Aon vs
ERGO NEXT Insurance
Aon describes broker advice and negotiation for selected commercial programs; ERGO NEXT Insurance sells small-business coverage through an online quote flow, licensed advisors and agency partners. Choose ERGO NEXT when its supported online product and account path fit your small business; consider Aon when you need broker-led market and program advice. The insurer and fees depend on the proposed policy and channel. 1,4,15,37
Introduction
Aon and ERGO NEXT Insurance offer different routes into commercial coverage. Aon describes broker consultation and negotiation for selected programs; ERGO NEXT sells small-business insurance through an online application, licensed advisors and agency partners. If your business fits a supported online product, ERGO NEXT offers a more direct starting path; Aon is the broker-led option when your risk calls for a broader placement discussion. 1 15
Coverage Comparison
| Coverage | Aon | ERGO NEXT Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Builders risk | Listed 14Aon names Construction Property/Builders Risk on its global construction page; confirm whether this line is offered for the buyer, state, and placement. | Not listed |
| Business owner’s policy | Not listed | Listed 26ERGO NEXT markets a business owner’s policy. |
| Cargo and transit | Listed 9Aon lists cargo placements in its global marine practice; U.S. eligibility, insurer, limits and policy terms are not stated on the reviewed page. | Not listed |
| Commercial auto | Listed 6Aon lists automobile liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Not listed |
| Commercial property | Listed 8Aon describes commercial-property brokerage and risk management, with a U.S.-available analytics tool; tool availability does not establish state-specific insurance availability. | Listed 25ERGO NEXT sells commercial property insurance as an agency; the issuing insurer is responsible for policy obligations. |
| Crime | Listed 6Aon lists crime within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Not listed |
| Cyber liability | Listed 7,6Aon describes cyber insurance and related brokerage, analytics and claims support; confirm the producing entity, insurer, jurisdiction and policy terms for a U.S. placement. | Not listed |
| Directors and officers | Listed 5Aon describes D&O brokerage and program services in a global practice; this does not identify the producer, insurer or state availability for a particular U.S. placement. | Not listed |
| Employment practices liability | Listed 6Aon lists EPL for professional-services firms in a global practice; this does not establish eligibility for every U.S. employer or state. | Not listed |
| Fiduciary liability | Listed 6Aon lists fiduciary liability within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Not listed |
| General liability | Listed 14Aon lists general liability within construction liability coverage areas in its global construction practice; this does not establish a standalone or U.S.-available line. | Listed 22ERGO NEXT offers online general liability quotes and purchasing for eligible businesses. |
| Kidnap and ransom | Listed 6Aon lists kidnap and ransom within its global Professional Services Practice for law, accounting and consulting firms; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Not listed |
| Management liability | Listed 6Aon describes management liability in its global Professional Services Practice as a partnership program for law, accounting and consulting firms, rather than a standalone line; U.S. availability and specific policy terms are not established. | Not listed |
| Professional errors and omissions (E&O) | Listed 6Aon describes professional-liability/E&O services for law, accounting and consulting firms; a U.S. placement and any separate technology E&O terms remain to be confirmed. | Listed 23ERGO NEXT lists professional liability insurance, also called errors and omissions insurance. |
| Surety bonds | Listed 10Aon markets Commercial Surety globally and says availability depends on jurisdiction; the page does not establish U.S. placement availability. | Not listed |
| Umbrella and excess liability | Listed 14Aon lists umbrella and excess within construction liability coverage areas; ask whether either applies to your project and jurisdiction. | Not listed |
| Workers’ compensation | Listed 14Aon lists workers compensation among global construction coverage areas; this does not establish state availability or a placement. | Listed 24ERGO NEXT offers workers’ compensation insurance for small businesses. |
A listing may be arranged through an insurer or partner. “Not listed” means this catalogue has no separate offering recorded; ask the provider whether it can quote the coverage and request the policy terms.
Current Spot Scores
Each score uses the rubric for that provider’s documented role. Providers with more than one role may have a score for each.
Aon
BrokerBroker
6.7/ 10Assessed provider: Aon. Scope: Aon group commercial insurance brokerage, assessed at brand level from Aon's published terms, its 2025 SEC filing, and U.S., U.K. and Irish regulator records. It does not assess a single producing entity, insurer or placement, and it is not a ruling on Aon's consulting or benefits businesses.
ERGO NEXT Insurance
Hybrid providerBroker
5.0/ 10Assessed provider: ERGO NEXT Insurance. Scope: ERGO NEXT Insurance brand and the named carrier and agency entities in its current terms and license disclosures, including Next Insurance US Company, State National Insurance Company, National Specialty Insurance Company, Next Insurance, Inc. and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc.; Mississippi authority is limited to Next Insurance US Company, and AM Best ratings are recorded for Next Insurance US Company and State National Insurance Company only.
Carrier & MGA
6.7/ 10Assessed provider: ERGO NEXT Insurance. Scope: ERGO NEXT Insurance brand and the named carrier and agency entities in its current terms and license disclosures, including Next Insurance US Company, State National Insurance Company, National Specialty Insurance Company, Next Insurance, Inc. and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc.; Mississippi authority is limited to Next Insurance US Company, and AM Best ratings are recorded for Next Insurance US Company and State National Insurance Company only.
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Aon
Review Score
3 rated sources
Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]
Read Aon reviewsERGO NEXT Insurance
Review Score
5 rated sources
NEXT’s favorable ratings come with a warning: NerdWallet reports more commercial liability complaints than expected. Check complaint handling and support before relying on its headline scores.[1][4][6][7][10]
Read ERGO NEXT Insurance reviewsKey Differences Between Aon and ERGO NEXT Insurance
Who arranges and issues the policy
Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe it as broker of record for certain programs and require client instructions before binding. ERGO NEXT’s current brand follows Munich Re’s acquisition of Next Insurance; its policies may be sold through the company or partners, and the insurer named on the policy bears the risk. Ask who the producer and issuing insurer would be in each proposal, rather than treating either brand as the insurer for every account. 1 1 16 15
Online account service and claims
ERGO NEXT describes online quote and purchase for supported policies, account tools for documents and certain changes, and online claim reporting with a claims advocate. Aon describes consulting and administration for selected programs but places insurer notice with the client unless a separate agreement changes the duty. ERGO NEXT’s terms also permit service, installment, cancellation and transaction fees whose amounts are not published in the reviewed terms; Aon’s compensation can vary by placement. 37 39 40 1 18 1
What to Confirm in Quotes
For ERGO NEXT, verify the eligible product, issuing insurer, producer channel, effective date and all policy or transaction fees. For Aon, request the specific program proposal, insurer-notice allocation and account compensation. Compare the same insured entities, limits, deductibles, exclusions and policy period.
Compare Services
What each provider documents about the services you may need
| Criteria | Aon | ERGO NEXT Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Business role | Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. as broker of record for certain insurance programs. Separate electronic-delivery terms name Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries to deliver arranged policies; the terms define an insurer as the policy issuer and risk bearer. These group-level descriptions do not identify the producer or authority for a particular placement. 1,2Company-reported. Company-reported U.S. Commercial Risk brokerage and electronic-delivery terms; certain programs only. No specific insured, licensed producer, appointment, policy issuer, state authority or placement was matched. | NEXT Insurance adopted the ERGO NEXT Insurance brand on January 15, 2026. Munich Re reports that it completed the full acquisition of Next Insurance in July 2025 and increased its ownership to 100%; ERGO is Munich Re’s primary-insurance business. 16,17Company-reported. Current brand and controlling-group relationship from the target company and parent-group transaction record. This is not a claim that ERGO or Munich Re issues every ERGO NEXT policy. The ERGO NEXT terms group Next Insurance, Inc. with Next Insurance US Company, Next First Insurance Agency, Inc., Next Claims Management, Inc. and AP Intego Insurance Group, LLC. The terms describe ERGO NEXT as an agent representing insurance companies, while the license disclosure distinguishes agency subsidiaries from the affiliated insurer. 18,19Company-reported. Legal roles stated in current website terms and licensing disclosure. Exact contracting entity can vary by state, channel and policy. |
| Application process | For certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs, Aon says it consults with the client about market conditions, insurers to approach and program strategy, helps prepare underwriting information and applications, and obtains the client’s instructions to bind specific programs based on Aon’s proposal. The client signs applications that require a signature. 1Company-reported. Company-reported contractual terms for certain U.S. Commercial Risk programs; not a universal workflow, online checkout claim, insurer role or guarantee that a quote can bind. | The public quote flow starts with industry and state, then shows stages for coverage, application, quote and purchase. ERGO NEXT says supported policies can be quoted and bought online; licensed advisors are also available. 37,21,38Verified. The empty public start screen was reviewed on September 15, 2026. Virginia appeared as the site’s initial state value; no selection was made, no information was entered and the form was not continued or submitted. Downstream quote and purchase steps were not tested. A complete application and carrier underwriting approval are required. The terms say a premium payment does not bind coverage until the carrier approves the application, and a payment is refunded if the carrier declines it. 18,22Company-reported. Current Terms §§15 and 18. Website statements that coverage begins after payment remain subject to these underwriting conditions. |
| Servicing and renewals | Aon says it consults with clients before placing or renewing coverage and, where applicable, administers the insurer relationship for selected programs, including billing, data reporting and negotiated requirements. The terms do not promise automatic renewal, a timetable, a specific market or a particular outcome. 1Company-reported. Company-reported terms for selected U.S. Commercial Risk programs; administration varies where applicable and may be changed by written agreement. | Policyholders can use the online account to access electronic policy documents, update supported policy and payment details, create certificates, add additional insureds and request cancellation. Some changes require staff handling; the account FAQ says revised documents can take seven to ten business days in those cases. 39,18,38Company-reported. Company-described account service. A certificate is evidence of insurance and does not by itself establish that a requested endorsement changes the policy. The help center advertises a 24/7 AI assistant and U.S.-based insurance experts on weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Central Time. The reviewed sources do not promise licensed human support around the clock. 38Company-reported. Current public support channels and posted hours; holiday hours, response times and product-specific service teams were not established. A direct customer can request cancellation through the online account. ERGO NEXT says it stops future monthly payments and the account FAQ describes a prorated premium refund, but separately earned service or card fees are generally nonrefundable and the terms allow a cancellation fee where applicable. 39,18Company-reported. Direct ERGO NEXT account process and current general terms. Actual effective date, return premium, minimum earned premium and fees depend on the policy, state and account. |
| Claims assistance | Under Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms, the client is responsible for directly notifying insurers as its policies require unless a separate signed agreement says otherwise; Aon says it does not assume that notice or monitoring duty without a separate written agreement. This allocation does not determine whether Aon separately offers or agrees to claims advocacy or other claims-related services. 1,5,7Company-reported. Company-reported contractual allocation for covered U.S. Commercial Risk services; policy terms and any separate written agreement control. Aon separately describes claims advocacy on its D&O and cyber pages. | ERGO NEXT describes online or app-based claim reporting, document upload, status access and a dedicated claims advocate. The issuing insurer and policy still control coverage and payment, so confirm the notice route for each direct or partner-issued policy. 40,18Company-reported. Company-described claims support, not independently measured claim outcomes or a finding that Next Claims Management handles every claim. Public performance statistics and testimonials were not used. |
| Fees and compensation | Aon’s U.S. brokerage terms say compensation may come from insurers or third parties and can vary by contract, insurer and arrangement. Aon and affiliates may also receive contingent and other compensation; contingent goals can create an incentive to place coverage with a particular insurer. Clients may request expected compensation information for their coverage and alternative quotes. The terms do not give a client-specific amount. 1Company-reported. General company-reported U.S. brokerage terms; actual compensation, fees and conflicts for a client or placement are not stated here and may depend on law or contract. | ERGO NEXT and its partners may receive commissions, fees or interest. The terms permit installment, service and cancellation fees separate from premium; Next First Insurance Agency may charge a nonrefundable service fee at binding and renewal and a nonrefundable card transaction fee, while payment by bank account can avoid the card fee. The reviewed terms do not publish the amounts. 18Company-reported. Current Terms §18; charges are subject to state law and advance disclosure. No inference that every applicant pays every listed fee. Policies are annual even when premium is paid monthly. The terms say monthly payments carry no interest, finance fee or late-payment fee, but the stored payment method may be charged at renewal, missed payments can lead to a cancellation request, and a deposit premium can be adjusted after a premium audit when business details change. 18Company-reported. Current Terms §18. The applicable policy, billing schedule and renewal notice govern a particular account; no universal renewal price or audit outcome is established. |
Sources
Aon Official Website
- Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Aon Commercial Risk U.S. Electronic Disclosure and Consent Terms. Aon; Lines 120–125: Aon Risk Services Companies, Inc. acting for itself and licensed brokerage subsidiaries in electronic delivery; insurer is defined as issuer and risk bearer. The passage does not identify a producing entity or insurer for a particular placement. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Aon plc Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2025. Aon plc / U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission; Cover lines 23–34: Aon plc is incorporated in Ireland and gives Dublin as principal executive office; lines 261–263: global client breadth; lines 271–273 and segment discussion: company-reported Commercial Risk brokerage and risk-consulting operations. Filing is parent-level evidence, not placement producer, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Directors’ and Officers’ (D&O) Liability Insurance. Aon; Lines 135–160: general covered allegations and Side A, B and C scenarios, including public/private differences; lines 171–185: insurer-selection analytics, brokerage/claims-team collaboration and management-liability specialization. Product explanation and company-reported services; not an Aon-issued policy or quote. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Services Practice | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–128: global professional-services team and named law, accounting and consulting firm audience; lines 131–147: professional-liability/E&O offering and terminology; lines 151–176: cyber and EPL offerings, including management liability described at lines 158–163 as a partnership program/category; lines 180–189: professional-services P&C listing, including crime, fiduciary, kidnap and ransom, and automobile liability. “Loss Prevention” section (directly inspected passage at lines 209–212) conditions law-firm loss prevention on Aon broking of lawyers’ professional liability. Global practice page; no state-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Cyber Risk. Aon; Lines 194–205: cyber risk financing and cyber insurance; lines 206–230: claims advocacy/preparation and third-party incident-response providers, separate client contracts, no performance guarantee, and possible referral remuneration. Company-reported global service description. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Property Risk Management. Aon; Lines 132–140: property/buildings/contents and possible business-interruption cover, broker team services; lines 148–159: rates, retentions, limits, deductibles, benchmarking and U.S.-available Property Risk Analyzer; lines 161–168: global market access and alternate risk transfer. Tool availability does not establish placement availability or authority by state. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Marine Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 123–126: global marine practice, customer examples and marine claims/risk services; lines 155–175: cargo offerings including project cargo, general cargo, stock throughput, excess storage and freight/logistics. No U.S. placement terms, insurer, limits or state authority specified. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Surety. Aon; Lines 125–127: commercial surety bond description and three parties; lines 190–210: Aon says it approaches the surety market globally and describes its brokerage support, with offerings depending on jurisdiction; lines 211–222: examples of bond types. Global company marketing; no U.S. producing entity, state authority, issuer or placement terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- About | Aon. Aon; Aon’s company overview and Our Capabilities list distinguish Risk Capital from Human Capital and describe group-wide capabilities. General company identity context; not placement, authority or insurer evidence. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Broking and Risk Transfer | Aon. Aon; Explore Our Risk Transfer Offerings; Property & Casualty, Specialty, Management Liability and industry listings. Broad catalogue only; not sufficient for a dedicated line record by itself. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Financial and Executive Risks | Insurance Broking & Risk Management. Aon; Financial Services Group Overview; D&O, fiduciary, EPL and crime references plus policy design and insurer market knowledge. Broad category/source context; not sufficient by itself to establish a separate U.S. product. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- Construction and Infrastructure Insurance and Risk Management. Aon; Lines 125–126: global construction practice designing and placing risk solutions; lines 137–156: industry-specific property, casualty, construction professional liability, subcontractor default and construction surety offerings; lines 167–195: global coverage areas explicitly list Builders Risk, general/umbrella/excess liability within construction liability, workers compensation and surety among other categories. These are construction-practice marketing statements; page does not provide U.S. state or placement availability for each line. Accessed 2026-09-29.
ERGO NEXT Insurance Official Website
- Small Business Insurance Quotes. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Current ERGO NEXT branding; small-business positioning; online quote, document, certificate and app statements. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- NEXT Insurance Rebrands as ERGO NEXT Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; January 15, 2026 announcement; About ERGO NEXT Insurance; former name and relationship to ERGO and Munich Re. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Acquisitions and Divestments. Munich Re; 2025 transactions: full acquisition of NEXT Insurance completed July 1, 2025 and stake increased to 100%. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Service. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Last revised June 29, 2026; §§1, 5–7, 11, 13, 15, 18 and 23 (entities, limited availability, electronic documents, agents and carriers, underwriting, fees, payment and cancellation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Licenses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; State license table; entity and trade-name disclosure; agency referrals; Next Insurance US Company NAIC 16285 and admitted-state list. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Next Insurance US Company. Mississippi Insurance Department; Company license 1900012; NAIC 16285; issue date and authorized property-and-casualty lines. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Insurance for Small Businesses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Primary coverage selector; intended customers; product descriptions; online quote, purchase, documents, certificate and claims sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Coverage overview; eligible-industry selector and Get a Quote links; Buy online; optional liquor, tools, cyber and umbrella references; state links and footer qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Professional Liability insurance heading; What is Professional Liability insurance? (also called errors & omissions insurance); applicant categories; online process; Get Instant Quote; policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Workers’ Compensation Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Workers’ Compensation Insurance hero; industry quote routes; small-business coverage overview; applicant process; state links; claims route; policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Property Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Property heading and quote invitation; business personal property, building and business-income components; quote process; policy qualifications; legal footer on agency sales and issuing-insurer obligations. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Business Owner’s Policy (BOP Insurance). ERGO NEXT Insurance; Business Owner’s Policy heading and quote invitation; BOP as combined general liability and commercial property; industry selector; optional equipment-failure, tools and cyber references; legal footer on agency and issuing insurer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Auto Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Auto hero; Progressive partner disclosure and external quote link; appointed-agent availability limitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tools and Equipment Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Coverage for contractors and cleaning businesses; add-on to general liability; inland-marine terminology and qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Cyber Liability Insurance for Business. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Add-on to general or professional liability; covered-event examples, exclusions, application and policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Employment Practice Liability (EPLI). ERGO NEXT Insurance; EPLI as an add-on to general liability; applicant categories, claims-made description, exclusions and policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Commercial Umbrella Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Add-on to an ERGO NEXT general liability policy; limits, state-specific excess-liability naming and policy qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Liquor Liability Insurance Coverage. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Add-on to general liability for eligible food-service businesses; host and one-day event coverage exclusions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Hired and Non-Owned Auto Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; HNOA add-on to general liability for personal vehicles; commercial-auto partner route; vehicle and use qualifications. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Product Liability Insurance 100% Online. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Included in general liability for retailers and online sellers; cannot be purchased as a standalone policy. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Contractor Bonds. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Liberty Mutual Surety partnership; FAQ states ERGO NEXT does not itself offer contractor license bonds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- ERGO NEXT Appetite Guide. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Three-page guide: eligibility overview; class-by-product appetite grid; umbrella/excess as a GL/BOP add-on; agent-portal confirmation. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Start a Quote. ERGO NEXT Insurance; First screen: five-stage progress indicator, industry choices and state field. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- How Can We Help? ERGO NEXT Insurance; Account-management topics; AI assistant; U.S.-based expert support hours; quote, billing, policy, certificate, claim, renewal and cancellation links. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- My Account FAQs. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Electronic documents; policy and payment changes; cancellation; certificates and additional insureds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- File a Claim. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Claims process; online and non-customer reporting; claims-advocate role; document, status and payment-method descriptions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability Policy Specimen. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Texas restaurant specimen declarations: State National Insurance Company, Inc. as insurer and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc. as administrator; 2024–2025 specimen period. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability Coverage Guide — May 2026. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Coverage Enhancements table: garagekeepers for listed auto-service classes; expanded rented-premises damage; abuse and molestation; lost-key coverage; state and profession caveat. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Business Owners’ Policy Coverage Guide — August 20, 2026. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Liability Coverage Enhancements table: rented-premises damage, garagekeepers, abuse and molestation, lost-key options and available professions. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Auto Repair Shop Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Garagekeepers Liability section: customer vehicles and inclusion with general liability in Pro/Pro Plus packages; faulty-work and commercial-property descriptions; illustrative package limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.




