Aon vs ERGO NEXT Insurance: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Aon: professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. ERGO NEXT Insurance: eRGO NEXT says the policy addresses business errors that cost clients money, claims of professional negligence, misrepresentation causing financial harm, and legal defense costs. 3,7

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is ERGO NEXT Insurance?

ERGO NEXT fits small businesses that want to quote, buy and manage general liability, workers' comp or a BOP online; if you need commercial auto, bonds or complex specialty cover, you'll be sent to partners or should use a broker. Staff-handled policy changes can take 7–10 business days. 4,5,6

Read the ERGO NEXT Insurance profile

Read the ERGO NEXT Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Broker advice or online purchase

Aon presents E&O through a brokerage and advisory practice; ERGO NEXT sells a standalone online policy and describes a roughly ten-minute quote, online purchase and instant certificate. Choose the route that matches your need for placement advice or online issuance, then confirm who issues the policy. 3 7

Named professions and exclusions

ERGO NEXT names consultants, accountants, engineers and architects among its target professions and lists bodily injury and property damage among E&O exclusions. Aon names law, accounting and consulting firms but does not publish matching exclusions in its practice summary. Ask how physical injury exposures are insured alongside E&O. 3 7

Policy structure and services

ERGO NEXT says employees are covered by default, subcontractors typically are not, and prior-acts coverage may be available in select cases. Aon says it tailors structures but gives no comparable staffing details in its summary. If contractors or prior work matter, ask for those terms in writing. 3 7

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Aon to confirm the quoted policy form, retroactive date and covered allegations; its offering says professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. 3
  • Ask ERGO NEXT Insurance to confirm the quoted policy form, retroactive date and covered allegations; its offering says eRGO NEXT says the policy addresses business errors that cost clients money, claims of professional negligence, misrepresentation causing financial harm, and legal defense costs. 7

Aon and ERGO NEXT Insurance Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon Review Score

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

ERGO NEXT Insurance Review Score

8.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

NEXT’s favorable ratings come with a warning: NerdWallet reports more commercial liability complaints than expected. Check complaint handling and support before relying on its headline scores.[1][4][6][7][10]

Read ERGO NEXT Insurance reviews

Aon vs ERGO NEXT Insurance Professional Liability (E&O) Compared

Aon vs ERGO NEXT Insurance: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Professional Liability / E&O brokerage and risk-advisory offeringERGO NEXT Professional Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Aon presents Professional Liability / E&O as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. 3Company-reported. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.

ERGO NEXT sells professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions insurance, as a standalone online policy. 7Company-reported. Professional liability product page as read 2026-09-23.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.

The professional liability page does not name an issuing insurer for this line; the carrier for a specific policy is confirmed on the quote and declarations. 7Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. 3Company-reported. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.

ERGO NEXT targets this line at offices and professionals, construction, food and beverage, and retail and e-commerce businesses, naming business consultants, accountants, financial professionals, engineers and architects as example professions. 7Company-reported. Product page industry and profession list; not a complete underwriting appetite by state.

Coverage Features

Aon describes professional liability as addressing professional-services firms’ liability exposure and says it tailors coverage structures to a firm’s needs. It identifies E&O as a commonly used name for professional-liability insurance; actual policy terms are not stated. 3Company-reported. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.

ERGO NEXT says the policy addresses business errors that cost clients money, claims of professional negligence, misrepresentation causing financial harm, and legal defense costs. 7Company-reported. Product page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim.

ERGO NEXT lists the policy as excluding intentional wrongdoing and illegal activity, property damage or bodily injury (covered by general liability instead), false advertising, employee work injuries and vehicle accidents. 7Company-reported. Product page exclusions summary.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.

Published coverage limits or deductibles were not found on the professional liability product page; only illustrative starting pricing is shown, and the page notes an up to 10% discount for bundling with an existing ERGO NEXT policy. 7Not publicly disclosed. Checked the professional liability product page on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. 3Company-reported. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.

ERGO NEXT says employees are covered under the policy by default, subcontractors typically are not, prior-acts coverage is available in select cases, and additional-insured designations are permitted. 7Company-reported. Product page policy-structure notes.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online quote, coverage customization, and a fully online purchase with an instantly available certificate of insurance. 7Company-reported. Product page quote-flow description.

Related Pages for Aon vs ERGO NEXT Insurance

Professional Liability (E&O) Pages for Aon and ERGO NEXT Insurance

Other Coverage Lines Compared for Aon vs ERGO NEXT Insurance

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for Aon vs ERGO NEXT Insurance

Sources About Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Professional Services Practice. Aon; Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Sources About ERGO NEXT Insurance

  1. Business Insurance for Small Businesses. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Primary coverage selector; intended customers; product descriptions; online quote, purchase, documents, certificate and claims sections. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Commercial Auto Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Commercial Auto hero; Progressive partner disclosure and external quote link; appointed-agent availability limitation. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. My Account FAQs. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Electronic documents; policy and payment changes; cancellation; certificates and additional insureds. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; What is Professional Liability insurance? (also called errors & omissions insurance); target industries and professions; exclusions; three-step quote process; bundling discount; claims filing. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot