TechInsurance vs
USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
TechInsurance publishes a median premium across many professions; USI's flagship E&O program is CPA-specific and doesn't publish a price.
What Is TechInsurance?
TechInsurance is a small-business insurance agency and brokerage with a technology focus, offering online quote comparison and agent assistance through the Insureon organization. 1,2
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 4,5,6
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
A Broad Product vs. a Named CPA Program
TechInsurance targets professional-services and advice businesses broadly, naming IT and software professionals, cybersecurity and SaaS companies, insurance agents, real estate agents, tax preparers and consultants. 3 USI's most detailed E&O offering is the AICPA Professional Liability Program, run through its USI Affinity division specifically for CPA firms, which it has provided since 1994. 7
Published Cost vs. No Public Pricing
TechInsurance publishes a specific median premium for its E&O policyholders:
TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table.
USI's AICPA program page does not publish limit, retention or premium figures for its CPA-specific plan, saying instead that a firm can tailor coverage to its risk profile. 7
Who Underwrites the Policy
TechInsurance's page does not name the issuing insurer for an E&O policy. 3 USI's page names CNA as the underwriter of the AICPA program specifically, though its general Business Services practice, which brokers E&O for other business types, does not name an insurer. 7
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- If you're a CPA firm, ask USI whether the AICPA program or its general Business Services E&O placement applies. 7
- Ask TechInsurance how your industry, limit and claims history move you away from the published $88 monthly median. 3
- Ask USI for actual quoted premiums, since the AICPA program page publishes none. 7
- Ask TechInsurance to name the insurer that would issue your policy, since its page doesn't disclose one. 3
Offering Details
TechInsurance vs USI Insurance Services Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | TechInsurance Errors and Omissions Insurance | AICPA Professional Liability Program (USI Affinity) |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | TechInsurance arranges errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, as a standalone policy for businesses that provide professional services or advice. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page. | For CPA firms, USI runs the AICPA Professional Liability Program through its USI Affinity division as the endorsed producer, rather than underwriting the policy itself. USI's general Business Services practice separately brokers errors and omissions/professional liability coverage for other business types. 7,9Company-reported. AICPA program page and Business Services practice page. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for an E&O policy. 3Not publicly disclosed. Errors and omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI's own page states that the AICPA Professional Liability Program is "underwritten by CNA," naming the carrier for that specific program. USI's general Business Services E&O placements do not name an insurer. 7Company-reported. Direct quote from the AICPA program page; CNA underwrites only this named program, not USI's other professional-liability placements. |
| Who It’s For | TechInsurance targets E&O at businesses that provide professional services or advice, naming IT and software professionals, cybersecurity and SaaS companies, insurance agents, real estate agents, tax preparers and consultants as example segments, and notes it is sometimes required by state law or licensing boards. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage? section. | USI markets the AICPA program to sole practitioners and regional CPA firms. It has offered CPA coverage since 1967 and has been the endorsed AICPA Program provider since 1994. 7Company-reported. Program page description. |
| Coverage Features | TechInsurance says E&O insurance covers professional negligence claims, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation of skill level, and communication-related disputes, and pays legal defense costs and any resulting judgment or settlement. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form. TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, meaning coverage applies only if the policy was active both when the incident occurred and when the claim was filed, and recommends keeping the policy active or setting a retroactive date to cover past work. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, Why is it important to keep your E&O insurance policy active? section. | USI describes the policy as insuring a CPA and their practice against third-party claims that professional services caused financial harm, providing a defense and paying damages for covered claims arising from high-risk situations tied to new clients, changing business plans, or new laws and regulations. 7Company-reported. Program page description; actual insuring agreements, exclusions and conditions are set by the issued CNA policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table. | The AICPA program page does not publish limit, retention or premium figures; it says coverage plans allow a firm to tailor coverage to its risk profile. 7Not publicly disclosed. Page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI says firms enrolled in the program get supportive claims handling and exclusive access to risk-management resources, including engagement-letter templates, in addition to the coverage itself. 7Company-reported. Program page description. |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | USI directs CPA firms seeking a quote or renewal to contact USI Affinity, with a dedicated Affinity_APL@usi.com address for the AICPA program specifically. 7Company-reported. Contact instructions on the AICPA program page. |
| Claims Support | TechInsurance says that if a client threatens to sue, you contact your carrier directly, provide policy information and explain the circumstances, and the insurer's representative helps determine next steps. 3Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, How does E&O insurance coverage work? section. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
Full Comparison
More TechInsurance vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
TechInsurance
- About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance. TechInsurance; What does errors and omissions insurance cover? (professional negligence, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation, communication challenges); How much does E&O insurance cost?; Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage?; How does E&O insurance coverage work? (claims-made). Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; Technology practice client types, seed-to-IPO range, and listed insurance placement lines including PrivaSafe. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Accountants Professional Liability — USI Affinity. USI Insurance Services; Quality Professional Liability Insurance Exclusively for CPA Firms; "The AICPA Professional Liability Program, underwritten by CNA, has been offering coverage to CPAs since 1967 and has been the endorsed provider of the AICPA Program since 1994."; supportive claims handling and exclusive access to extensive risk management resources, including engagement letter templates; Email Affinity_APL@usi.com. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- USI Specialty Program Solutions. USI Insurance Services; USI Affinity delivers high-quality insurance and financial solutions to members of affinity organizations and targeted industry segments...for professional associations, law firms, alumni and collegiate organizations, travel groups, and insurance administrators. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Errors & Omissions/Professional Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





