What Is Gallagher?
Gallagher’s technology specialists serve startups through global enterprises, while its executive-risk team supports IPO and M&A needs; small firms seeking one simple digital quote should compare online agencies. 1,2,3,4,5
THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes
THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 6,7
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 9,10,11
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Gallagher Discusses D&O Across a Public-Listing Transition
Gallagher describes bundling D&O before and after an IPO for SPAC and IPO work, alongside related lines and risk-management and claims support. Its claim is about the group-level Executive and Financial Risk practice and those transaction contexts. THREE's D&O claim is a marketed BOP category; that scope does not establish whether the line will appear in a particular quote. A company preparing to list can ask Gallagher how its D&O program changes across the transaction, while a THREE applicant should first confirm that D&O is offered. 3 8
Gallagher Names Claimant Groups Its D&O Team Addresses
Gallagher says its D&O team works on policies addressing lawsuits from shareholders, employees, competitors, suppliers, and government bodies, and can evaluate an existing D&O program against the market. This is a description of its brokerage practice, not a promise that a specific form covers each allegation. THREE lists D&O among its BOP categories, but the listing alone does not establish how a particular policy responds. For a like-for-like review, ask Gallagher which form addresses the company's likely claimants and ask THREE for the proposed D&O wording and exclusions before treating the category as coverage. 3 8
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
Gallagher and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Gallagher Review Score
Review Score
3 rated sources
Gallagher has strong Trustpilot feedback and a favorable historical large-commercial survey result. Neither directly measures today’s US small-business service.[2][4][6]
Read Gallagher reviewsTHREE by Berkshire Hathaway Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]
Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviewsGallagher vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance Compared
Gallagher vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Gallagher Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | THREE Business Owners Policy |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Gallagher's Executive and Financial Risk practice places D&O liability insurance and advises on program design; it does not underwrite the policy, which is issued by a carrier selected during placement. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. | THREE presents Directors and Officers as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 8Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant. |
| Issuing Insurer | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's D&O policy; it says Gallagher weighs carrier qualifications and performance data alongside a client's own insurer history and preferences when deciding which carriers to approach. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. | The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 7Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy. |
| Who It’s For | Gallagher specifically markets D&O placement and advisory support to special-purpose acquisition companies (SPACs) around their IPO and de-SPAC process, and to companies going public through an IPO or direct listing. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC and IPO subsections. | The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Directors and Officers; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 8,6Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms. |
| Coverage Features | Gallagher says its D&O team constructs policies addressing lawsuits from shareholders, employees, competitors, suppliers and government bodies, and can evaluate an existing D&O program against the market. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page; a service description, not a specific policy's insuring agreement. | THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Directors & Officers among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 8,7Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Directors and Officers. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy. |
| Limits and Retentions | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premium ranges. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. | The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Directors and Officers; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 8,7Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible. |
| Risk Services | For SPACs and IPOs, Gallagher describes bundling D&O coverage before and after the IPO with related lines such as representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability coverage, plus risk-management and claims support at each stage. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC subsection. | Confirm in your quote. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 6Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Directors and Officers will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy. |
| Claims Support | Gallagher says its Executive and Financial Risk practice has a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys specializing in these lines, and that it uses quantitative benchmarking, including measuring the judicious use of Side-A-only D&O coverage, to guide more precise coverage structures. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice summary; describes a support service, not a guarantee of claim payment. | Confirm in your quote. |
Related Pages for Gallagher vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O
D&O Insurance Pages for Gallagher and THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Other Coverage Lines Compared for Gallagher vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for Gallagher vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway D&O Insurance
Sources About Gallagher
- Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability insurance section; Special-Purpose Acquisition Companies (SPACs) section; IPO and direct listings section; Executive and Financial Risk Practice Summary. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
Sources About THREE by Berkshire Hathaway
- Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
- Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.
Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.






