 4–8 product, 27–29 class, 236–248 company-stated U.S. reach, 250–276 services, modular limits, tech/media features and GL alongside professional coverage. Does not establish separate media/tech E&O/GL. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot