Liberty Mutual vs
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?
Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 1,2
Read the Liberty Mutual profile
Read the Liberty Mutual Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 4,5
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile
Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 7,8,9,10
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
E&O within a package versus a named specialty line
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway lists Errors & Omissions among coverage categories in its combined Business Owners Policy. Its product description does not mean E&O will appear in every applicant’s quote. Liberty Mutual’s directory separately names Physicians & Surgeons Professional and marks it “PL Only.” A small business considering THREE by Berkshire Hathaway should verify the E&O line is scheduled for its risk; a physician should ask the Liberty Mutual administrator for the program’s offered form. 6 3
Quote steps and actual line inclusion
THREE by Berkshire Hathaway directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with that overall process. Liberty Mutual supplies administrator contacts for its physician program. Neither route alone confirms E&O inclusion or eligibility: the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway schedule must show the selected line, while Liberty Mutual’s administrator must identify whether the practice is considered. Compare the policy-specific limits and issuer only after those details appear in the proposals. 4 3
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Liberty Mutual and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Liberty Mutual Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]
Read Liberty Mutual reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsLiberty Mutual vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Compared
Liberty Mutual vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Physicians & Surgeons Professional program | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Liberty Mutual lists a Physicians & Surgeons Professional program, marked “PL Only,” in its specialty-program portfolio. 3Company-reported. Official Liberty Mutual commercial/product page; company-reported description scoped to Physicians & Surgeons Professional program. Not policy wording, underwriting approval, state eligibility or a coverage guarantee. | THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 6Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 5Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | Liberty Mutual says its programs are managed by program administrators; the page provides program inquiry contact details. 3Company-reported. Official Liberty Mutual commercial/product page; company-reported description scoped to Physicians & Surgeons Professional program. Not policy wording, underwriting approval, state eligibility or a coverage guarantee. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 6,4Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | The listing identifies professional liability only; it does not establish form terms, limits, exclusions or insurer for a quote. 3Company-reported. Official Liberty Mutual commercial/product page; company-reported description scoped to Physicians & Surgeons Professional program. Not policy wording, underwriting approval, state eligibility or a coverage guarantee. | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 6,5Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 6,5Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| How to Apply | The cited product page does not establish an online application or policy-binding path; ask the listed team or your broker/agent how this product is placed. 3Not found in reviewed sources. Reviewed product-page scope only. This not-found disposition is not a claim that no digital route exists. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 4Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
Related Pages for Liberty Mutual vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Professional Liability (E&O) Pages for Liberty Mutual and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Other Coverage Lines Compared for Liberty Mutual vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for Liberty Mutual vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Sources About Liberty Mutual
- Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Programs. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; ‘Our programs portfolio’ lists Auto Salvage/Dismantlers, Fire Suppression and Sprinkler Contractors, Nonprofits, Physicians & Surgeons Professional (PL only), Post-surgical for bariatric and plastic surgeries, Roofing Contractors, Scrap Metal Dealers, Self-storage, and Sports and Fitness. Page says programs are managed by program administrators; not a complete business catalogue. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Sources About THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




