RiskCube vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance

USI negotiates its own named PrivaSafe form with published limits; RiskCube compares unnamed carriers for a narrower AI-focused buyer list.

What Is RiskCube Insurance?

RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 1,2,3

Read the RiskCube profile

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 5,6,7

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

A Manuscripted Form vs. AI-Assisted Carrier Comparison

USI places cyber coverage through its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, a custom-drafted form it negotiates with the market on behalf of middle-market clients. RiskCube instead runs an AI-agent and licensed-broker process that compares quotes across third-party carriers rather than offering one named proprietary form. 8 4

Published Limits vs. No Published Figures

USI publishes specific PrivaSafe figures: coverage meant to prevent losses up to $10 million, up to $2 million in notification costs in addition to the aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit. RiskCube's page does not publish comparable limit figures, saying only that needed limits depend on enterprise contract requirements, customer data exposure and revenue.

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.

4

Who Each Targets

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms it says have limited in-house access to security expertise. RiskCube instead names a narrow buyer profile: AI and data companies, cloud and DevOps platforms, payment processors, defense startups handling controlled unclassified information, and companies bound by SOC 2 or handling PII/PHI. 8 4

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask USI which insurer would underwrite your PrivaSafe placement, since its page names none; ask RiskCube the same about the carriers it compared. 8 3
  • Compare USI's published $10 million loss-prevention figure and sublimits against the limit RiskCube's brokers recommend for your risk. 8
  • If you build with AI or agentic systems, ask RiskCube whether its affirmative AI coverage applies to your specific model risks. 4
  • Ask whether USI's PrivaSafe pre- and post-breach services overlap with anything RiskCube's brokers would arrange separately. 8

Offering Details

RiskCube vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaRiskCube Cyber InsuranceUSI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program
Role in This Line

RiskCube compares cyber policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 4Company-reported. Cyber product page footer and overall framing of RiskCube's AI agents and licensed brokers comparing carrier options.

USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 8,6Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages.

Issuing Insurer

RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including cyber, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the cyber page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 3,4Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the cyber product page as read on 2026-09-23.

USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found.

Who It’s For

RiskCube targets cyber coverage at AI and data companies, cloud/DevOps platforms, payment processors, defense startups handling controlled unclassified information, and SOC 2-bound or PII/PHI-handling companies. 4Company-reported. Cyber product page "Who needs cyber insurance" section.

USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 8Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement.

Coverage Features

RiskCube describes cyber coverage as combining first-party costs such as breach response, ransomware negotiation, forensics and data or asset recovery, with third-party liability for claims by customers, regulators, vendors or partners. 4Company-reported. Cyber product page "What is Cyber Liability Insurance" and "What's covered" sections.

RiskCube says it places cyber programs with affirmative AI coverage for agentic-AI incidents and training-data or model-security issues, and layers AI-specific wrap coverage on top when primary cyber or Tech E&O policies exclude AI risk. 4Company-reported. Cyber product page "Cyber coverage built for AI and agentic companies" section.

USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form.

Limits and Retentions

RiskCube says needed cyber limits depend on enterprise contract requirements, customer data exposure and revenue, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 4Not publicly disclosed. Cyber product page "How much cyber insurance do startups usually purchase" FAQ.

USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 8Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.

Risk Services

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 8,9Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description.

How to Apply

RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake, then its AI agents and licensed brokers comparing carrier quotes, typically delivering cyber quotes and a vendor-ready certificate of insurance within about 24 hours. 4Company-reported. Cyber product page process steps and "How fast can startups get cyber insurance quotes" FAQ.

To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 8Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description.

Claims Support

The reviewed cyber page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Cyber product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Full Comparison

More RiskCube vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

RiskCube

  1. Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Cyber Insurance for Startups. RiskCube; Who needs cyber insurance; What is Cyber Liability Insurance; What's covered; "Cyber coverage built for AI and agentic companies"; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps. Accessed 2026-09-23.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot