HUB International vs WTW: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

HUB says its E&O placements can include prior-acts coverage, a reporting tail and cover for temporary staff and independent contractors. WTW describes professional-liability solutions through FINEX and names E&O for residential real-estate stakeholders. 5,10,9

What Is HUB International?

HUB suits technology businesses seeking a specialist broker—its practice says it insures more than 5,000 technology companies; qualifying small accounts can use Insureon online, while mid-market buyers need an advisor. 1,2,3

Read the HUB International profile

Read the HUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is WTW?

WTW is an insurance broker whose documented services include manufacturing risk-program design and specialist property and cargo programs. Its marketed property scope includes residential real-estate stakeholders and a separate integrated data-center program; other named capabilities vary in date and geography. 6,7,8,9,10

Read the WTW profile

Read the WTW Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 12,13,14,15

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Claims-made structure and continuity

HUB says its E&O policies are typically claims-made, can use a retroactive date for prior acts and can offer tail coverage after the policy ends. WTW's record identifies professional-liability solutions in FINEX and E&O for residential stakeholders, but does not describe a standard reporting structure. If you are changing brokers or carriers, ask HUB how prior work and a reporting extension are handled; ask WTW to identify the trigger, retroactive date and tail in its proposed form. 5 9

Staff performing covered work

HUB says E&O coverage can extend to independent contractors and temporary staff performing work for the business. WTW's cited materials describe the line and its residential segment, not this specific staff extension. If you rely on contractors, ask HUB whether their services and acts fall within the insured definition, and ask WTW to show the applicable wording and any conditions. 5 11

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB for the per-claim and aggregate limits, retroactive date, tail options and treatment of temporary staff and contractors. 5

  • Ask WTW which policy form and insurer apply, and whether contractor work is included in the professional-services definition. 11

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

HUB International

5.6/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.[7][6]

Read HUB International reviews

WTW

8.1/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

WTW has little useful review evidence for a business buyer. Its one counted score is 807 out of 1,000 from a 2017 J.D. Power study of large commercial brokers, and Trustpilot's 2.1 from 9 reviews isn't counted.[4][2]

Read WTW reviews

Offering Details

HUB International vs WTW: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaHUB International Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance BrokerageWTW Professional Errors and Omissions Brokerage
Role in This Line

HUB brokers professional liability, which it also calls errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, rather than underwriting the coverage itself. 4,5Company-reported. Professional liability and E&O product pages as read 2026-09-23; neither names an issuing insurer.

Under WTW's North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms, WTW normally acts as the client's insurance intermediary for engagements governed by those terms. 11Company-reported. Terms for applicable North American Corporate Risk & Broking engagements. WTW also discloses separate insurer-side services in some arrangements; this does not determine the role in a specific engagement.

Issuing Insurer

Neither the professional liability nor the E&O product page names an issuing insurer; HUB places this coverage with insurers that vary by client and placement. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; no carrier is disclosed on either.

The reviewed WTW sources do not identify an issuing insurer for a specific professional errors omissions placement. 11,10,9Not publicly disclosed. This is a gap in the cited marketing, annual-report, and brokerage materials; it does not mean WTW lacks insurer markets. Confirm the carrier on the quote and issued policy.

Who It’s For

HUB names accounting, law, medical, financial-advisory, real estate, architecture and engineering, consulting, and contracting businesses as typical E&O buyers, and separately lists technology among nine industries its E&O practice serves. 4,5Company-reported. Combined professional-liability and E&O industry lists; not a published underwriting appetite by state.

Confirm in your quote.

Coverage Features

HUB says professional liability/E&O policies it arranges can cover defense costs, judgments, settlements and fines from allegations of misrepresentation, breach of professional services, wrongful business practices, misleading advice and conflict of interest, plus libel, slander or lost-profit claims; intentional acts and employment claims are typically excluded. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage description; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says E&O policies are typically claims-made with per-claim and aggregate limits, can be structured with prior-acts coverage back to a retroactive date, and can offer tail coverage for an extended reporting period; coverage can extend to independent contractors and temporary staff performing work for the business. 5Company-reported. E&O product-page structure description; specific limits and retroactive dates are set on the quote and declarations.

WTW's FY2024 annual report describes professional-liability solutions within FINEX; its residential practice lists errors-and-omissions among financial lines for residential real-estate stakeholders. 10,9Company-reported. The report is historical and group-level; the residential E&O reference is segment-specific and based on retained official indexed text. Neither establishes current terms or eligibility outside that segment.

Limits and Retentions

Confirm in your quote.

The reviewed sources do not state a buyer-specific professional errors omissions limit, retention, or deductible. 11,10,9Not publicly disclosed. No limit or deductible is inferred from general marketing or WTW's brokerage role; the insurer's quote and issued forms control.

Risk Services

Confirm in your quote.

WTW's North American terms describe reviewing binders, policies, and endorsements against the terms negotiated with the insurer. 11Company-reported. Broker document-review process under the cited terms, when WTW handles this line's placement. It does not certify that a policy covers a claim or replace the issued wording.

How to Apply

HUB directs prospects to connect with a broker; the pages describe professional liability/E&O policies as customized to business size, industry, location, risk base and desired limits, without an online quote flow. 4,5Company-reported. Product-page call to action and customization description as read 2026-09-23.

WTW's North American terms say an insurer quote is not confirmation of coverage; if the client orders binding, WTW seeks a formal insurer commitment, typically a binder. 11Company-reported. Applies to placements governed by the cited North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms. It does not establish a self-service quote route or promise coverage availability for this line.

Claims Support

HUB's E&O page tells policyholders to notify their broker and carrier as soon as possible after an incident and submit documentation including a narrative of the events leading up to the claim. 5Company-reported. E&O product-page claims-notification guidance; a general process description, not an outcome measurement.

Confirm in your quote.

Full Comparison

More HUB International vs WTW Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; What is professional liability?; Who Needs Professional Liability Insurance Coverage?; How Can You Limit Your Exposure to Professional Liability?; exclusions; Connect With a Broker. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance Coverage. HUB International; Industries served list including accounting, architecture, creative, dental, engineering, financial, medical, media and technology; prior-acts coverage; claims-made structure with per-claim and aggregate limits and tail coverage; claims-notification steps. Accessed 2026-09-23.

WTW

  1. Manufacturing. WTW; “How WTW can help manufacturers”; “How we serve our clients”; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Digital Infrastructure Protector. WTW; Integrated policy coverage for building, operational property, marine and cargo under one policy; integrated data-center construction/operations; cyber and liability protection in broader solution; separate-policy preference caveat; capacity and North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Marine. WTW; “Our solutions” cargo brokerage; marine specialist count; claims advice and average-adjuster service; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Residential | WTW. WTW; “Specialized insurance products”: lists property insurance and financial lines, including errors and omissions; inspected official indexed text 2026-09-29. Direct reader access failed; indexed page crawl was about five months old. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. WTW 2024 Form 10-K. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Willis Towers Watson Public Limited Company; Part I, Item 1, FINEX and Surety business descriptions: the 2024 annual report identifies management and professional liability, employment practices, crime, cyber and M&A insurance solutions, and a global bond-placement team; indexed passages rechecked 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Corporate Risk & Broking Brokerage Terms, Conditions & Disclosures (Canada & US). WTW; Document dated 2025-06-01; pp. 4–6: broker/intermediary role, quote versus binding process, review of binders/policies/endorsements, claims reporting and affiliate disclosures. Reused from the current WTW provider source record after direct PDF retrieval was blocked. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot