HUB International vs Liberty Mutual: How Do They Compare for Fiduciary Liability Insurance?

HUB International’s record describes a specialist brokerage versus insurer package; Liberty Mutual’s reviewed offering gives a distinct route or detail. Check both quoted forms for your business. 4,7

What Is HUB International?

HUB suits technology businesses seeking a specialist broker—its practice says it insures more than 5,000 technology companies; qualifying small accounts can use Insureon online, while mid-market buyers need an advisor. 1,2,3

Read the HUB International profile

Read the HUB International Fiduciary Liability Insurance page

What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?

Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 5,6

Read the Liberty Mutual profile

Read the Liberty Mutual Fiduciary Liability Insurance page

What Is Fiduciary Liability Insurance?

Fiduciary liability can protect your company and plan fiduciaries when participants claim mishandling of an employee benefit plan. If you sponsor a retirement or health plan, check who is insured and whether both administration errors and fiduciary-breach claims are addressed. 8,9,10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Fiduciary Liability Insurance

Specialist brokerage versus insurer package

HUB brokers fiduciary liability for employers with health or retirement plans and lists detailed claim scenarios, including benefit denials, administration errors, and poor investment selection. Liberty Mutual includes the line in ProShield, one combined management-liability package. Buyers should compare HUB’s plan-specific placement with the package terms and shared limits. 4 7

Separate fiduciary exposure and limits

HUB says D&O does not cover fiduciary liability, while Liberty Mutual presents fiduciary as one part of ProShield alongside management-liability coverages. Buyers need to see whether the fiduciary line has its own limit or shares an aggregate and whether any D&O coordination language applies. 4 7

What to Confirm in Fiduciary Liability Insurance Quotes

  • Ask HUB for carrier, retention, and coverage for DOL claims; ask Liberty Mutual for the separate fiduciary limit, shared aggregate, and D&O coordination wording. 4 7

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

HUB International

5.6/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers who reviewed HUB on BBB rate it 1 out of 5, but that is only 7 reviews for a very large broker. BBB's own business grade is A-.[7][6]

Read HUB International reviews

Liberty Mutual

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

Offering Details

HUB International vs Liberty Mutual: Fiduciary Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaHUB International Fiduciary Liability Insurance BrokerageLiberty Mutual ProShield Fiduciary Liability
Role in This Line

HUB brokers fiduciary liability insurance for employers that sponsor health-care and retirement benefit plans, rather than underwriting the coverage itself. 4Company-reported. Fiduciary liability product page, read 2026-09-23. The page does not name an issuing insurer.

Liberty Mutual includes fiduciary liability in its ProShield management-liability package. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Issuing Insurer

No insurer is named for fiduciary liability on the product page; the carrier depends on the placement. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Checked the fiduciary liability product page on 2026-09-23.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

HUB targets fiduciary liability brokerage at employers offering health-care or retirement benefit plans who face potential litigation from plan participants, the Department of Labor or the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation. 4Company-reported. Product-page target-audience description; not a published underwriting appetite.

The source scopes ProShield to private and not-for-profit organizations; it does not establish eligibility for a particular plan or sponsor. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Coverage Features

HUB lists fiduciary liability claim scenarios it covers as including a plan's insurer, mutual fund or third-party administrator making bad choices, plan administration errors or conflicts of interest, benefits denial, changes or reductions, bad advice or improper counsel, insufficient plan funding, poor investment selection and incorrect plan termination. 4Company-reported. Product-page list of covered claim scenarios; the issued policy's insuring agreement and exclusions control an actual claim.

HUB states that fiduciary liability exposure "is not covered by director's and officers' liability policies," positioning fiduciary liability as a separate line from D&O rather than a bundled coverage. 4Company-reported. Product-page statement distinguishing fiduciary liability from D&O.

The page describes protection for fiduciaries, benefit plans and sponsors against fiduciary-duty exposures and lists selected defense-cost and compliance features; the policy form determines terms. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Limits and Retentions

The product page does not publish specific policy limits or retentions; it references that combined defense and settlement costs on fiduciary claims can exceed $1 million as a risk statistic, not a policy limit. 4Not publicly disclosed. Checked the fiduciary liability product page on 2026-09-23; the $1 million figure describes potential exposure, not an offered limit.

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 7Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

Risk Services

HUB publishes a video on preventing fiduciary liability claims and administrative-error best practices on the product page, but the page does not describe a formal fiduciary risk-management or plan-review service. 4Company-reported. Product-page educational video reference.

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

How to Apply

HUB directs fiduciary liability prospects to "Connect With a Broker" or "Contact a HUB broker" rather than an online quote or bind flow. 4Company-reported. Product-page calls to action.

Confirm in your quote.

Full Comparison

More HUB International vs Liberty Mutual Comparisons

Other Fiduciary Liability Insurance Comparisons

Sources

HUB International

  1. About Us. HUB International; Opening description; 1998 formation of HUB International Limited; 2022 Insureon acquisition; headquarters and employee/office counts. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Contact Us. HUB International; Business Solutions paths for Commercial Insurance Solutions versus Small Commercial Insurance Solutions via Insureon; office search. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Insurance for Technology Companies. HUB International; Technology Company Insurance & Risk Management: startup, software, hardware and digital-media introduction; Business Coverage and People Protection lists; technology-client count. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Fiduciary Liability Insurance Brokers. HUB International; Target audience: employers offering health-care and retirement benefit plans; list of covered claim scenarios; statement distinguishing fiduciary liability from D&O; $1 million defense-and-settlement-cost reference; "Prevent Fiduciary Liability Claims" video; Connect With a Broker / Contact a HUB broker calls to action. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Liberty Mutual

  1. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Fiduciary Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2008-04: Guidance Regarding ERISA Fidelity Bonding Requirements. U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration; Q2 pp.2–3. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Fiduciary Liability. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; II.D,J–L pp.2–3; II.A p.1; II.V p.5; Header p.1; II.M p.3; I p.1; III.A.6–8 pp.5–6; II.M.2 p.3; III.B.1 p.6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Fiduciary Liability Insurance. Travelers; What Is Fiduciary Liability Insurance? Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot