HUB International vs RiskCube D&O Insurance

HUB’s ProEx D&O path is a broker conversation; RiskCube uses a short digital intake and checks AI-company policies for AI exclusions.

What Is HUB International?

HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3

Read the HUB International profile

What Is RiskCube Insurance?

RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 6,7,8

Read the RiskCube profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

How You Start a Placement

HUB’s D&O page sends you to connect with a broker rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4 RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake on fundraising, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says licensed brokers and AI agents compare carrier quotes, typically within one to two business days. 9

Buyer Focus

HUB markets D&O brokerage to private companies, nonprofits and public companies. 4 RiskCube targets startups raising institutional funding or adding board members, and regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors often require D&O as a closing condition. 9

Exclusions and Claims Help

RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions (intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit) and says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding. 9 HUB’s reviewed pages do not publish a comparable exclusion list or AI-wording check; they do name a Claims & Legal Risks Group for ProEx coverages including D&O. 5 RiskCube’s reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team. 9 Both say they are not the underwriter. 4 8

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask RiskCube for the AI-exclusion and insured-versus-insured wording if you are an AI or dual-use company. 9
  • Ask HUB how ProEx claims attorneys would be involved before a claim is filed. 5
  • Confirm quote turnaround and what documents you must provide for HUB versus RiskCube’s stated intake. 4 9
  • Get the issuing carrier, limits and retentions from both; neither page publishes those figures. 4 9

Offering Details

HUB International vs RiskCube D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaHUB International Directors and Officers Insurance BrokerageRiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

HUB brokers D&O liability coverage for private, nonprofit and public-company clients as part of its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice, rather than underwriting the policy itself. 4,5Company-reported. D&O product page and ProEx coverage list, read 2026-09-23. Neither page names an issuing insurer.

RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 9Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product.

Issuing Insurer

The D&O product page and the ProEx coverage list do not name an issuing insurer for D&O policies; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with insurers it calls top-rated carriers, without naming them. 4,5Not found in reviewed sources. Checked both pages on 2026-09-23; the carrier for a specific D&O placement depends on the quote.

RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 8,9Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

HUB markets D&O brokerage to three segments: private companies with customer and supplier relationships, nonprofits with advisory boards or committees, and public companies with shareholders. 4Company-reported. D&O product page target-market description; not an underwriting appetite statement.

RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 9Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section.

Coverage Features

HUB describes D&O coverage it arranges as addressing three areas: personal asset protection for monetary judgments and settlements from an alleged breach of duty, loyalty or care; defense in civil, criminal, judicial, administrative, regulatory or arbitration proceedings; and workplace and employment protection for breach-of-fiduciary-duty and employment-related suits. 4Company-reported. Product-page marketing description; the issued policy's insuring agreements, conditions and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB says D&O claims it sees can come from regulators, donors, clients or customers, suppliers, competitors, employees, shareholders and creditors. 4Company-reported. Product-page list of potential claim sources; not a guarantee of coverage for any specific claimant.

RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 9Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation.

RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 9Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section.

Limits and Retentions

Published D&O policy limits or retentions were not found on the reviewed pages. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Checked the D&O product page and ProEx page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations.

RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 9Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ.

Risk Services

HUB says its ProEx practice, which lists D&O among its Executive Liability coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes, led by a named ProEx practice leader. 5Company-reported. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single D&O engagement.

RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 9Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ.

How to Apply

HUB directs D&O prospects to "Connect With a Broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. D&O product page call to action.

RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 9Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ.

Claims Support

HUB describes a Claims & Legal Risks Group, staffed by attorneys who specialize in ProEx coverages including D&O, that provides management-liability claims support from pre-claim policy-wording review through claim recovery. 5Company-reported. ProEx page claims and legal support section.

The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 9Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Full Comparison

More HUB International vs RiskCube Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance Broker. HUB International; Target segments: private companies, nonprofit organizations, public companies; Personal Asset Protection, Claims Protection, Workplace & Employment Protection; list of potential claimants; 2016 private-company D&O claim statistic; Connect With a Broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. HUB ProEx. HUB International; ProEx Coverages list including Directors & Officers Liability (D&O) and Side-A Only Excess D&O under Executive Liability; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement. Accessed 2026-09-23.

RiskCube

  1. Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot