Aon vs RiskCube

Aon describes program consultation and application support for selected U.S. Commercial Risk accounts; RiskCube targets venture-backed and growing startups with a digital intake and broker-reviewed comparison platform. Choose RiskCube when its startup focus and platform fit your buying process; consider Aon when you need a broker to shape and negotiate a selected commercial program. Ask both for the exact insurer and total compensation. 1,4,20,15

Introduction

Aon describes a consultative placement process for selected commercial programs. RiskCube focuses on venture-backed startups and other growing companies, pairing digital intake with broker-reviewed comparisons. The difference is not a guarantee of speed or market access: RiskCube’s public application was limited to a contact form in the reviewed evidence, while Aon’s binding and application support is scoped to certain programs. 1 20

Coverage Comparison

CoverageAonRiskCube
Builders riskListed 14Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement.Not listed
Cargo and transitListed 9Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page.Not listed
Commercial autoListed 6Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Commercial propertyListed 8Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability.Not listed
CrimeListed 6Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Listed 19RiskCube arranges commercial crime insurance for startups.
Cyber liabilityListed 7,6Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement.Listed 19RiskCube arranges cyber insurance for startups.
Directors and officersListed 5Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement.Listed 19RiskCube arranges directors and officers liability insurance for startups.
Employment practices liabilityListed 6Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state.Listed 19RiskCube arranges employment practices liability insurance for startups.
Fiduciary liabilityListed 6Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Listed 19RiskCube arranges fiduciary liability insurance for startups.
General liabilityListed 14Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line.Listed 19RiskCube arranges general liability insurance for startups.
Generative AI liabilityNot listedListed 19RiskCube markets AI insurance for startups building AI products.
Key personNot listedListed 23RiskCube markets key person life insurance placement for startups.
Kidnap and ransomListed 6Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Management liabilityListed 6Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established.Not listed
Professional errors and omissions (E&O)Listed 6Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed.Not listed
Surety bondsListed 10Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability.Not listed
Technology errors and omissions (E&O)Not listedListed 21RiskCube arranges technology errors and omissions insurance for startups.
Umbrella and excess liabilityListed 14Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction.Not listed
Workers’ compensationListed 14Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement.Not listed

A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.

Current Spot Scores

Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.

Aon

Broker

Broker

6.7/ 10

Assessed provider: Aon. Scope: Aon group commercial insurance brokerage, assessed at brand level from Aon's published terms, its 2025 SEC filing, and U.S., U.K. and Irish regulator records. It does not assess a single producing entity, insurer or placement, and it is not a ruling on Aon's consulting or benefits businesses.

Provider assessment

RiskCube

Broker

Broker

5.9/ 10

Assessed provider: RiskCube. Scope: RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC as the producer/broker and RiskCube, Inc. as platform/operational support. RiskCube’s own disclosures say it is not a carrier and does not underwrite; third-party carrier and policy-specific issuer remain outside the generic brand scope.

Provider assessment

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

RiskCube

-/ 10

Review Score

RiskCube has no public customer reviews or ratings that we found, so there is no Review Score. That isn't a bad sign, just not enough to judge.[10][1][6]

Read RiskCube reviews

Key Differences Between Aon and RiskCube

Startup intake and broker review

RiskCube says its platform supports AI-assisted comparison reviewed by a broker, but the reviewed application showed a contact form rather than a complete quote flow. Aon says it consults on markets and program strategy and helps prepare underwriting information for certain programs. If you are a venture-backed startup, ask RiskCube how it reviews your operating details; ask Aon which practice and markets would handle the account. 20 15 1

Policy service, claims and compensation

RiskCube says its platform supports policy documents, certificates and renewal notices and that a human advocate works with the insurer on claims. Aon describes selected-program administration but says clients remain responsible for insurer notice unless a separate agreement changes that. RiskCube advertises no added broker fee while also allowing service and processing fees and insurer or intermediary compensation; Aon’s terms describe variable and potential contingent compensation. 15 20 1 15 1

What to Confirm in Quotes

Ask RiskCube what happens after the public inquiry, which broker and insurer handle the placement, and which fees may apply. Ask Aon for the specific program scope and written notice and servicing responsibilities. For either proposal, confirm policy wording and renewal and claims workflows in the service agreement.

Compare Services

What each provider documents about the services you may need

CriteriaAonRiskCube
Business role

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched.

RiskCube helps startups compare insurance through a broker and platform; RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC arranges coverage, while third-party insurers issue policies. 18,17Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Application process

For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. 1Company-reported. Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind.

RiskCube describes a digital intake followed by AI-assisted, broker-reviewed comparison and purchase, but the application reviewed showed only a contact form. 15,25Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Technology E&O applicants should prepare product, customer, revenue, contract, claims and incident details; RiskCube qualifies quote timing based on risk and underwriting complexity. 21Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

A quote is not coverage: RiskCube requires written confirmation from an insurer or authorized representative and satisfaction of binding conditions. 18Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Servicing and renewals

Aon says it consults with clients before placing or renewing coverage and, where applicable, administers the insurer relationship for selected programs, including billing, data reporting and negotiated requirements. The terms do not promise automatic renewal, a timetable, a specific market or a particular outcome. 1Company-reported. Company-reported terms for selected U.S. Commercial Risk programs; administration varies where applicable and may be changed by written agreement.

RiskCube says its platform supports policies, certificates and renewal notices; a certificate does not change policy coverage. 15,18Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

RiskCube says it reviews vendor insurance requirements and requested endorsements, but warns AI-assisted output may be incomplete; verify each contract term yourself. 20,18Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Claims assistance

Under Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms, the client is responsible for directly notifying insurers as its policies require unless a separate signed agreement says otherwise; Aon says it does not assume that notice or monitoring duty without a separate written agreement. This allocation does not determine whether Aon separately offers or agrees to claims advocacy or other claims-related services. 1,5,7Company-reported. Company-reported contractual allocation for covered U.S. Commercial Risk services; policy terms and any separate written agreement control. Aon separately describes claims advocacy on its D&O and cyber pages.

RiskCube says a human advocate works with the insurer from first notice through resolution; this is promised assistance, not evidence of claim outcomes. 20Company-reported. Official public RiskCube materials reviewed on September 16, 2026; company statements, not independent regulatory or policy verification.

Fees and compensation

Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms say compensation may come from insurers or third parties and can vary by contract, insurer and arrangement. Aon and affiliates may also receive contingent and other compensation; contingent goals can create an incentive to place coverage with a particular insurer. Clients may request expected compensation information for their coverage and alternative quotes. The terms do not give a client-specific amount. 1Company-reported. General company-reported U.S. brokerage terms; actual compensation, fees and conflicts for a client or placement are not stated here and may depend on law or contract.

Get the total price and compensation in writing: RiskCube advertises no added broker fee but also allows service and processing fees, insurer/intermediary commissions and incentives. 15,20,17Conflicting sources. Marketing/legal disclosure tension; not a finding that any individual client has been charged an undisclosed fee. No specific commission rate or service fee schedule established.

Sources

Aon Official Website

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms. Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  7. Cyber Risk. Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  8. Property Risk Management. Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  9. Marine Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  10. Commercial Surety. Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  11. About | Aon. Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  12. Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon. Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  13. Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  14. Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.

RiskCube Official Website

  1. Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Sections 1–5; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Terms of Service. RiskCube; Who We Are; sections 5, 9, 10 and 19; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Startup Insurance Coverage. RiskCube; All coverage types: product sales cards and Learn more routes; footer producer-role disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Startup Insurance FAQ. RiskCube; Getting Started; Industries & Eligibility; Certificates & Compliance; claim question. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  7. Technology Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Technology E&O product and quote introduction; application FAQ; AI & enterprise risk FAQ on adding an excess policy for AI-related gaps. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  8. Credit Insurance for Startups. RiskCube; Introduction; coverage exclusions; closing placement invitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  9. Key Person Life Insurance for Startups. RiskCube; Key Person Life Insurance product introduction; quote-comparison invitation; timing FAQ; closing placement invitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  10. Key Person Life Insurance Notice. RiskCube; Sections 2–6; June 23, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  11. Contact RiskCube. RiskCube; Talk to a licensed insurance expert; Contact form (served at application URL). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  12. Contact RiskCube. RiskCube; Contact form served at AI Insurance URL. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Suggested Comparisons

All Comparisons

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot