TechInsurance vs
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is TechInsurance?
TechInsurance fits freelancers and small software, SaaS and IT firms that want to compare several insurers' quotes from one application, with agent help and a tech E&O plus cyber bundle. Growth-stage companies needing a managed renewal program or firm quote deadlines should look at specialist brokers. 1,2,3
Read the TechInsurance profile
Read the TechInsurance Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 5,6
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 8,9,10,11
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Claims-Made Policy and Past Work
TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made: the policy must be active when the incident occurs and when the claim is filed, and it recommends maintaining coverage or setting a retroactive date for earlier work. THREE lists E&O as part of its BOP but does not describe a separate trigger on the public product page. A buyer with prior client work should compare the retroactive date and reporting terms in the actual proposals before switching or letting coverage lapse. 4 7 6
Standalone Quote and Package Category
TechInsurance arranges E&O as a standalone policy for businesses that provide services or advice, including software, SaaS, cybersecurity and consulting firms. THREE presents E&O as a category within the Business Owners Policy and offers an online quote with licensed advisor assistance. That gives the buyer a standalone route to assess against a package option, but the E&O limit and deductible still need to be compared in each quote. 4 7 5
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
- Ask TechInsurance for the retroactive date, current-policy reporting requirement, limit and deductible, since standard figures are not published. 4
- Ask THREE to identify E&O in the BOP quote and state its trigger, limit, deductible and covered technology services. 7 6
- Compare how each proposal treats missed deadlines, incomplete work and alleged misrepresentation. 4 6
Review Scores
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
TechInsurance
Review Score
2 rated sources
TechInsurance’s available ratings are favorable, with praise for broker guidance. The feedback supports its shopping service more than any particular insurer’s claims handling.[4][5]
Read TechInsurance reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsOffering Details
TechInsurance vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | TechInsurance Errors and Omissions Insurance | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | TechInsurance arranges errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, as a standalone policy for businesses that provide professional services or advice. 4Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page. | THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 7Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | The reviewed page does not name the issuing insurer for an E&O policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Errors and omissions product page as read on 2026-09-23. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 6Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | TechInsurance targets E&O at businesses that provide professional services or advice, naming IT and software professionals, cybersecurity and SaaS companies, insurance agents, real estate agents, tax preparers and consultants as example segments, and notes it is sometimes required by state law or licensing boards. 4Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage? section. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 7,5Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | TechInsurance says E&O insurance covers professional negligence claims, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation of skill level, and communication-related disputes, and pays legal defense costs and any resulting judgment or settlement. 4Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page; general policy description, not a specific policy form. TechInsurance says its E&O policies are claims-made, meaning coverage applies only if the policy was active both when the incident occurred and when the claim was filed, and recommends keeping the policy active or setting a retroactive date to cover past work. 4Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, Why is it important to keep your E&O insurance policy active? section. | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 7,6Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | TechInsurance says its E&O policyholders pay a median of $88 per month, or $1,051 a year, with the exact premium depending on location, profession risk level, coverage limits, deductible, employee count, claims history and annual income. 4Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page cost section; a company-reported median from TechInsurance's own book of business, not a published rate table. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 7,6Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 5Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
| Claims Support | TechInsurance says that if a client threatens to sue, you contact your carrier directly, provide policy information and explain the circumstances, and the insurer's representative helps determine next steps. 4Company-reported. Errors and omissions product page, How does E&O insurance coverage work? section. | Confirm in your quote. |
Full Comparison
More TechInsurance vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons
Sources
TechInsurance
- About TechInsurance. TechInsurance; Opening description; one-application process; History of TechInsurance, 2011 and 2022 entries. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Errors and Omissions – Tech E&O Insurance. TechInsurance; Tech E&O insurance includes two policies; quotation form; Technology professionals we insure. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. TechInsurance; FAQs: How does TechInsurance work? (agent assistance obtaining surety bonds); agent or broker role; application; finding quotes; updating address; certificates. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Errors & Omissions (E&O) Insurance. TechInsurance; What does errors and omissions insurance cover? (professional negligence, errors or incomplete work, breach of contract, missed deadlines, misrepresentation, communication challenges); How much does E&O insurance cost?; Who should get errors and omissions insurance coverage?; How does E&O insurance coverage work? (claims-made). Accessed 2026-09-23.
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.





