Cowbell vs WTW: How Do They Compare for Cyber Insurance?

Cowbell offers several Prime cyber products segmented by revenue and digital exposure, with included risk services and some published limits. WTW lists cyber in FINEX and describes intermediary and policy-document services, leaving specific terms to its insurer placement. 4,5,6,7,13,10

What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell suits small and midsize businesses seeking cyber options by company size, with technology E&O and Zurich management-liability options also available; firms needing broad commercial coverage should compare a full-service broker. Some security services cost extra. 1,2,3

Read the Cowbell profile

Read the Cowbell Cyber Insurance page

What Is WTW?

WTW is an insurance broker whose documented services include manufacturing risk-program design and specialist property and cargo programs. Its marketed property scope includes residential real-estate stakeholders and a separate integrated data-center program; other named capabilities vary in date and geography. 9,10,11,12,13

Read the WTW profile

Read the WTW Cyber Insurance page

What Is Cyber Insurance?

Cyber insurance can help pay covered response costs and claims against your business after a cyber incident. If your business relies on data, software or outside providers, compare response limits, vendor outages and approval rules. 15,16

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Cyber Insurance

Product structure and account fit

Cowbell separates Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro for smaller businesses, Prime 250 for organizations up to $1 billion in revenue, and Prime One for more advanced digital exposures typically above $250 million. WTW lists cyber solutions in FINEX but does not publish comparable bands, so buyers should ask which insurer markets WTW would approach for their size and operations. 4 13

Published limits and security services

Cowbell states Prime 100 Pro endorsements can reach $3 million and Prime One select risks up to $10 million; every Prime policy also includes Cowbell Factors and resiliency services. WTW’s reviewed cyber record gives no buyer-specific limit and describes policy-document review rather than bundled monitoring, so compare the quote’s limit and service schedule directly. 5 4 14

Quote and binding workflow

Appointed agents can quote and bind Prime 100 through Cowbell’s platform, while WTW’s terms say it seeks a formal insurer commitment after the client orders binding. Ask both when an indication becomes a binder and which underwriting questions remain. 4 14

What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Cowbell which Prime form and issuing insurer apply, and whether any limit is shared across endorsements. 4 5
  • Ask WTW for its proposed insurer, limit, retention and included cyber services before authorizing binding. 14

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Cowbell

2.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.[8]

Read Cowbell reviews

WTW

8.1/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

WTW has little useful review evidence for a business buyer. Its one counted score is 807 out of 1,000 from a 2017 J.D. Power study of large commercial brokers, and Trustpilot's 2.1 from 9 reviews isn't counted.[4][2]

Read WTW reviews

Offering Details

Cowbell vs WTW: Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCowbell Prime Cyber Insurance (Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One, Prime Plus)WTW Cyber Insurance Brokerage
Role in This Line

Cowbell operates as an insurance agency that markets its own named 'Prime' cyber product line, rather than distributing another carrier's off-the-shelf policy under its own brand. 4,6,7Company-reported. Product overview PDFs for Prime 100, Prime 100 Pro, Prime 250, Prime One and Prime Plus.

Under WTW's North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms, WTW normally acts as the client's insurance intermediary for engagements governed by those terms. 14Company-reported. Terms for applicable North American Corporate Risk & Broking engagements. WTW also discloses separate insurer-side services in some arrangements; this does not determine the role in a specific engagement.

Issuing Insurer

Cowbell says Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro paper is provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company (AM Best A rating), Prime 250 by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company and Chaucer Insurance Company, and Prime One by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company; the insurer therefore varies by which Prime product is placed. 4,6,7Company-reported. Footer/underwriting statements in each product PDF.

The reviewed WTW sources do not identify an issuing insurer for a specific cyber placement. 14,13,10Not publicly disclosed. This is a gap in the cited marketing, annual-report, and brokerage materials; it does not mean WTW lacks insurer markets. Confirm the carrier on the quote and issued policy.

Who It’s For

Cowbell markets Prime 100 (admitted) to SMEs with up to $100M in revenue, Prime 100 Pro (admitted, available in 47 states) to a similar SME band with broader endorsements, Prime 250 (non-admitted) to businesses up to $1B in revenue, and Prime One (non-admitted) to organizations with more advanced digital exposure, typically $250M+ in annual revenue. 4,5,6,7Company-reported. Risk Appetite sections of each PDF.

Confirm in your quote.

Coverage Features

Base Prime 100 coverages include security breach liability, social engineering, hardware replacement, business income and extra expense, extortion threats, computer and funds transfer fraud, and restoration of electronic data; Prime One adds affirmative AI-incident and quantum-computing-incident coverage for more advanced digital exposures. 4,7Company-reported. Prime 100 Coverages and Prime One 'Emerging risk coverage' sections; illustrative, subject to the issued policy's terms.

WTW's FY2024 annual report lists cyber insurance among FINEX solutions; its Digital Infrastructure Protector describes cyber protection as one part of a broader data-center solution. 13,10Company-reported. Historical group-level FINEX capability and a separately scoped data-center solution; neither source establishes current standalone cyber terms or eligibility.

Limits and Retentions

Cowbell states Prime 100 Pro adds endorsements with limits up to $3M, Prime One offers limits up to $10M for select risks, and Prime Plus is an excess layer offering up to $5M above a primary cyber policy; base Prime 100 and Prime 250 limit figures are not published in the reviewed PDFs. 5,7,8Company-reported. Product overview PDFs; actual issued limits depend on underwriting.

The reviewed sources do not state a buyer-specific cyber limit, retention, or deductible. 14,13,10Not publicly disclosed. No limit or deductible is inferred from general marketing or WTW's brokerage role; the insurer's quote and issued forms control.

Risk Services

Cowbell says every Prime policy includes Cowbell Factors risk ratings, Cowbell Resiliency Services, Cowbell Insights guidance, Cowbell Connectors integrations with cloud/security providers, and complimentary Wizer cybersecurity-awareness training with unlimited seats in the first policy year. 4,6Company-reported. 'The Cowbell Advantage' section, repeated across the reviewed product PDFs.

WTW's North American terms describe reviewing binders, policies, and endorsements against the terms negotiated with the insurer. 14Company-reported. Broker document-review process under the cited terms, when WTW handles this line's placement. It does not certify that a policy covers a claim or replace the issued wording.

How to Apply

Cowbell says agents can quote, bind and issue Prime 100 policies in less than five minutes, and that Prime 100 Pro requires only six underwriting questions for accounts under $50M in revenue; Prime products are distributed through appointed agents rather than direct to consumers. 4,5Company-reported. Prime 100 and Prime 100 Pro overview PDFs; speed figures are company-reported, not independently timed.

WTW's North American terms say an insurer quote is not confirmation of coverage; if the client orders binding, WTW seeks a formal insurer commitment, typically a binder. 14Company-reported. Applies to placements governed by the cited North American Corporate Risk & Broking terms. It does not establish a self-service quote route or promise coverage availability for this line.

Claims Support

Cowbell says its in-house cyber claims team has over 80 years of combined claims-handling experience and provides 24/7 in-house claims support from initial triage through resolution. 7,4Company-reported. Prime One 'When an incident occurs' section and 'Expert Claims Support' feature repeated across the product PDFs.

Confirm in your quote.

Full Comparison

More Cowbell vs WTW Comparisons

Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Cowbell

  1. Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Small And Midsize Business Management Liability. Zurich North America; Zurich Select Plus collaboration; admitted paper and Zurich Claims; modular suite: D&O, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability and Crime modules; access for appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers; target under 250 employees and $50 million assets; access and target-account FAQs. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Prime 100 Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Risk Appetite; The Cowbell Advantage; Prime 100 Coverages; 'Paper provided by Palomar Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Prime 100 Pro Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Expanded coverage options; Streamlined process for agents; Confidence that resonates; Available In 47 U.S. States list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  6. Prime 250 Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Confidence at scale; Available in 50 states and D.C. on surplus papers; Prime 250 Coverages. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  7. Prime One Product Overview. Cowbell; Risk appetite: organizations with more advanced digital exposures, typically $250M+ in annual revenue; core and additional coverage elements; 'written on a non-admitted basis by Chaucer Specialty Insurance Company' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  8. Prime Plus Product Overview. Cowbell; Product Overview; Why Prime Plus; 'offered on a non-admitted basis with paper provided by AM Best A (Excellent) rated carriers' footer. Accessed 2026-09-23.

WTW

  1. Manufacturing. WTW; “How WTW can help manufacturers”; “How we serve our clients”; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. Digital Infrastructure Protector. WTW; Integrated policy coverage for building, operational property, marine and cargo under one policy; integrated data-center construction/operations; cyber and liability protection in broader solution; separate-policy preference caveat; capacity and North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Marine. WTW; “Our solutions” cargo brokerage; marine specialist count; claims advice and average-adjuster service; North America licensed-entity disclaimer. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Residential | WTW. WTW; “Specialized insurance products”: lists property insurance and financial lines, including errors and omissions; inspected official indexed text 2026-09-29. Direct reader access failed; indexed page crawl was about five months old. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  5. WTW 2024 Form 10-K. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission / Willis Towers Watson Public Limited Company; Part I, Item 1, FINEX and Surety business descriptions: the 2024 annual report identifies management and professional liability, employment practices, crime, cyber and M&A insurance solutions, and a global bond-placement team; indexed passages rechecked 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  6. Corporate Risk & Broking Brokerage Terms, Conditions & Disclosures (Canada & US). WTW; Document dated 2025-06-01; pp. 4–6: broker/intermediary role, quote versus binding process, review of binders/policies/endorsements, claims reporting and affiliate disclosures. Reused from the current WTW provider source record after direct PDF retrieval was blocked. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Cyber Insurance Guide

  1. Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. CyberEdge specimen policy. AIG; General Terms §§4–6, PDF pp.3–6; Security and Privacy §1 p.11, §2(l)/(p) p.14, §3 pp.15–18, exclusions p.18; Event Management §1 and §2(h), PDF pp.19–20. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot