Aon vs Kinro: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

Aon says cyber offerings vary and describes policy review and claims advocacy. Kinro says it matches applicants to cyber carriers and collects revenue, record counts, payment and data details, plus controls such as MFA, backups and email protection. 3,7

What Is Aon?

Aon’s U.S. Commercial Risk terms describe brokerage for certain insurance programs, while its Middle Market page describes a dedicated practice for mid-sized organizations across North America. The public materials reviewed do not identify the licensed producer or insurer for a particular placement. Ask which entity will produce each line and which insurer will issue the policy; request jurisdiction details for the proposed placement and ask how compensation and claim notice work for your account. 1,2

Read the Aon profile

Read the Aon Cyber Insurance page

What Is Kinro Insurance?

Kinro fits U.S. small businesses that want a free review of an existing policy or renewal packet and agent help comparing quotes online. Its pages don't name the insurer behind a given quote, so ask which markets Kinro approached before you switch. 4,5,6

Read the Kinro profile

Read the Kinro Cyber Insurance page

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 8,9

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

Underwriting information and market fit

Aon describes cyber policy terms as variable and says its brokers review coverage options. Kinro says carrier appetite can differ by business operation and gathers revenue, record counts, payment handling, data types and controls such as MFA, backups, email protections and vendor access. Buyers should be ready to provide those details when seeking a Kinro quote; Aon’s description emphasizes review of policy terms across placements. 3 7

Coverage mix and line coordination

Aon discusses coordinating cyber and professional liability for professional-services firms. Kinro says placements commonly address data breach, ransomware, privacy, funds-transfer fraud and incident response, and Kinro often reviews cyber with E&O, BOP and D&O. Buyers with contract limits or vendor exposure should tell either broker which risks matter so the proposed wording and adjacent lines can be checked together. 3 7

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Kinro which carrier is considering the application and how MFA, backups, record counts and payment handling affect eligibility or terms. 3 7
  • Ask Aon how cyber interacts with E&O; ask both brokers to identify covered ransomware, transfer-fraud and incident-response costs. 3 7

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Aon

6.1/ 10

Review Score

3 rated sources

Public ratings for Aon are low: Trustpilot shows 1.2 out of 5 from 782 reviews, and BBB shows 1.6 from five. Aon is a global firm, so those pages mostly reflect other parts of the business, not large U.S. commercial accounts.[4][6][7]

Read Aon reviews

Kinro

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer reviews of Kinro. It shows a 5.0 Google rating on its own website, but there is no review count or listing behind it.[7]

Read Kinro reviews

Offering Details

Aon vs Kinro: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAon Cyber brokerage and risk-advisory offeringKinro Cyber Liability
Role in This Line

Aon describes cyber insurance brokerage and risk-advisory services. It is not identified as the risk-bearing insurer, and the global page does not name the carrier for a particular placement. 3Company-reported. Aon’s official global product/capability page. The statement is limited to Aon’s marketing of brokerage or advisory services, not policy issuance.

Kinro is a broker: it matches a business to a cyber liability carrier rather than underwriting the policy itself, saying the product "can underwrite differently" by operation and that market fit depends on carrier appetite. 7Company-reported. Cyber Liability page "Routing" and "Market fit" sections.

Issuing Insurer

The reviewed page does not identify the insurer or the legal producing entity for a specific placement. Ask Aon to identify both for the quoted risk. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote, binder or policy was reviewed. This does not establish that no insurer or producing entity is available.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

Aon describes cyber services for organizations managing cyber risk. Its global practice page does not publish a complete industry, revenue, security-control or state-by-state eligibility schedule. 3Company-reported. Audience stated by Aon on its global capability page; this does not establish a specific applicant’s eligibility or placement availability by U.S. state.

Kinro says cyber liability commonly fits professional services, retail, restaurants and SaaS businesses, and typically comes up when a business stores customer, payment, employee or health information, relies on cloud tools or online payments, or a client contract requires cyber limits. 7Company-reported. Cyber Liability page "Common fit" and "Triggers" sections.

Coverage Features

Aon describes cyber insurance as one part of cyber risk financing and says it reviews policy offerings because terms and conditions vary. For professional-services firms, it discusses coordinating cyber and professional-liability coverage. This is brokerage guidance and does not establish the terms of any cyber policy. 3Company-reported. Aon’s broker-authored explanation of the insurance line. It does not establish an individual insured’s policy entitlement; the insurer’s form, endorsements and declarations control.

Kinro says cyber liability placements typically address data breach, ransomware, privacy, funds-transfer fraud and incident-response questions, along with exposures tied to vendor, payment, customer-data and employee-data handling. 7Company-reported. Cyber Liability page "Coverage" section; actual terms depend on the carrier and policy placed.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state a standard buyer-specific limit, retention or deductible for this placement. Confirm amounts, sublimits and conditions in the quote and issued policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Aon’s global product/capability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer quote or policy form was reviewed.

The reviewed page does not publish cyber liability limits, retentions or premiums; it lists current cyber limits and contractual requirements as inputs carriers need to quote, not published amounts. 7Not found in reviewed sources. Cyber Liability page "Quote file" section as read on 2026-09-23.

Risk Services

Aon describes cyber claims advocacy and preparation and relationships with third-party incident-response providers. The retained official source notes that provider contracts are separate, no performance guarantee is made, and referral remuneration may occur; confirm the providers, scope and compensation applicable to a client. 3Company-reported. Company-reported brokerage and advisory services. Account-specific service terms are not stated.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

To quote cyber liability, Kinro collects revenue, record counts, payment handling and data types, plus security controls such as MFA, backups, email protections and vendor access, and often reviews cyber together with E&O, BOP and D&O coverage. 7Company-reported. Cyber Liability page "Quote file" and "Reviewed with" sections.

Full Comparison

More Aon vs Kinro Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Aon

  1. Commercial Risk Solutions U.S. Brokerage Terms of Service. Aon; Lines 120–127: certain-program broker-of-record scope, consultation, application assistance, client signature and bind instruction, and account administration; lines 140–147: variable and contingent compensation, potential placement incentive, and client request route; lines 206–213: no price guarantee and surplus-lines limitations; lines 229–231: client insurer-notice duty unless separately agreed. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Middle Market Clients. Aon; Lines 125–132: mid-sized organizations and middle-market framing; lines 165–173: dedicated practice and North America statement; lines 188–224: Commercial Risk capabilities. No numeric company-size cutoff or U.S.-only eligibility rule is stated on the reviewed page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Cyber Risk. Aon; Global cyber risk financing/insurance overview and brokerage practice; claims preparation and advocacy, incident response providers and referral remuneration disclosures, lines 194–230 as retained in Aon’s official source record; Professional Services Practice cyber cross-reference, lines 151–156. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Kinro

  1. Kinro Business Insurance. Kinro; Hero; Clear guidance before you buy; industry groups; carrier-logo strip; Insurance expertise; FAQs on follow-up, purchase obligation and AI; footer. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Free Review Of Your Insurance Policy. Kinro; Introductory price/coverage claim and step 1 of 2 upload panel; accepted documents and file limits. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. For Carriers And MGAs. Kinro; Product access; API integration; approvals paragraph after Dormant lead recovery. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. Cyber Liability. Kinro; Common fit; Product file; Coverage — What it usually handles; Triggers — When it comes up; Quote file — Inputs carriers usually need; Routing — Match the product to the operation; Market fit. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot