AIG vs Chubb: How Do They Compare for Product Recall Insurance?

AIG and Talbot describe locally handled multinational recall services; Chubb publishes Recall Plus capacity and a 24/7 consultant hotline for consumer-goods producers. 3,7

What Is AIG?

AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2

Read the AIG profile

Read the AIG Product Recall Insurance page

What Is Chubb?

Chubb fits technology firms seeking DigiTech ERM or small businesses with up to $30 million in revenue seeking a BOP; buyers wanting an instant direct purchase should compare online carriers. Agents can quote eligible small accounts, with a faster cyber route. 4,5,6

Read the Chubb profile

Read the Chubb Product Recall Insurance page

What Is Product Recall Insurance?

Product recall insurance can pay specified costs to locate and withdraw a product after a covered problem. It fits businesses that could face recall logistics; product liability does not automatically pay those costs, so compare the trigger and covered expenses. 8,9,10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Product Recall Insurance

Capacity and buyer profile

Chubb targets finished consumer-goods businesses, primarily with sales up to $1 billion; larger companies may be considered with a high retention or excess placement. It lists $5 million of primary and excess limits, with more considered case by case. AIG and Talbot identify multinational supply-chain participants but publish no standard limit or retention in the reviewed summary. Buyers above Chubb’s primary target should compare excess options and ask AIG for transaction-specific capacity. 3 7

Incident response services

Chubb provides 24/7 access to specialized product-recall consultants after an incident. AIG and Talbot describe an integrated multinational team, local policy and claims handling through network participants, and risk engineering, with the specific service provider varying by placement and jurisdiction. Ask both how quickly a consultant can be engaged and which local team coordinates a cross-border recall. 3 7

Product fit

Chubb’s Recall Plus focuses on finished consumer goods and excludes products incorporated as components in a third party’s products, among other named restrictions. AIG and Talbot identify component-part manufacturers as part of the multinational product’s intended audience. A component supplier should verify that Chubb’s restriction applies and request AIG’s wording for component-related recall costs. 3 7

What to Confirm in Product Recall Insurance Quotes

  • Will Chubb consider your sales level and product type, and what retention accompanies the stated $5 million capacity? 3
  • For AIG, which insurer, local claims handler, limit and component-related recall terms will be on the quote? 7

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

AIG

4.4/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]

Read AIG reviews

Chubb

6.9/ 10

Review Score

5 rated sources

Chubb earns 5/5 from NerdWallet, which reports fewer-than-expected commercial property and liability complaints. Customer ratings are mixed across products and locations.[1][4][7][8][9]

Read Chubb reviews

Offering Details

AIG vs Chubb: Product Recall Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAIG Multinational and Talbot Product Recall InsuranceChubb Recall Plus for Consumer Goods
Role in This Line

The source attributes the product to collaboration between AIG Multinational and Talbot Underwriting. It does not resolve the legal issuing entity for a particular policy, so this draft preserves the collaboration boundary. 3Company-reported. Role in this product is limited to the description on the linked AIG source.

Chubb underwrites product recall insurance directly through Recall Plus for Consumer Goods, aimed at both new and established business owners producing consumer goods. 7Company-reported. Recall Plus for Consumer Goods product page.

Who It’s For

The summary sheet identifies component-part manufacturers, consumer-goods and topical/consumer-health businesses, and finished-goods supply-chain participants. It describes a multinational market, not unrestricted U.S. standalone eligibility. 3Company-reported. Audience is the segment AIG names on the linked source; this is not an underwriting decision, quote or guarantee of availability.

Chubb primarily targets companies with sales up to $1 billion; companies above $1 billion are considered with a high self-insured retention or on an excess basis. Target risks include manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers and retailers of finished consumer products such as appliances, electronics, clothing, furniture, household goods, children's products and sporting goods. 7Company-reported. Client Profile section.

Coverage Features

AIG and Talbot describe Product Recall Insurance within a multinational risk solution. The sheet does not establish a buyer’s recall trigger, covered costs, limits, exclusions or policy issuer for a local placement. 3Company-reported. AIG’s public product description is not the policy. Actual entitlement depends on the applicable issued form, endorsements and declarations.

Chubb says coverages are made-to-order, letting policyholders select add-on coverages based on need or budget, and offers crisis consultants available 24/7 via an emergency hotline. 7Company-reported. Coverage Highlights section; subject to the policy as issued.

Chubb restricts this product for drop-side cribs, e-cigarettes, fireworks, and products that are incorporated as a component of a third party's products or goods. 7Company-reported. Restricted Classes list.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed summary sheet does not specify a standard limit, retention or deductible for a buyer. Confirm the local policy, issuer and terms for the transaction. 3Not publicly disclosed. This statement reports only what the linked public source discloses and does not substitute for a quote or issued policy.

Chubb publishes a $5,000 minimum self-insured retention ($2,500 minimum for small businesses) and says its Product Recall unit has $5 million in limits available on a primary and excess basis, with additional capacity considered case by case. 7Company-reported. Coverage Highlights, Minimums and Limits sections.

Risk Services

The summary sheet describes an integrated multinational service team, local policy and claims handling through network participants, and risk engineering support. The specific service provider depends on the placement and jurisdiction. 3Company-reported. The linked page describes company-reported support; specific account services and third-party arrangements must be confirmed.

Chubb says businesses get 24/7 access to a network of specialized product-recall consultants on a post-incident basis, described as leading industry professionals familiar with product-recall regulatory challenges. 7Company-reported. Specialized Consultants section.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

Chubb publishes a Recall Plus application for non-food products and provides an email address for product-recall insurance questions. 7Company-reported. Related Resources and Contact sections.

Full Comparison

More AIG vs Chubb Comparisons

Other Product Recall Insurance Comparisons

Sources

AIG

  1. Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. AIG Multinational Product Recall Summary Sheet. AIG; AIG/Talbot official summary sheet, pages 1–2: names the AIG Multinational and Talbot Underwriting collaboration and Product Recall Insurance for component parts, consumer goods/topical and consumer health, and finished goods; describes global program servicing and policy issuing network caveats. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Chubb

  1. Insurance For Technology Companies. Chubb; Industry overview; Who we serve; Products and services: commercial package insurance (BOP, Benchmarq, Customarq), E&O/Cyber, Financial Lines, workers’ compensation, auto and umbrella; dedicated underwriting, claims and risk engineering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Terms Of Use. Chubb; Acceptance of Terms identifying Chubb Group Holdings Inc.; surplus-lines producer restriction; products not available to all users or jurisdictions; Chubb Limited safe-harbor language; Internet Portals for Chubb Business. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Cyber Insurance Coverage & Products. Chubb; Cyber insurance product catalog: Cyber ERM, DigiTech ERM (technology E&O, media and cyber) and Pro ERM (non-licensed professional services); Marketplace quoting for eligible risks under $100 million revenue; first- and third-party coverage summaries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Product Recall Insurance Consumer Goods (Chubb Recall Plus for Consumer Goods). Chubb; Coverage Highlights: Minimums, Limits, Restricted Classes; Client Profile section; Specialized Consultants section. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Product Recall Insurance Guide

  1. Product liability, recall and contamination insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability opening (design/manufacture/distribute/sell; injury, property damage or death; added to GL or stand-alone); What could go wrong? (roles; directions/warnings); Covering the costs of a product recall; Contamination insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Facts + Statistics: Product liability. Insurance Information Institute; Product liability insurance opening definition (manufacturer, distributor, or seller; defective condition causing personal injury or damage); Product recall insurance sentence. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Commercial General Liability Coverage Form. ISO Properties, Inc.; specimen hosted by Hiscox; Recall exclusion p.5; Supplementary Payments pp.8–9; Section III limits p.10; V.16 and V.21 p.15, warnings/instructions continue p.16. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Recall Checklist. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission; Initiating a Recall (report if obligated; stop production; identify UPC/date codes/model numbers; isolate inventory; notify distribution chain; determine remedy); Recall Notice Documents; After the Public Announcement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Duty to Report to CPSC: Rights and Responsibilities of Businesses. U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission; Immediate reporting triggers for manufacturers, importers, distributors and/or retailers; 24-hour reporting; investigation generally not exceeding 10 working days; reporting does not automatically mean a recall; page disclaimer that it is not legal advice and is not Commission-approved. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot