What Is Alliance Risk?
Alliance Risk suits tech startups from pre-seed through IPO that want a broker to review their tech E&O policy for free and shop specialist insurers; if you want to buy online in minutes, use a digital insurer. Quotes take 24 hours to ten business days, depending on your risk. 1,2,3
Read the Alliance Risk profile
Read the Alliance Risk Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 5,6
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Broker Placement and Package Line
Alliance Risk places professional liability as a broker using carrier partnerships and risk-specific underwriting input. THREE lists Errors and Omissions within its combined Business Owners Policy. Professional firms can ask Alliance Risk which insurer and form match their services, while asking THREE whether its quote includes E&O for the specific work performed. 4 7
Professional Claims and Other Lines
Alliance Risk says E&O typically addresses negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation and missed deadlines. It identifies bodily injury, property damage, intentional wrongdoing, employment disputes, cyber incidents and known claims as exclusions handled by other lines. THREE names E&O as a marketed package category but its reviewed material does not enumerate similar terms. Compare the professional-services definition and exclusions with client contract obligations. 4 7
Contract Review and Claims Support
Alliance Risk describes industry-specific risk reviews, contract review, customized wording and expertise structuring claims-made policies with prior acts, retroactive dates and tail coverage; it also names a legal network and claims experts. THREE provides an online quote and licensed advisor support but does not describe comparable E&O services in the reviewed record. Ask who can review a client contract and explain retroactive dates before binding. 4 5
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Alliance Risk
Review Score
No reviews found
Alliance Risk has no customer ratings on the review sites we checked, so there's no Review Score yet. That says nothing bad about the company; it means you'll need to ask for references.[1][4][6]
Read Alliance Risk reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsOffering Details
Alliance Risk vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Alliance Risk Professional Liability Insurance | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Alliance Risk places professional liability (errors and omissions, or E&O) coverage as a broker, saying it backs placements with risk-specific underwriting input and carrier partnerships rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page. | THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 7Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed professional liability page does not name the insurer that would issue a policy; it refers generally to 'strong carrier partnerships' without identifying a specific carrier. 4Not publicly disclosed. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 6Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | Alliance Risk targets professional liability at consultants and advisory firms, accountants and tax professionals, architects and engineers, real estate and insurance agents and brokers, marketing and PR agencies, IT and technology consultants, healthcare providers, and financial planners and investment advisors. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page; eligibility for a particular company depends on underwriting. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 7,5Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | Alliance Risk lists negligent acts or omissions, breach of contract, misrepresentation, and missed deadlines as typically covered, and says bodily injury or property damage, intentional wrongdoing or fraud, employment disputes, cyber incidents, and prior known claims are excluded and belong to other lines such as general liability, EPLI or cyber liability. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page; coverage and exclusions described in general terms, subject to the policy as issued. | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 7,6Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | The reviewed professional liability page gives cost ranges by firm size (for example, solo practitioners at $500-$3,000 a year up to mid-sized to large firms at $10,000-$50,000-plus) but does not publish specific coverage limits, retentions or deductible amounts for this line. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; cost figures are illustrative premium estimates, not published limits. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 7,6Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| Risk Services | Alliance Risk describes its approach to professional liability as including industry-specific risk reviews, claims-trend analysis, customized policy language, review of client contracts to limit personal exposure, and expertise structuring claims-made policies including tail coverage, prior acts and retroactive dates. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page, Our Approach to Professional Liability and The Alliance Risk Difference sections. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | The professional liability page's only application route is a generic 'Get a quote' request; it does not list the specific submission information Alliance Risk asks for on this line, unlike its D&O, EPLI and fiduciary product pages. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Professional liability product page as read on 2026-09-23. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 5Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
| Claims Support | Alliance Risk says professional liability clients get access to a legal network and claims experts who understand the client's industry, providing a defense strategy if a claim arises. 4Company-reported. Professional liability product page, The Alliance Risk Difference section. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More Alliance Risk vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Alliance Risk
- Technology Insurance. Alliance Risk; What is Technology Insurance?; Types of Technology; Types of Coverage; startup placement introduction; quote documents and process. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Tech E&O Insurance. Alliance Risk; Opening placement description; Get Your Tech E&O Risk Review; What We Need for Your Quote; Policy Review. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get a Quote. Alliance Risk; Request form; Prefer to Call?; Why Alliance Risk? section. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance. Alliance Risk; Professional Liability Insurance That Safeguards Your Expertise; Our Approach to Professional Liability; The Alliance Risk Difference; What Is Professional Liability Insurance?; What Does/Doesn't Professional Liability Insurance Cover?; How Much Professional Liability Insurance Cost? Accessed 2026-09-23.
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.






