Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual: How Do They Compare for Management Liability Insurance?

Cowbell’s Zurich Select Plus is accessed by appointed E&S wholesalers through an API; Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as a single package. 4,7,8

What Is Cowbell Insurance?

Cowbell suits small and midsize businesses seeking cyber options by company size, with technology E&O and Zurich management-liability options also available; firms needing broad commercial coverage should compare a full-service broker. Some security services cost extra. 1,2,3

Read the Cowbell profile

Read the Cowbell Management Liability Insurance page

What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?

Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 5,6

Read the Liberty Mutual profile

Read the Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance page

What Is Management Liability Insurance?

Management liability packages can combine D&O and employment-practices coverage for leader and workplace claims, while benefit-plan protection may be a separate part. Shared limits can let a claim in one part reduce what is available for another, so compare the limits across the quote. 9,10,11,12,13,14

Read the full coverage guide

What Are the Key Differences Between Cowbell and Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance?

Who can access the product

Cowbell says Zurich Select Plus is available through its platform to Zurich-appointed excess-and-surplus wholesalers, not directly to businesses. The wholesaler uses API access after appointment. Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as a package for private and not-for-profit organizations, without the same wholesaler-only restriction in the reviewed claims. This distinction changes the buyer’s first step: identify an appointed wholesaler for Select Plus, while asking Liberty Mutual how its package reaches the applicant. 4 7

Modules and terms

Select Plus allows up to four named modules: private management and company liability, employment-practices and third-party discrimination liability, fiduciary, and crime. Liberty Mutual lists D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and crime in ProShield. The line labels overlap, but the names do not establish matching definitions, aggregates or exclusions. Buyers should compare each module’s policy wording and confirm the issuing insurer and limit structure in both proposals. 4 7

What Should You Confirm in Cowbell and Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance Quotes?

  • Ask the wholesaler to confirm Zurich appointment, eligible states and the issuing Zurich entity for Select Plus.
  • Ask Liberty Mutual for ProShield’s module definitions, issuing entity and schedule of limits and exclusions.

Cowbell and Liberty Mutual Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Cowbell Review Score

2.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.[8]

Read Cowbell reviews

Liberty Mutual Review Score

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]

Read Liberty Mutual reviews

Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance Compared

Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual: Management Liability Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCowbell / Zurich Select Plus Management LiabilityLiberty Mutual ProShield Management Liability
Role in This Line

Cowbell is the distribution platform, not the insurer: it gives Zurich-appointed E&S wholesalers API access to Zurich's Select Plus management liability product, a modular suite Zurich already sells to larger companies, sized down for small and midsize private businesses. Zurich's own page confirms Select Plus is 'Zurich Insurance, in collaboration with Cowbell,' offered as a 'proprietary form,' with identical FAQ wording to Cowbell's page. 4,3Company-reported. Cowbell intro paragraph and FAQ; Zurich intro and 'Delivering speed from quoting to policy issuance' section.

Liberty Mutual markets ProShield as a management-liability package combining D&O, employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverages. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Issuing Insurer

Both Cowbell and Zurich say the product is offered on Zurich admitted paper and backed by 'the reputable Zurich Claims service.' Neither page names the specific underwriting Zurich subsidiary or policy-issuing entity; Zurich's site footer copyright reads 'Zurich American Insurance Company,' but that is a general site-wide notice, not a stated policy-issuer confirmation for Select Plus specifically. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer.

Confirm in your quote.

Who It’s For

Cowbell says the product targets SME private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, and lists target industries including specialty chemicals, technology, energy/utilities, construction, manufacturing, hospitality, retail, and integrated freight & logistics. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and 'Target industries' list.

The ProShield page identifies private and not-for-profit organizations as its intended audiences; industry-page listings do not establish universal eligibility. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Coverage Features

Zurich's own page names the four Select Plus modules as 'Private Management and Company Liability,' 'Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability,' 'Fiduciary Liability,' and 'Crime Insurance' -- broader labels than the plain 'D&O' and 'EPL' shorthand Cowbell's FAQ uses -- and says a buyer can combine up to four of these modules into one policy. 3Company-reported. Zurich page 'Protect your small to midsize business with Zurich's Select Plus Management Liability solutions' section.

Cowbell describes management liability as a modular umbrella covering four lines within the Select Plus product: private company D&O, employment practices liability, fiduciary liability, and crime, each addressing a different category of management or employee risk. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'.

The page describes selected features for the component lines, but does not establish the terms, limits or exclusions in an individual ProShield policy. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

Limits and Retentions

Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page publishes limit or retention amounts for the modules; both were read in full and neither discloses a figure. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23.

The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 7,8Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered.

Risk Services

Cowbell says the product is backed by Zurich's claims service, and frames the offering's advantage as faster quoting and issuance through Cowbell's technology platform compared with Zurich's standard process, rather than describing separate risk-control services. 4Company-reported. Page intro and FAQ 'What makes the Zurich Select Plus offering through Cowbell unique?'.

Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 7,8Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents.

How to Apply

Access is limited to appointed wholesalers of Zurich Excess & Surplus (E&S): a wholesaler already appointed by Zurich E&S can reach the product through the Cowbell platform via API, and is directed to contact a Cowbell or Zurich representative to set that up. The product is not sold directly to businesses. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'.

Confirm in your quote.

Claims Support

Cowbell says the most common management liability claims fall under employment practices liability, citing discrimination, wrongful termination, harassment, and retaliation as the most frequent claim types. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the most common management liability claim?'; describes claim frequency, not Cowbell's own claims-handling process.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual Management Liability

Management Liability Insurance Pages for Cowbell and Liberty Mutual

Other Coverage Lines Compared for Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual

Other Management Liability Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual Management Liability Insurance

Sources About Cowbell

  1. Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro: 'Zurich Insurance, in collaboration with Cowbell, offers the "Zurich Select Plus" proprietary form'; 'Delivering speed from quoting to policy issuance' section; module names (Private Management and Company Liability, Employment Practices and Third-Party Discrimination Liability, Fiduciary Liability, Crime Insurance); Targeted industries list; FAQ (identical to the Cowbell page's FAQ); footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; Intro paragraph on the Zurich collaboration; FAQ: access, account size, what makes the offering unique, difference between management liability and D&O, why a company needs it, most common claim type; Target industries list. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources About Liberty Mutual

  1. Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Professional services. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opened September 29, 2026. Lines 129–138 list professional-services program coverages: GL with Services endorsement, property, commercial auto, workers compensation, umbrella/excess, D&O, professional liability, cyber, EPL and fidelity/crime. Lines 139–148 describe M&A transactional-liability solutions including representations and warranties, tax liability and contingent legal risk. These are professional-services industry positioning, not universal eligibility or standalone line terms; distribution and policy caveats at lines 164–176 and 234–236. Accessed 2026-09-29.

Sources for the Management Liability Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Insurance Terms. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Directors & Officers Liability; Employment Practices Liability Coverage; introductory scope note. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Management Liability Insurance. The Hartford; What Is Management Liability Insurance?; Who Does Management Liability Insurance Protect. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. The ForeFront Portfolio. Chubb; Introduction; optional coverage parts; private, not-for-profit and healthcare portfolios. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I p.1; III pp.2–3; IV pp.4–6; VI pp.6–8. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. Liability Coverage Terms and Conditions. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; III.B p.3; III.C pp.4–5; III.D–G pp.5–6. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage Application. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I–II pp.1–2; III–IV pp.2–3; V–VIII pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot