| Business role | You can buy Hiscox’s core small-business policies online, and Hiscox’s own insurance company usually issues them rather than a partner. Hiscox Inc. is the producer; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. is the affiliated insurer named for Hiscox NOW products. 5,4Company-reportedLegal roles stated in current terms (last modified May 28, 2024) and the About Hiscox US page. Exact contracting entity still depends on product, channel and policy. California buyers should verify current producer authority: Hiscox Inc. says it does business as Hiscox Insurance Agency and lists license 0F09668, a company disclosure not independently checked. 6,23,11,5Company-reportedCalifornia producer identity as published on Hiscox pages accessed 16 September 2026. Not a substitute for a live CDI Check a License search at purchase. | Marsh’s US compensation guide states that, as an insurance broker, Marsh’s role is to facilitate placement of insurance coverage on behalf of clients. The transparency page describes determining appropriate insurers and negotiating with those insurers. Marsh is not identified in these sources as the insurer that issues or pays the policy. 47,46,31Company-reportedUS client-compensation and transparency disclosures. Affinity/Amazon administrator language is a separate program role and is not treated as the default retail relationship. Current Marsh materials use more than one US legal name. The compensation guide (copyright 2024, Marsh LLC) refers to Marsh LLC and Marsh USA LLC entering client agreements. The transparency page instead names Marsh LLC and Marsh USA Inc. Marsh McLennan Agency is described as a wholly owned Marsh subsidiary. A 2006 California decision caption used MARSH USA, INC., dba MARSH RISK AND INSURANCE SERVICES, license 0437153. Confirm the exact contracting producer on the proposal and license documents; current California license status remains unverified. 47,46,48,49,30,60Conflicting sourcesUnresolved Inc. versus LLC naming. Affinity’s Marsh USA LLC license table is company-reported as of 8 March 2024 and is not a CDI live lookup. Brand unification in January 2026 is described as a brand change, not a change in business structure. |
|---|
| Coverage lines | Hiscox directly markets and offers online quotes for general liability, professional liability (errors and omissions), cyber security insurance and a business owner’s policy that combines general liability with commercial property. IT pages present those same lines for technology consultants rather than a separately named technology E&O policy. Website examples and coverage lists are illustrative; the issued policy controls. 16,7,8,9,10,2Company-reportedCurrent Hiscox small-business product and quote pages. Names establish marketed Hiscox NOW-style products, not limits, retroactive dates, exclusions or class eligibility. Hired/non-owned auto and commercial crime are described as upgrades to a Hiscox business owner’s policy, not standalone Hiscox policies. Crime is not sold separately and is not available in all states. HNOA is tied to the BOP occurrence limit and does not replace commercial auto for vehicles the business owns or regularly operates. 20,21,10Company-reportedCurrent HNOA and commercial-crime product pages. Availability by state and class was not independently matrixed beyond those pages and the 2026 appetite guide. Hiscox describes partner routes for workers’ compensation through Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble/Markel. Its other-insurance page directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. Confirm the current commercial-auto route and issuing insurer on the quote. These partner access paths do not establish that Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. issues the policy. 11,28,13,14,29,26Company-reportedProduct-specific partner access. Broker-channel Hiscox C-Suite management liability is separate from the other-insurance referral route. | Marsh’s Cyber Insurance practice markets brokerage of cyber policies and related analytics products. Marsh McLennan Agency’s cyber page lists solution areas such as cybercrime, extortion and ransomware, media liability, network interruption and privacy regulatory defense costs. The Technology Practice’s data-center service describes programs that can include property damage, equipment breakdown, business interruption, cyber, general liability and surety for power and interconnection obligations. Stratus is marketed as an operational property exchange for digital infrastructure with potential access to up to $10 billion of property capacity on a single placement; at launch it is focused on property, with inland marine, cyber and casualty described as possible later lines. These are marketed capabilities, not a standard startup package or guaranteed limits. 37,53,33,34,32Company-reportedDirect practice and product pages. Technology-page FAQs about software BOP, fidelity or commercial auto were not used as offering proof. Stratus capacity is company-stated potential access, not a bound limit for a named insured. Marsh’s Directors and Officers page offers D&O program design for public, private and non-profit companies. Its Employment Practices page offers EPLI, including endorsements described for firms with more than 4,000 employees and for midsize firms with 250 to 4,000 employees. Its Professional Liability page offers E&O risk-transfer design, including for technology businesses. MMA’s executive and professional liability practice lists D&O, E&O, EPL, commercial crime/fidelity, cyber, fiduciary, media, intellectual property and kidnap-and-ransom among policies it places. Endorsement headcount bands and product labels do not establish that a particular Bay Area company qualifies or that wording is equivalent across insurers. 40,41,42,54,43Company-reportedDirect Marsh F&PL expertise pages and MMA executive catalogue. Fiduciary, crime, media, IP and K&R are listed on MMA’s practice page; they were not each confirmed on a separate Marsh.com expertise URL. MMA’s business-insurance hub links casualty, property, surety, cyber, executive and professional liability, international placements, captives and small-business programs. Its property page covers commercial property and builders’ risk. Its casualty page includes workers’ compensation. MMA and Marsh sites also market employee health and benefits consulting and placement. MMA’s compensation-guide landing page exists for 2026 but the PDF body was not fully extracted here. 52,55,56,57,58,47Company-reportedMMA solution pages. Texas-office lists and business-insurance FAQ examples were not used as nationwide catalogue proof. Small-business marketing does not establish an online instant-issue product. |
|---|
| Application process | Eligible small businesses can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and BOP online by entering a ZIP code and answering questions; Hiscox says policy documents and certificates follow issuance by email. Confirm eligibility and effective date before relying on coverage. 16,7,1Company-reportedPublic quote-page and product-FAQ statements accessed 16 September 2026. Instant-coverage marketing is not a tested bind. Partner products use separate quote sites. | The public Marsh path to speak with a broker is an inquiry, not an online bind. Contact pages ask you to choose an inquiry type, including a sales or RFP route. The business-inquiry page says to complete a form and that a representative will respond within 48 hours; it points existing-policy certificate, billing and policy questions elsewhere. The inquiry page does not display premiums or bind coverage. The 48-hour response time is a company statement, not a binding or service guarantee. 44,45,50Company-reportedInspected public contact-select and business-form pages on 16 September 2026 without submitting information. MMA has a separate contact page. Inquiry is not a completed insurance application. Marsh describes a broker-led placement: identifying insurers for the risk, negotiating coverage and price, and, in core US broking segments, disclosing quotes and premium indications received. It may share incumbent or competing insurer names, pricing objectives, expiring terms, or give an insurer a last look when it believes that is in the client’s interest or the client instructs it. Those market practices are disclosure statements, not a guaranteed outcome or turnaround. 47,46Company-reportedCompensation guide transparency pledges and market-activity list. Not observed live placements. |
|---|
| Access to insurers | Hiscox NOW appetite and About Hiscox US say admitted small-business products described there are underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., a Chicago-based insurer licensed in all 50 states and D.C. The California Department of Insurance independently identifies that company as an Illinois-domiciled property-and-casualty insurer, NAIC 10200, California Company ID 1439-9, authorized in California since 14 September 1953 with unlimited-normal status. Hiscox’s California marketing page also cites Illinois license number 8754, which is not the CDI company ID; reconcile names and numbers on the quote. 24,25,4,23,6VerifiedAdmitted Hiscox NOW GL, professional liability, cyber and BOP as described in 2026 appetite and About pages, plus CDI/Illinois regulator records for the named insurer. Regulator authorization is not proof that a given class is written in California today. Hiscox describes several separate partner routes: workers’ compensation underwritten by Hartford Fire Insurance Company, medical malpractice through unaffiliated NOW Insurance, and short-term liability through Thimble with Markel Insurance Company. Its other-insurance page currently directs buyers to Tivly for umbrella, employment practices liability, commercial property and inland marine. The reviewed commercial-auto destination does not identify the previously named referral partner. Confirm the current route and issuing insurer on the quote; do not assume the issuer is Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. 11,28,13,14,29Company-reportedProduct-specific partner routes in the retained September 29 review. The current reviewed commercial-auto destination does not establish a referral partner; confirm the quote route and issuer. Hiscox Inc. says it is an approved Lloyd’s coverholder and underwrites surplus-lines business on behalf of Lloyd’s Syndicates 33 and 3624, with U.S. surplus-lines placements made by licensed surplus-lines brokers. Terms also say Hiscox Inc. may place admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates. That surplus-lines route is described as distinct from the online small-business catalogue. 4,5Company-reportedCompany disclosures on About Hiscox US and website terms. This does not establish that a California online small-business quote uses Lloyd’s paper. | Marsh and MMA describe access to multiple insurers rather than a single issuing carrier for all business. MMA says it works with a wide variety of carriers. Stratus is a prior-submit exchange in which participating insurers evaluate each risk individually; the page does not name those insurers. Marsh’s compensation and transparency pages say Marsh or affiliates may receive insurer consulting compensation and may own equity interests in certain insurers or reinsurers, with a list on the transparency site. Victor, an affiliated MGU and wholesale broker, is described as accessing markets retail Marsh US cannot offer directly; that path is described for some programs and is not assumed for every placement. Ask for the issuing insurer, surplus-lines status and proposed forms on the quote. 52,34,46,47,48Not publicly disclosedNo verified carrier panel, ratings or admitted-status schedule. Amazon/Affinity producer language is program-specific. |
|---|
| Availability | Hiscox says it is currently licensed to offer small-business insurance in 49 states and the District of Columbia, and that coverage is currently unavailable in Alaska. General liability and professional liability FAQs repeat the Alaska exclusion and say specialist brokers may be able to help if Hiscox does not sell online in an area. The 2026 Hiscox NOW appetite guide further says business owner’s policy is unavailable in Alaska, Florida, Kansas, Ohio, Rhode Island, Washington and West Virginia. Coverage remains subject to underwriting and class. 1,7,8,23,6Company-reportedCompany-stated jurisdiction for the online/admitted small-business catalogue as of 16 September 2026. A 49-state license statement is not a product-by-profession matrix. California is included in the marketed 49-state set and has a dedicated Hiscox California page; that still does not bind a specific class. A Los Angeles office on the contact page does not establish California product eligibility. Broker-facing Hiscox C-Suite materials say Hiscox is no longer entertaining management-liability risks in the metro areas of California. Appetite tables also mark many contractor professional-liability classes as not available in California. Confirm state, class and channel on the actual quote. 22,26,23Company-reportedContact-page office list, C-Suite broker page and July 2026 appetite class notes. C-Suite restriction applies to that broker management-liability product, not automatically to online GL/PL/cyber/BOP. | Marsh markets services in 130 countries. MMA is described as serving middle-market companies in the United States and Canada. Reviewed pages do not publish a product-by-state eligibility schedule, admitted versus surplus-lines map, or a California-only startup program. A California office mention, if any, would not by itself establish that a given policy can be issued to a California company. Confirm licensed producer, surplus-lines broker if used, and product availability for the insured’s locations. 30,51,49,35,32Not publicly disclosedNo independently verified 50-state appointment list. Fintech page examples are UK-weighted and are not treated as a California product route. Marsh Affinity’s licensing page lists Marsh USA LLC property-and-casualty licenses as of 8 March 2024, including California license 437153. A 2006 California Insurance Commissioner decision used license 0437153 for Marsh USA, Inc. dba Marsh Risk and Insurance Services. Present-day California authority remains unverified against a current regulator license record. A license number is not a determination that a specific coverage is available in California. 48,60,61Not found in reviewed sourcesCompany-reported table plus historical CDI caption. CDI lookup not completed past public search landing. No invented active/inactive status. |
|---|