HUB International vs
ERGO NEXT Insurance General Liability Insurance
ERGO NEXT names an insurer and publishes illustrative limits for general liability, while HUB brokers the line without naming a carrier or limits.
What Is HUB International?
HUB International is a North American insurance brokerage that arranges business insurance, employee benefits and related risk services through local offices and specialist practices. Smaller commercial accounts may be sent to Insureon for an online quote; other programs are handled by HUB advisors, with policy terms set by the insurers they use. 1,2,3
What Is ERGO NEXT Insurance?
ERGO NEXT Insurance is the current brand for Next Insurance and its subsidiaries, a Munich Re-owned group that offers small-business insurance online, through agents and with partners. Its agencies may place coverage with an affiliated insurer or other carriers, so buyers need to identify the legal entities on each quote. 5,6,7
What Is General Liability Insurance?
General liability covers claims that your business injured someone, damaged their property or committed a specified personal or advertising offense. It does not insure your own building or equipment. 10,11
Key Differences in General Liability Insurance
Underwriting the Policy or Placing It
A general liability specimen ERGO NEXT posted names State National Insurance Company, Inc. as the insurer on one illustrative policy, giving a concrete look at who stands behind its coverage even though the specimen covers one state and business class. 9 HUB's general liability page names no insurer at all, consistent with its role placing coverage with insurers that vary by client. 4
Getting a Quote Online or Contacting a Broker
ERGO NEXT describes a roughly 10-minute online questionnaire that lets a buyer customize limits and deductibles and purchase coverage online, effective after payment. 8 HUB's page instead directs prospects to contact a HUB broker, without describing a self-serve online quote or purchase flow. 4
What Limit Numbers Look Like in Public
ERGO NEXT's posted specimen shows illustrative limits of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 general aggregate, with smaller sublimits for damage to rented premises and medical expense. 9 HUB's page names no comparable limit figures for general liability.
Published per-occurrence or aggregate limits, deductibles or retentions for HUB-placed general liability policies were not found on the product page. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the general liability product page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations, not the marketing page.
What to Confirm in General Liability Insurance Quotes
- Ask ERGO NEXT whether the specimen's insurer and limits reflect your own state and business class, since the posted example covers one Texas restaurant illustration. 9
- Ask HUB which insurer and limits it can actually offer, since its page discloses neither. 4
- Confirm what risk-control services, if any, come with a HUB-brokered policy versus ERGO NEXT's online policy. 4
- Ask ERGO NEXT how its listed exclusions, such as vehicle accidents and cyberattacks, affect your specific operations. 8
Offering Details
HUB International vs ERGO NEXT Insurance General Liability Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | HUB International General Liability Insurance Brokerage | ERGO NEXT General Liability Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | HUB brokers commercial general liability coverage rather than underwriting it itself, placing the policy with an insurer on the client's behalf. 4Company-reported. General liability product page as read on 2026-09-23; the page does not name an issuing insurer. | ERGO NEXT sells general liability as a standalone online policy for small businesses, separate from its bundled business owner's policy. 8Company-reported. General liability product page; does not describe every distribution channel ERGO NEXT uses for this line. |
| Issuing Insurer | The general liability product page does not name an issuing insurer; HUB places general liability business with insurers that vary by client and placement. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the general liability product page on 2026-09-23; no carrier is disclosed there. | The general liability product page does not name an issuing insurer. A posted Texas general-liability specimen names State National Insurance Company, Inc. as insurer, but it is a 2020-form illustrative specimen for one state and class, not evidence of the insurer on a new applicant's policy. 8,9Verified. Product page checked 2026-09-23; specimen form NXT-0337 BM GL 0619 in the declarations packet dated 2020. |
| Who It’s For | Not described in the reviewed sources. | ERGO NEXT targets general liability at brick-and-mortar shops and offices, businesses visited by customers or vendors, contractors who work at other people's property, and businesses that bid on contract jobs or need a license or permit. 8Company-reported. Product page eligibility framing; specific underwriting appetite by profession and state is not published on this page. |
| Coverage Features | HUB says general liability policies it arranges typically respond to bodily injury to customers, employees, vendors or visitors on the client's premises, personal injury from an employee's negligence or actions, property damage caused by employees, and advertising injury such as slander or false advertising claims. 4Company-reported. Product-page description of typical coverage scenarios; the issued policy and its exclusions control what a specific claim triggers. | ERGO NEXT says its general liability policies can cover slip-and-fall injuries to non-employees, damage to property the business does not own, legal defense costs, non-employee medical payments, and libel, slander or advertising-injury lawsuits. 8Company-reported. Product page coverage list; the issued policy and its exclusions control an actual claim. ERGO NEXT lists the policy as excluding damage to the business owner's own property, employee injuries (covered by workers' compensation instead), professional errors, vehicle accidents and cyber attacks; those need separate policies or add-ons. 8Company-reported. Product page exclusions summary. |
| Limits and Retentions | Published per-occurrence or aggregate limits, deductibles or retentions for HUB-placed general liability policies were not found on the product page. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the general liability product page on 2026-09-23; limits are set on the quote and declarations, not the marketing page. | A posted Texas restaurant specimen shows illustrative limits of $1,000,000 per occurrence and $2,000,000 general aggregate, with a $100,000 damage-to-rented-premises limit and a $15,000 medical-expense limit. Actual limits are set by the quote and declarations for each business. 9Verified. One specimen for one state and class of business; not a published rate or limit table for all applicants. |
| Risk Services | The general liability product page does not describe line-specific risk-control or safety services; it only lists related products such as business interruption, D&O, EPL and workers' compensation insurance. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the general liability product page on 2026-09-23. | Not described in the reviewed sources. |
| How to Apply | HUB says the amount of general liability coverage a business needs depends on factors such as the type of business and its location, and directs prospects to contact a HUB broker to get started. 4Company-reported. Product-page copy; no online quote or bind flow is described. | ERGO NEXT says a buyer answers a roughly 10-minute questionnaire, customizes coverage limits and deductibles, then buys the policy online with coverage effective after payment. 8Company-reported. Product page quote flow description; the underlying terms still require carrier approval before binding. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | ERGO NEXT says policyholders can file a general liability claim through their online account or the ERGO NEXT app at any time. 8Company-reported. Product page claims description; no independent claims-handling outcome is established. |
Full Comparison
More HUB International vs ERGO NEXT Insurance Comparisons
Other General Liability Insurance Comparisons
Sources
HUB International
- About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- General Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; What's typically covered: bodily injuries, personal injuries, property damage, advertising injury; coverage-amount factors; related coverage links; Contact a HUB broker call to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.
ERGO NEXT Insurance
- NEXT Insurance Rebrands as ERGO NEXT Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; January 15, 2026 announcement; About ERGO NEXT Insurance; former name and relationship to ERGO and Munich Re. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Acquisitions and Divestments. Munich Re; 2025 transactions: full acquisition of NEXT Insurance completed July 1, 2025 and stake increased to 100%. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms of Service. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Last revised June 29, 2026; §§1, 5–7, 11, 13, 15, 18 and 23 (entities, limited availability, electronic documents, agents and carriers, underwriting, fees, payment and cancellation). Accessed 2026-09-15.
- General Liability Insurance. ERGO NEXT Insurance; What is General Liability insurance?; What can General Liability insurance cover?; exclusions list; Get a quote three-step process; pricing note. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- General Liability Policy Specimen. ERGO NEXT Insurance; Common Policy Declarations naming State National Insurance Company, Inc. as insurer and Next First Insurance Agency, Inc. as the contact for complaints; Limits Of Insurance section: Each Occurrence $1,000,000, General Aggregate $2,000,000, Products/Completed Operations Aggregate $2,000,000, Damage to Premises Rented to You $100,000, Medical Expense $15,000, Personal & Advertising Injury $1,000,000; form NXT-0337 BM GL 0619. Accessed 2026-09-23.
General Liability Insurance Guide
- Commercial general liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Coverage A; Coverage B; Coverage C; Purchasing commercial general liability insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Commercial General Liability; Commercial Automobile; What Should I Expect from a Broker-Agent?; How Are Commercial Policies Rated? Accessed 2026-09-16.





