Gallagher vs
RiskCube D&O Insurance
Gallagher’s D&O practice is built around SPACs and IPOs; RiskCube checks AI-company D&O forms for AI exclusions before bind.
What Is Gallagher?
Gallagher is a business-insurance broker and risk-management consultancy. Its technology practice serves startups through global enterprises, alongside a separate small-business offering for IT professionals and an executive-risk practice covering D&O and transaction-related coverages. Woodruff Sawyer is now part of Gallagher. 1,2,3,4,5
What Is RiskCube Insurance?
RiskCube offers startup insurance brokerage through RiskCube Insurance Services, LLC, with a platform for comparing quotes and managing policies. Its published services emphasize vendor requirements, certificates and renewals; California product eligibility and applicable fees require confirmation. 6,7,8
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Listing Towers Versus AI-Exclusion Checks
Gallagher markets D&O to SPACs around IPO and de-SPAC and to companies going public by IPO or direct listing. RiskCube targets startups raising institutional funding or adding board members, and regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, and says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding to address “AI washing” allegations. Gallagher’s reviewed page does not describe an AI-exclusion bind check; RiskCube’s does not center SPACs. 3 9
In-House Attorneys Versus a Ten-Minute Intake
Gallagher describes a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys and Side-A-only benchmarking. RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically within one to two business days. RiskCube’s reviewed D&O page does not describe a dedicated claims team for this line. 3 9
IPO Bundles Versus Listed Exclusions
For SPACs and IPOs, Gallagher describes bundling D&O with representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability. RiskCube lists common exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit. RiskCube’s disclosures say D&O is issued by unnamed third parties; Gallagher also does not name an issuer. 3 9 8
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask RiskCube which carrier would issue and whether any AI exclusion remains after its check. 9
- Ask Gallagher how Side-A-only benchmarking would apply if you are listing. 3
- Ask RiskCube how insured-versus-insured and prior-litigation exclusions would read on your form. 9
- Get limits; RiskCube says needs vary by fundraising stage but publishes no amounts, and Gallagher publishes none. 9 3
Offering Details
Gallagher vs RiskCube D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Gallagher Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability Insurance | RiskCube Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Gallagher's Executive and Financial Risk practice places D&O liability insurance and advises on program design; it does not underwrite the policy, which is issued by a carrier selected during placement. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. | RiskCube compares D&O policies across carriers and describes itself as an independent brokerage rather than the underwriter of the policy. 9Company-reported. D&O product page footer and general framing of the coverage as "tailored D&O coverage" it provides access to, not a self-underwritten product. |
| Issuing Insurer | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not name the insurer that would issue a given client's D&O policy; it says Gallagher weighs carrier qualifications and performance data alongside a client's own insurer history and preferences when deciding which carriers to approach. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. | RiskCube's disclosures say it is not an insurance carrier and that its insurance products, including D&O, are underwritten and issued by third-party carriers it does not name; the D&O page itself does not identify an issuing insurer. 8,9Company-reported. Company-wide entity and licensing disclosure and the D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Who It’s For | Gallagher specifically markets D&O placement and advisory support to special-purpose acquisition companies (SPACs) around their IPO and de-SPAC process, and to companies going public through an IPO or direct listing. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC and IPO subsections. | RiskCube targets D&O at startups raising institutional funding rounds or adding board members, and at regulated sectors such as AI, fintech, govtech, defense and space, saying investors and boards increasingly require D&O as a closing condition. 9Company-reported. D&O product page "Who needs D&O insurance" section. |
| Coverage Features | Gallagher says its D&O team constructs policies addressing lawsuits from shareholders, employees, competitors, suppliers and government bodies, and can evaluate an existing D&O program against the market. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page; a service description, not a specific policy's insuring agreement. | RiskCube describes a typical private-company D&O program as combining Side A coverage (individual directors and officers when the company can't indemnify them), Side B coverage (reimbursing the company after it indemnifies leadership) and Side C coverage (protecting the company itself). 9Company-reported. D&O product page coverage explanation. RiskCube lists common D&O exclusions including intentional fraud, prior known litigation, insured-versus-insured disputes and illegal profit, and notes that exclusions vary by carrier and policy wording. 9Company-reported. D&O product page "Common Exclusions" section. |
| Limits and Retentions | The executive-and-financial-risk page does not publish D&O limits, retentions or premium ranges. 3Not publicly disclosed. Checked the group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page. | RiskCube says needed D&O limits vary by fundraising stage, board composition and investor expectations, but does not publish specific limit or retention amounts on the product page. 9Not publicly disclosed. D&O product page "How much D&O insurance do startups need" FAQ. |
| Risk Services | For SPACs and IPOs, Gallagher describes bundling D&O coverage before and after the IPO with related lines such as representations and warranties, E&O, cyber, tax and contingent liability coverage, plus risk-management and claims support at each stage. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice page, SPAC subsection. | RiskCube says it checks every AI-company D&O policy for AI-related exclusions or sublimits before binding, to address "AI washing" allegations and oversight claims. 9Company-reported. D&O product page "AI & governance risk" FAQ. |
| How to Apply | Not described in the reviewed sources. | RiskCube describes a roughly 10-minute digital intake covering fundraising history, capitalization, board structure, revenue and prior litigation, then says its AI agents and licensed brokers compare carrier quotes, typically returning D&O quotes within one to two business days and proof of coverage in about 24 hours after a policy is selected. 9Company-reported. D&O product page process steps and "How fast can we get D and O insurance quotes" FAQ. |
| Claims Support | Gallagher says its Executive and Financial Risk practice has a dedicated claims-advocacy team with in-house attorneys specializing in these lines, and that it uses quantitative benchmarking, including measuring the judicious use of Side-A-only D&O coverage, to guide more precise coverage structures. 3Company-reported. Group-level executive-and-financial-risk practice summary; describes a support service, not a guarantee of claim payment. | The reviewed D&O page does not describe claims handling or a dedicated claims team for this line. 9Not found in reviewed sources. D&O product page as read on 2026-09-23. |
Full Comparison
More Gallagher vs RiskCube Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Gallagher
- Technology Insurance. Gallagher; Introduction; Solutions and coverages for the technology industry: Technology errors and omissions including cyber, Intellectual property insurance, Product liability, Employee benefits; Data-driven insights; global network. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Insurance for Technology & IT Businesses. Gallagher Small Business; Protection for IT Professionals & Their Technology-Based Businesses; recommended coverage menu, including Surety Bond Programs; Connect With An Advisor. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive and Financial Risk Insurance. Gallagher; Directors and Officers (D&O) Liability insurance section; Special-Purpose Acquisition Companies (SPACs) section; IPO and direct listings section; Executive and Financial Risk Practice Summary. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Legal Information. Gallagher Small Business; Producer identification immediately above Quick Links. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Woodruff Sawyer Is Now Gallagher. Gallagher; Opening; Executive and Financial Risk consulting; Continued access to client portals; contact form. Accessed 2026-09-16.
RiskCube
- Startup Business Insurance. RiskCube; Solution; Compare/Buy/Manage; Who we insure; footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Licenses & Disclosures. RiskCube; Property & Casualty Producer/Broker Licenses; February 11, 2026 version. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Disclosures & Compensation. RiskCube; Section 1, Entity and Licensing Disclosure: "RiskCube is not an insurance carrier and does not underwrite insurance. Insurance coverage is offered, underwritten, and issued by third-party insurance carriers". Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance. RiskCube; Who needs D&O; Side A/B/C coverage explanation; What's covered; Common Exclusions; FAQs; application steps; "Independent brokerage · NPN 21694336" footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





