Hiscox vs
Insureon: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?
What Is Hiscox?
Hiscox suits eligible small businesses that want online GL, professional liability, cyber or BOP quotes; businesses needing other specialty products should compare brokers. Core Hiscox NOW policies are usually issued by its own insurer, while some products use partners. 1,2,3
What is Insureon?
Insureon describes a small-business insurance agency and broker route with online quote entry and agent support. Its pages market several coverage types, but do not establish which insurer, policy form, state availability, or eligibility applies to a particular buyer. 7,8
Read the Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page
What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?
Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 10,11,12,13
Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Online Sale and State Reach
Hiscox’s Hiscox NOW route allows eligible small businesses to quote and buy professional liability online, and the reviewed guide lists sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska. Insureon also offers an online quote request, but its public page leaves the eligible profession and carrier appetite to the application. Buyers in Alaska or firms with specialized services should ask whether either route can place the risk before treating the online form as coverage access. 4 9
Claims-Made Trigger and Insurer
Hiscox names Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. as the insurer for admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies and describes coverage as claims-made: the claim must be made, and typically reported, while the policy is active. Insureon’s overview describes client claims over alleged mistakes or unsatisfactory professional work but does not identify an insurer or state the policy trigger. Ask Insureon for the carrier and form, then compare both retroactive dates and reporting conditions. 3 4 9
Adviser and Claims Access
Hiscox provides phone advisors during posted hours and a 24/7 claims line for current professional-liability customers. Insureon’s reviewed page does not specify comparable advisor or claims hours. Confirm whom you contact to bind coverage and report a claim under the actual policy. 5 9
What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes
Hiscox and Insureon Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Hiscox Review Score
Review Score
4 rated sources
Hiscox’s review results are sharply divided: low Trustpilot and ConsumerAffairs scores contrast with strong Feefo feedback. Service quality deserves closer scrutiny before purchase.[1][4][5][6][7]
Read Hiscox reviewsInsureon Review Score
Review Score
4 rated sources
Insureon's ratings are split. Trustpilot shows 4.5 out of 5 from 2,401 reviews, while ConsumerAffairs shows 1.0 from 344.[1][2]
Read Insureon reviewsHiscox vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Compared
Hiscox vs Insureon: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Hiscox Professional Liability Insurance | Insureon Professional Liability / E&O Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 3,4Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel. | Insureon markets Professional Liability, also called Errors & Omissions, through its small-business quote channel. 9Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Issuing Insurer | Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 6,3Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 4,6Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant. | The page addresses service businesses exposed to client claims; the eligible professions and carrier appetite depend on the application and quote. 9Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Coverage Features | Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 5Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy. | The page describes client claims over alleged mistakes or unsatisfactory professional work; it does not establish policy-specific retroactive dates, exclusions or limits. 9Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Limits and Retentions | The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 4,5Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed. | The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 9Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered. |
| How to Apply | Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 4Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application. | The cited Insureon product page provides an online quote request path; that route does not identify the insurer or guarantee that a quote will be offered or bound. 9Company-reported. Insureon’s public marketing page and quote route documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Claims Support | A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 5Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time. | Confirm in your quote. |
Related Pages for Hiscox vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O)
Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Pages for Hiscox and Insureon
Other Coverage Lines Compared for Hiscox vs Insureon
Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for Hiscox vs Insureon Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance
Sources About Hiscox
- Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Sources About Insureon
- How Insureon Works. Insureon; Agent/broker and carrier roles (L82-88); application and advertised quote/payment route (L89-97); human support (L98-101). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- General Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Coverage/product overview; illustrative third-party claims; quote CTA. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Professional Liability Insurance - Get Online Quotes. Insureon; Product definition L67-L89; quote CTA and target users on page. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Sources for the Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide
- FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.




