AIG vs At-Bay: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

AIG describes customizable entity E&O for professional-service negligence; At-Bay offers miscellaneous professional liability with a published $5 million primary limit and separate quote route. 3,6

What Is AIG?

AIG is the marketing name for American International Group, Inc.; AIG says its insurance products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates. Its U.S. business pages list commercial casualty, property, cyber, management and professional liability, and specialty programs, but a brand-level page does not identify the insurer for a particular policy. 1,2

Read the AIG profile

Read the AIG Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is At-Bay Insurance?

At-Bay targets technology firms with up to $5 billion in revenue and offers cyber limits up to $10 million, plus technology E&O; buyers seeking a standard online business package should compare other carriers. Managed detection and response costs extra. 4,5

Read the At-Bay profile

Read the At-Bay Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 10,11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

What the Coverage Is Called

AIG describes protection for claims alleging negligence in professional services, including third-party economic loss, under a customizable entity policy. At-Bay markets primary miscellaneous professional liability, but the reviewed page does not fully define its insuring agreement. A firm should compare its precise services and alleged-loss scenarios against both policy forms instead of treating the shared E&O label as identical protection. 3 6

Published Capacity and Application

At-Bay publishes primary and excess appetite and a $5 million primary limit for its MPL offering, while AIG’s reviewed offering record does not state a standard limit. At-Bay also provides an online broker platform for quoting and binding, whereas AIG directs buyers to a tailored placement. Ask for matching limits and retention figures and confirm what application information each route requires. 3 6

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask AIG for the offered limit, retention and exact professional-services wording. 3
  • Ask At-Bay whether the $5 million primary limit applies to your profession and what retention and state conditions attach. 6

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

AIG

4.4/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customer ratings for AIG are low: Trustpilot shows 1.9 out of 5 from 252 reviews, and NerdWallet gives 2.5 stars and notes more claims complaints than expected. These pages cover many AIG products and countries, so they only loosely describe business insurance.[1][2]

Read AIG reviews

At-Bay

9.5/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

At-Bay’s public review evidence is thin: one old G2 review and a BBB complaint record. It is not enough to judge day-to-day service or claims handling.[3][6][9]

Read At-Bay reviews

Offering Details

AIG vs At-Bay: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaAIG Specialty Professional Liability (E&O)At-Bay Miscellaneous Professional Liability (MPL) Insurance
Role in This Line

AIG markets customizable entity-based professional errors-and-omissions policies for public and private service providers. AIG is the marketing name; the page’s legal footer says products are written or provided by subsidiaries or affiliates, without naming the issuer for a buyer’s policy. 3Company-reported. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page. The page describes the marketed product family, not the legal insurer on an individual quote or policy.

At-Bay markets MPL as one of its own named insurance products, sold through its disclosed producer, At-Bay Insurance Services LLC, with the product page directed at "properly licensed insurance professionals" submitting business rather than at direct retail buyers. 6,7Company-reported. Current MPL product page and license disclosures; this describes the distribution channel, not who bears the underwriting risk.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The current MPL product page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. A September 2023 press release named United Specialty Company in connection with MPL, but that historical reference does not establish the current issuing insurer for a new MPL quote. 6,8Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed MPL page as of 2026-09-23 and the September 2023 press release; restates the existing provider fact that MPL's current issuer is unresolved, distinct from the August 2023 Cyber/Tech E&O transition to At-Bay Specialty Insurance Company paper.

Who It’s For

AIG says its specialty professional-liability offering is for service providers and can be customized for a company’s professional services. Its examples include public and private service providers; this does not state that every profession or applicant qualifies. 3Company-reported. Company-described target customer and customization statement. The reviewed page does not provide a complete class appetite or state availability list.

At-Bay says it provides primary MPL for businesses of all revenue sizes with limits up to $5 million, subject to state restrictions and eligibility requirements detailed in a separate MPL appetite guide. 6Company-reported. Current MPL appetite paragraph; the linked appetite guide's specific eligibility requirements were not independently opened for this record.

Coverage Features

AIG describes coverage for claims alleging negligence in professional services rendered to others, including claims for third-party economic loss. This is a description of the product’s intended subject; covered claims, definitions, exclusions and conditions depend on the issued policy. 3Company-reported. AIG’s marketing description of specialty professional E&O; no policy form or endorsement was reviewed.

At-Bay lists MPL coverage highlights including automatic coverage for acquired subsidiaries, claims-made-and-reported coverage, coverage for independent contractors, disciplinary-proceedings defense, a duty-to-defend contract, personal-injury coverage (including emotional distress), punitive damages where insurable, a professional-services definition written for each insured, and an 80/20 hammer clause. 6Company-reported. Product-page coverage-highlights list; an 80/20 hammer clause is a settlement provision where the insurer pays 80% and the insured pays 20% of costs after the insured declines a recommended settlement. The issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

Limits and Retentions

The reviewed page does not state standard limits, retentions or deductibles for this offering. Confirm the amounts and policy conditions in the quote and issued form. 3Not publicly disclosed. AIG’s U.S. Professional Liability page reviewed 2026-09-30; no buyer-specific quote or policy was reviewed.

At-Bay publishes an MPL limit ceiling of up to $5 million, with state restrictions that are not detailed on the product page itself. 6Company-reported. Current appetite paragraph; this is an advertised ceiling, not a guaranteed available limit for any specific applicant.

Risk Services

AIG says it uses in-house claims professionals and third-party experts, collaborates with clients through the claims process, and uses claims data to help clients evaluate and mitigate loss. These are company-reported service descriptions, not a claim outcome guarantee. 3Company-reported. General professional-liability claims services described by AIG. The page does not state account-specific service standards or identify the administrator for a particular policy.

Confirm in your quote.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

At-Bay directs MPL submissions to underwriting by email or through automatic quotes on its Broker Platform, which At-Bay describes as a workflow of creating a quote, customizing limits and retentions, and binding the policy. 6,9Company-reported. Current submission instructions and the general broker-platform workflow description; MPL-specific automation details were not separately confirmed.

Full Comparison

More AIG vs At-Bay Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

AIG

  1. Investor Relations. American International Group, Inc. (AIG); About AIG and legal footer; lines 244–246 and 327–331. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Business. AIG US; Surplus Lines heading and paragraph, lines 357–359. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. Professional Liability Insurance. AIG US; ‘AIG Professional Liability Solutions,’ lines 327–334; claims expertise lines 273–279; broker contact lines 385–389; general policy-language caveat in legal footer lines 485–489. Accessed 2026-09-30.

At-Bay

  1. Cyber, Tech E&O & Professional Liability Insurance. At-Bay; Product cards and agency disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. At-Bay Stance. At-Bay; Real Protection Against Real Threats; Endpoint, Email, MXDR; footnotes 1 and 3–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. MPL Insurance: Coverage Highlights & Appetite. At-Bay; MPL Coverage Highlights list; MPL Appetite paragraph; Send us your submissions; "material on this page is intended for use solely by properly licensed insurance professionals". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Licenses. At-Bay; Producer introduction; agency and surplus-lines footer naming At-Bay Insurance Services LLC. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. At-Bay Doubles Miscellaneous Professional Liability Appetite. At-Bay; September 28, 2023 release: final paragraph before Media Contacts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Broker Platform. At-Bay; How it works: Create a quote, Customize your quote, Bind your policy, Manage renewals; FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot