Coverdash vs
USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance
USI discloses specific PrivaSafe cyber limit figures while Coverdash's cyber page publishes none.
What Is Coverdash Insurance?
Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 1,2,3
What Is USI Insurance Services?
USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 6,7,8
What Is Cyber Insurance?
Cyber insurance can help a business respond to cyber incidents and address covered liability claims arising from them. 11
Key Differences in Cyber Insurance
How the Base Program Is Structured
Coverdash and USI both broker cyber coverage rather than underwrite it, but they describe the resulting policy differently. Coverdash's page lists coverage in general categories — breach response, ransomware, business-interruption income loss and legal defense — without naming a specific program. 4 USI instead sells its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, built around three named cost buckets: liability costs, compliance and corrective costs, and direct costs such as network interruption and cyber extortion. 9
What Each Side Publishes About Limits
USI's PrivaSafe page states specific figures: coverage aimed at preventing losses up to $10 million, up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage on top of the aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense costs outside the limit.
USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 9Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations.
Coverdash's cyber page does not publish any limit, retention or deductible figures, including a separate sub-limit for ransomware versus breach-response costs. 4
Who Each Program Is Built For
Coverdash markets cyber coverage broadly, to any business that collects data, takes payments online or relies on software. 4 USI positions PrivaSafe for middle-market firms specifically, describing them as exposed by limited in-house security expertise, while also naming any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network or accepts electronic payments as a target. 9
What to Confirm in Cyber Insurance Quotes
- Ask Coverdash for the insurer, limit and retention figures that don't appear on its public cyber page. 4
- Ask USI which insurer would issue a given PrivaSafe placement, since the program page doesn't name one. 9
- Confirm whether Coverdash's business-interruption coverage applies during an attack-driven outage the same way USI's network-interruption cost bucket does. 4 9
- Ask USI whether your business fits its middle-market focus, and ask Coverdash what underwriting criteria apply beyond its general eligibility description. 9 4
Offering Details
Coverdash vs USI Insurance Services Cyber Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coverdash Cyber Insurance | USI PrivaSafe Cyber and Privacy Liability Program |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coverdash arranges cyber coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the cyber page; not specific to any one carrier or state. | USI is a broker, not an insurer, for cyber coverage. It places cyber and privacy liability policies for clients and layers on its own manuscripted program, PrivaSafe, rather than underwriting the risk itself. 9,7Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page and USI's property & casualty and technology practice pages. |
| Issuing Insurer | The cyber page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed cyber page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier. | USI does not name the insurer that issues PrivaSafe or other cyber policies on the pages reviewed. PrivaSafe is described as a manuscripted (custom-drafted) coverage form that USI negotiates with the market, so the carrier varies by placement. 9Not publicly disclosed. PrivaSafe program page as read on 2026-09-23; no dedicated cyber carrier list was found. |
| Who It’s For | Coverdash markets cyber coverage to any business that collects data, takes payments online, or relies on software, regardless of industry. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting. | USI markets PrivaSafe to middle-market firms, saying they are particularly vulnerable to cyber events because they have limited in-house access to security expertise. The page also says any business that gathers personal or health information, manages a network, or accepts electronic payments is a potential target. 9Company-reported. Program page marketing description, not an underwriting appetite statement. |
| Coverage Features | Coverdash describes cyber coverage as including data-breach response (notification, credit monitoring and forensics), ransomware (negotiation and restoring systems), business-interruption income loss during an attack-driven outage, and legal defense and settlements for lawsuits after a data exposure. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions. | USI describes PrivaSafe as covering three areas: liability costs (including inability to protect information and related tort liability), compliance and corrective costs (data breach and forensic costs, privacy regulatory costs, payment-card standards), and direct costs (network interruption, data reconstruction, cyber extortion, bricking, voluntary shutdown, reputational harm business interruption, and cyber crime). 9Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy form. |
| Limits and Retentions | The cyber page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts, or a separate sub-limit for ransomware versus breach-response costs. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed cyber page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page. | USI says PrivaSafe can prevent uninsured or underinsured losses up to $10 million, includes up to $2 million in notification-cost coverage in addition to the policy's aggregate limit, and $250,000 in defense-cost coverage outside the limit (with additional limit available). 9Company-reported. Program page figures describe the PrivaSafe structure generally; a buyer's actual limits, sublimits and retentions are set on the policy declarations. |
| Risk Services | The reviewed cyber page does not describe security-monitoring or other risk-management services made available to policyholders; it describes only post-incident response coverage. 4Not found in reviewed sources. Cyber product page as read on 2026-09-23. | USI says PrivaSafe includes pre-breach services to help avoid cyber threats and post-breach services designed to streamline incident response and recovery, on top of USI's general property & casualty cyber specialists. 9,10Company-reported. Program page and property-casualty practice team description. |
| How to Apply | Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for cyber coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section. | To review cyber exposure with USI, the program page says a buyer should be ready to provide current cyber policies (if any), an assessment of its largest financial and operational cyber vulnerabilities, and its most recent audited financials. 9Company-reported. PrivaSafe program page intake description. |
Full Comparison
More Coverdash vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons
Other Cyber Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coverdash
- Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Cyber Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Data breaches, Ransomware, System downtime, Lawsuits and liability; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Cyber & Crime category listing Cyber Insurance, Crime Coverage and Kidnap & Ransom. Accessed 2026-09-23.
USI Insurance Services
- The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Network Security/USI PrivaSafe... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- USI Exclusive PrivaSafe. USI Insurance Services; How can USI help our firm...; Comprehensive Cyber Coverage Through Three Distinct Offerings (Liability Costs, Compliance/Corrective Costs, Direct Costs); Up to $2 million in notification costs...; $250,000 in defense cost coverage outside the limit; Our current local/regional broker already secured a Cyber liability policy... Accessed 2026-09-23.
- P&C Insurance and Risk Consulting. USI Insurance Services; risk management and insurance advice on broad risk exposures such as...Cyber Risk...; cyber specialists, claim advocates, risk control specialists. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Cyber Insurance Guide
- Cyber Insurance. Federal Trade Commission; Opening; First-Party and Third-Party Coverage; First-Party Coverage; Third-Party Coverage; What Should Your Cyber Insurance Policy Cover. Accessed 2026-09-16.






