AIG vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: How Do They Compare for Representations and Warranties Insurance?

AIG writes R&W through non-admitted subsidiaries or affiliates and advertises up to $100 million per transaction; Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance lists the product and portfolio capacity up to $25 million. 3,9

What Is AIG?

AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2

Read the AIG profile

Read the AIG Representations and Warranties Insurance page

What Is Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance?

BHSI provides commercial and specialty insurance in the U.S., with product-specific industry lists that include healthcare, energy and technology. Online quote and application submissions are nonbinding. 4,5,6,7

Read the Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance profile

Read the Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Representations and Warranties Insurance page

What Is Representations and Warranties Insurance?

Representations and warranties insurance can cover a buyer’s or seller’s loss from inaccurate statements in a stock or asset purchase agreement. For a business sale, check who is insured, who can recover and how known issues are treated. 10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Representations and Warranties Insurance

Capacity and Terms

AIG advertises limits up to $100 million per transaction and a typical retention reference, while Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance’s 2025 overview states portfolio capacity up to $25 million and says premiums and retentions vary with deal size and risk. A deal team should ask what capacity is currently available to its transaction and whether additional layers are needed; neither published amount guarantees a quote. 3 9

What the Product Description Establishes

AIG describes protection for financial loss from breaches of sellers’ representations and warranties and lists shared, layered and excess structures. BHSI describes R&W as protection beyond negotiated caps and survival periods and as potentially reducing seller escrow. These summaries frame different transaction benefits, so buyers and sellers should ask each insurer how the negotiated indemnity and policy interact. 3 9

What to Confirm in Representations and Warranties Insurance Quotes

  • Ask AIG to name the issuing entity and confirm the proposed retention, limit and structure. 3
  • Ask BHSI which transaction sectors qualify and how much capacity, premium and retention it would offer for this deal. 9

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

AIG

4.4/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]

Read AIG reviews

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

-/ 10

Review Score

The public ratings for Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance are low but thin: Trustpilot shows 2.1 out of 5 from 9 reviews and BBB shows 1 out of 5 from 6. Both mix travel and commercial customers, so we don't count them in a score.[5][7]

Read Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance reviews

Offering Details

AIG vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: Representations and Warranties Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAIG Representations and Warranties InsuranceTransactional Liability Representations & Warranties Insurance
Role in This Line

AIG markets a transaction-specific R&W product and says coverage is written through AIG non-admitted carriers only. The particular issuing entity must be confirmed in the buyer’s transaction documents. 3Company-reported. Role in this product is limited to the description on the linked AIG source.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

AIG describes R&W insurance for buyers or sellers in merger and acquisition transactions and publishes a deal-size range as a marketing guide. That range is not an eligibility promise for a particular transaction. 3Company-reported. Audience is the segment AIG names on the linked source; this is not an underwriting decision, quote or guarantee of availability.

The current page lists manufacturing, financial institutions, technology, real estate, energy, healthcare and retail as transactional-liability target sectors. 8Company-reported. Portfolio target sectors, not R&W-only acceptability criteria.

Coverage Features

AIG says the product may protect against financial loss from breach of sellers’ representations and warranties. The page lists shared, layered and excess structures; policy wording and transaction diligence control the actual coverage. 3Company-reported. AIG’s public product description is not the policy. Actual entitlement depends on the applicable issued form, endorsements and declarations.

BHSI’s current U.S. Transactional Liability page and linked overview name Representations and Warranties Insurance as a product. 8,9Company-reported. Direct U.S. product listing; final coverage depends on transaction-specific contract terms.

The U.S. overview describes R&W insurance as adding protection beyond negotiated caps and survival periods and as potentially reducing seller escrow. 9Company-reported. Company-reported transactional use cases; not a promise of clean exit, outcome or standardized policy response.

Limits and Retentions

AIG advertises limits up to $100 million per transaction and a typical retention reference of 1.0% of enterprise value dropping to 0.5% after 12 months. These are published product parameters, not a buyer-specific quote or guarantee. 3Not publicly disclosed. This statement reports only what the linked public source discloses and does not substitute for a quote or issued policy.

The 2025 U.S. Transactional Liability overview states portfolio capacity up to $25 million and says premiums/retentions vary with transaction size and risks. 9Company-reported. Portfolio-wide underwriting capacity, not a guaranteed R&W limit or quote; document dated 2025-05-16-A.

Risk Services

AIG describes M&A underwriters, prompt transaction support, multinational expertise and dedicated claims professionals for complex transactional disputes. These services are not a promise to accept or pay a claim. 3Company-reported. The linked page describes company-reported support; specific account services and third-party arrangements must be confirmed.

Confirm in your quote.

Full Comparison

More AIG vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Comparisons

Other Representations and Warranties Insurance Comparisons

Sources

AIG

  1. Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Representations & Warranties Insurance. AIG; Official AIG R&W page: M&A buyer/seller audience, advertised transaction size and capacity, typical retention, admitted basis caveat, claims and multinational transaction support; standard policy caveat. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

  1. At A Glance. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; United States section, zero-based PDF pages 49–53 (viewer pages 50–54): product/industry lists on pages 49–50; U.S. disclosure/version footer on page 53 is 2026-8-03 A. The 2026-09-14 A footer is on preceding European page 48, not the U.S. section. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Us. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; About BHSI; company profile page re-opened through official site on 2026-09-28; company says it is part of National Indemnity group. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Terms of Service. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Important Information Concerning Use of this Web Site, paragraphs 2–4; nonbinding submissions, contracted-agent authority, state variation, product availability and policy-specific terms. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Public Disclosure — Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Singapore Branch. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Singapore branch public disclosure, Company Profile ¶¶ 1–2; direct page opened 2026-09-28. ¶ 1 identifies BHSIC as a Nebraska-domiciled direct P&C insurer; ¶ 2 states BHSIC is wholly owned by National Indemnity Company, itself wholly owned by Berkshire Hathaway Incorporated. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. Transactional Liability. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; Product Highlights list R&W, tax, contingent-liability and class-action-settlement insurance; Top Targets list manufacturing, financial institutions, technology, real estate, energy, healthcare and retail, lines 6–27. The target list is for the transactional-liability portfolio, not exclusive R&W eligibility. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  6. Transactional Liability Overview. Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance; PDF pp.1–2: R&W, tax, contingent-liability, and class-action-settlement products; portfolio-wide primary/excess and up-to-$25m capacity; premiums/retentions vary by transaction/risk; portfolio appetite and in-house claims group; R&W buyer-use descriptions; dated 2025-05-16-A. Product-specific limits and final terms not stated. Source version: 2025-05-16-A. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Representations and Warranties Insurance Guide

  1. Transaction liability insurance | Representation and indemnities insurance. CFC; What are representations and warranties?; Who should buy representation and warranty insurance?; Available to buyers & sellers; Limited seller security; Is transaction liability insurance available to sellers. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Mergers & Acquisitions. Beazley; Product overview: buyer and seller protection for inaccuracies in representations or warranties. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Transactional Risk Insurance. Coverdash; Transactional risk insurance; representations and warranties coverage; buy-side policies; tax and contingent liability products. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot