Coverdash vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: How Do They Compare for Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance?

Coverdash brokers professional liability through a digital quote-to-purchase flow and describes standalone E&O separately from Tech E&O. THREE lists E&O as a category in its Business Owners Policy, with the quote summary supplying line limits and deductibles. 4,8

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash suits small businesses that want online shopping or an embedded partner purchase with one account for policies and billing; firms needing specialized complex-risk advice should compare broker-led programs. 1,2,3

Read the Coverdash profile

Read the Coverdash Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

THREE small business insurance: coverage, issuer and buying routes

THREE markets a packaged commercial insurance product through a direct quote route and partner agents. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company is named as issuer on THREE’s sample policy. 6,7

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway profile

Read the THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance page

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional liability can help pay defense costs and covered losses when a client says your advice or service caused financial harm. If customers rely on your work, list every service you provide and check the claims-made reporting and prior-work terms. 9,10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Standalone Placement and Combined Package

Coverdash says it arranges professional liability as a broker and offers a digital quote-to-purchase process, with options such as general liability or cyber alongside it. Its catalogue distinguishes this product from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. THREE instead presents E&O as one category within its combined Business Owners Policy. Buyers can compare a separate E&O placement with a broader package, but should check which coverages are selected and how each policy coordinates. 3 5 4 8

What Each Public Page Says About Limits

Coverdash does not publish professional-liability limits, retentions or deductibles. THREE similarly does not publish a separate E&O limit or deductible, but says those amounts appear in the quote-specific summary. A buyer comparing these routes should request the actual figures from both proposals rather than assuming that either digital or bundled access determines the amount available. 4 7

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Coverdash which insurer will issue the policy, the proposed limit and deductible, and whether its separate general E&O form fits your work better than Tech E&O. 4 4 5
  • Ask THREE to identify E&O on the BOP quote and state its limit and deductible in the quote summary. 8 7
  • Compare the proposed forms for financial-loss claims, defense costs and professional services; Coverdash describes these exposures, while THREE's marketing category alone does not establish response. 4 7

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Coverdash

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Coverdash offers convenient quote comparison, but public customer feedback is sparse. A BBB unanswered-complaint record makes responsiveness worth checking before purchase.[1][4][6]

Read Coverdash reviews

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

7.3/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

The inspected sources report separate measures: NerdWallet’s 4.0/5 editorial rating is excluded from the source-rating average; Trustpilot displayed 2.5/5 from five user posts and BBB displayed 4.8/5 from 265 reviews. Trustpilot and BBB include different purchase, service and agent/intermediary interactions, not a verified common policyholder cohort. BBB separately lists complaints. Any source-rating average weights eligible platforms equally and is not a pooled, representative customer-experience estimate or a claims-quality measure.[4][3][1][2]

Read THREE by Berkshire Hathaway reviews

Offering Details

Coverdash vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway: Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCoverdash Professional Liability (E&O) InsuranceTHREE Business Owners Policy
Role in This Line

Coverdash arranges professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the professional liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

THREE presents Errors and Omissions as a component of its combined Business Owners Policy rather than identifying it as a separate standalone policy on the reviewed product page. 8Company-reported. Company-described U.S. package structure. The page does not establish underwriting terms or that every listed category will be included for every applicant.

Issuing Insurer

The professional liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

The linked sample policy's declarations identify Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer. 7Company-reported. This is the issuer named on the public sample only; the sample does not establish the issuing entity for every state-specific quote or buyer's issued policy.

Who It’s For

Coverdash markets professional liability to any small business, startup or e-commerce seller that gives advice, provides a service or delivers work for clients, citing examples including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and profession-specific appetite.

The reviewed product page does not state separate eligibility rules for Errors and Omissions; the general quote and advisor route is not proof that a particular business qualifies for it. 8,6Not publicly disclosed. Eligibility and state availability remain unestablished for an individual risk until THREE returns its quote and applicable forms.

Coverage Features

Coverdash describes professional liability as covering claims that a client's financial harm came from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits, exclusions and whether the policy is claims-made.

Coverdash's coverage hub lists this general professional liability product separately from Tech E&O (for technology companies) and Lawyers Professional Liability, so a technology or legal business would typically be pointed to the more specific product instead. 5Company-reported. Coverage hub category structure; does not establish which product a given underwriter would actually issue.

THREE's Business Owners Policy page lists Errors & Omissions among its marketed coverage categories in the combined policy. This describes the product page, not whether the category appears in a particular quote or responds to a loss. 8,7Company-reported. Official THREE package marketing for Errors and Omissions. The sample policy is state-selectable and does not establish that this item is included in every quote or issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

The professional liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

The reviewed public product page does not state a separate limit or deductible for Errors and Omissions; THREE says the quote-specific insurance summary lists limits and deductibles. 8,7Not publicly disclosed. No number is inferred from the sample policy. The quote and issued declarations control the buyer-specific limit and deductible.

How to Apply

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

THREE directs small-business prospects to an online quote and says licensed Small Business Advisors can help with the process. 6Company-reported. This is the route for the overall THREE product. It does not show whether Errors and Omissions will be offered for a particular business or whether a customer can bind that line without an issued policy.

Full Comparison

More Coverdash vs THREE by Berkshire Hathaway Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Negligence, Mistakes and errors, Missed deadlines, Legal defense; Who It's For industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Professional Liability separately from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-23.

THREE by Berkshire Hathaway

  1. Jargon-free small business insurance - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Lines 23, 39, 70–81 and 406–410: business location quote entry, single-policy description, issuer, business focus, online quote and licensed Small Business Advisor route. Quote entry inspected without submitting a form. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  2. The Policy: 3 Jargon-free pages - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; State-selectable sample policy: Summary (Declarations) identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company as issuer and says the insurance summary lists limits and deductibles; sample policy text and state selection do not establish terms for a particular quote or issued policy. Accessed 2026-09-30.
  3. Business Owners Policy - THREE by Berkshire Hathaway. Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE; Product page: “No need for multiple policies” and one comprehensive policy; Business Liability, Property and Business Auto categories and the listed line names. Product page footer identifies Berkshire Hathaway Direct Insurance Company, dba THREE. Accessed 2026-09-30.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot