Cowbell vs
Liberty Mutual: How Do They Compare for Crime Insurance?
What Is Cowbell Insurance?
Cowbell suits small and midsize businesses seeking cyber options by company size, with technology E&O and Zurich management-liability options also available; firms needing broad commercial coverage should compare a full-service broker. Some security services cost extra. 1,2,3
What Is Liberty Mutual Business Insurance?
Liberty Mutual spans small-commercial, commercial, specialty, surety, and reinsurance businesses. The insurer and distribution route depend on the product, so check the offer and policy before you compare terms. 5,6
What Is Crime Insurance?
Crime insurance can help reimburse specified business losses from theft and fraud, including employee theft and forgery. Compare those protections separately and ask whether a payment sent after an impersonation scam is covered. 8,9,10,11,12
What Are the Key Differences Between Cowbell and Liberty Mutual Crime Insurance?
Wholesaler access and account scope
Cowbell says its Select Plus crime module is accessed through appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers using Cowbell’s platform API and is not sold directly to businesses. It targets private companies under 250 employees and $50 million in assets. Liberty Mutual describes ProShield crime for private and not-for-profit organizations. Confirm the applicable access route and eligibility for your organization before comparing a quote. 4 7
Crime descriptions and policy identity
Cowbell describes crime as one module within Zurich Select Plus and lists theft, fraud and embezzlement by employees or third parties. Liberty Mutual lists employee dishonesty, embezzlement, safe burglary and computer fraud in ProShield. Those are company descriptions, not policy wording. Ask for the actual agreements, quote-specific issuer and limits; do not assume a brand name alone identifies the issuing company. 4 7
What Should You Confirm in Cowbell and Liberty Mutual Crime Insurance Quotes?
Cowbell and Liberty Mutual Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
Cowbell Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Cowbell has one public rating we could find: 1.0 out of 5 on SourceForge from three reviews in 2023. That's too few and too old to say much.[8]
Read Cowbell reviewsLiberty Mutual Review Score
Review Score
2 rated sources
Customers give Liberty Mutual 4.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 3,836 reviews, but that page mixes auto, home and life customers with business ones. For business insurance specifically, NerdWallet gives 3.0 out of 5 and reports more complaints than expected.[4][1]
Read Liberty Mutual reviewsCowbell vs Liberty Mutual Crime Insurance Compared
Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual: Crime Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Cowbell / Zurich Select Plus Crime Coverage | Liberty Mutual ProShield Crime coverage |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Crime coverage is one module within Cowbell's distribution of Zurich's Select Plus management liability product; Cowbell operates the platform, Zurich underwrites the module. Zurich's own page lists 'Crime Insurance' as one of the four modules a buyer can combine. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro and module list; Zurich page module-name section. | Liberty Mutual includes crime coverage in its ProShield management-liability package for private and not-for-profit organizations. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Issuing Insurer | Cowbell and Zurich both say the Select Plus modules, including crime, are written on Zurich admitted paper. Zurich's site footer names 'Zurich American Insurance Company' in its copyright notice, but neither page states that entity is the specific policy issuer for this module. 4,3Company-reported. Management liability page intro; Zurich page intro and footer. | Confirm in your quote. |
| Who It’s For | Cowbell targets this crime module at private companies with under 250 employees and under $50M in assets, across the same target industries listed for the broader Select Plus product. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What size accounts are targeted?' and Target industries list. | The source scopes ProShield to private and not-for-profit organizations; a specific organization’s eligibility is not established. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Coverage Features | Cowbell describes crime coverage as protecting against losses resulting from criminal acts such as theft, fraud, and embezzlement committed by employees or third parties. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?'. | The ProShield page lists employee dishonesty, embezzlement, safe burglary, computer fraud and other crime exposures, plus selected coverage enhancements; these are marketing summaries, not policy terms. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| Limits and Retentions | Neither the Cowbell page nor Zurich's own Select Plus page, both read in full, publishes crime-coverage limit or retention amounts. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Cowbell page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. | The cited public overview does not establish the limits, deductibles, exclusions or form terms that would apply to a specific buyer. 7Not publicly disclosed. Ask for the quote and specimen or issued policy forms before treating a listed feature as covered. |
| Risk Services | Neither reviewed page describes crime-specific risk-control services such as employee-dishonesty prevention programs; both describe the Select Plus product's claims backing only at the whole-product level. 4,3Not publicly disclosed. Management liability page and Zurich page, both read on 2026-09-23. | Liberty Mutual describes ProShield as one package policy that combines multiple management-liability coverages and is designed to reduce the need for separate endorsements. 7Company-reported. Liberty Mutual’s cited product or program overview documents this description. It does not establish the issuing insurer for an individual quote, exact state or provincial availability, the policy form, complete exclusions, or terms offered to a particular buyer; confirm those in the quote and policy documents. |
| How to Apply | This crime module is accessed only by appointed Zurich E&S wholesalers through the Cowbell platform's API; it is not sold directly to businesses. 4Company-reported. FAQ 'How can I access the Zurich Select Plus management liability product through Cowbell?'. | Confirm in your quote. |
Related Pages for Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual Crime Insurance
Crime Insurance Pages for Cowbell and Liberty Mutual
Other Coverage Lines Compared for Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual
Other Crime Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for Cowbell vs Liberty Mutual Crime Insurance
Sources About Cowbell
- Cowbell. Cowbell; What We Do; Assess, Insure, Respond and Improve; U.S. navigation; footer legal disclosure. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Prime Tech Product Overview. Cowbell; PDF pp. 1–4: non-admitted combined Technology E&O and cyber for technology businesses up to $1 billion; up to $5 million; surplus lines in 50 states; edition PRIME TECH US0001 1025. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Small and Midsize Business Management Liability | Zurich Select Plus. Zurich North America; Intro on the Zurich/Cowbell collaboration; module name 'Crime Insurance'; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (identical to Cowbell's page); Targeted industries list; footer copyright. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Management liability coverage for small & medium enterprises. Cowbell; FAQ 'What is the difference between management liability and D&O?' (Crime Coverage definition); Target industries list; FAQ on access and account size. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources About Liberty Mutual
- Company Profile. Liberty Mutual Group; Strategic business units paragraph: US Retail Markets (individuals/small businesses; small commercial; countrywide) and Global Risk Solutions (mid-size/large businesses; commercial, specialty, reinsurance, surety; worldwide). Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Commercial Insurance Solutions. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Commercial solutions index names commercial auto and fleet, cyber, environmental liability, equipment breakdown, excess and surplus, general liability, healthcare liability, inland marine, management liability, multinational, ocean marine, professional liability, property, reinsurance, surety, umbrella/excess and workers compensation. Disclosure says policy insurer is named when offered, may be an affiliate/subsidiary or surplus-lines insurer; states/jurisdictions and actual policy terms vary. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- ProShield. Liberty Mutual Business Insurance; Opening paragraphs identify package combining directors and officers, employment practices, fiduciary, and crime coverages; D&O and crime sections describe examples of exposures and selected coverage features. Examples are not policy terms. Accessed 2026-09-29.
Sources for the Crime Insurance Guide
- Commercial Insurance Guide. California Department of Insurance; Crime. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Crime Non-Financial Applications and Forms. Travelers; Opening paragraph; Sample Policy Forms. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Crime Terms and Conditions. The Travelers Companies, Inc.; I.A–G, printed/PDF pages 1–4; III.RR, printed/PDF p.13; V.B.1–2, printed/PDF pp.18–20; Consideration, printed/PDF p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; I.A.3 p.1; III.C p.7; III.S pp.8–9; III.II and III.KK p.12; III.QQ p.13; V.A.5 pp.17–18 (printed/PDF pages); IV.J–O, printed/PDF pages 14–15. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Commercial Crime Coverage Application. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I–III pages 1–2; IX–XI pages 3–4; V–VII, printed/PDF pages 2–3. Accessed 2026-09-16.




