Coverdash vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Hiscox names the insurer behind its admitted professional liability policy; Coverdash's product page does not name a carrier.

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash is an insurance brokerage and digital platform for small businesses, startups and e-commerce sellers. Buyers can compare quotes, purchase policies and manage coverage directly or through an embedded partner service. 1,2,3

Read the Coverdash profile

What Is Hiscox?

Hiscox is a U.S. small-business insurance brand whose website is operated by Hiscox Inc., a Delaware producer that does business in California as Hiscox Insurance Agency. Eligible firms can quote general liability, professional liability, cyber and a business owner’s policy online; other advertised lines are often placed with partner insurers, so the issuing company on each quote still has to be checked. 6,7,8

Read the Hiscox profile

What Is Professional Errors and Omissions (E&O) Insurance?

Professional errors and omissions (E&O) insurance, also called professional liability insurance, addresses claims that professional services or advice caused a client financial loss. What's covered depends on the services actually scheduled in the policy, not the product label alone. 12,13,14,15

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance

Whether the Insurer Is Named

Coverdash's professional liability page does not name the carrier that would underwrite a placed policy. 4 Hiscox's own materials go further, naming a specific underwriter for its admitted small-business product:

Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 11,8Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.

Policy Form and Where It's Sold

Hiscox describes its professional liability policy as claims-made, meaning a claim is covered only if it's made while the policy is active, and says the product is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, with a specialist broker available where the online product isn't offered. 10 9 Coverdash's page does not specify a claims-made or occurrence structure or list which states its professional liability product is available in; it instead names professions and business types it targets, including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. 4

Buying Online and Getting Help

Both companies describe a self-serve online path: Coverdash's is a fully digital quote-to-purchase flow that lets you add coverages like general liability or cyber in the same application, while Hiscox's online quote-and-buy flow includes licensed advisors reachable by phone during posted hours, plus a separate 24/7 claims line once you're a customer. 4 9 10

What to Confirm in Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Coverdash directly which carrier would issue your policy, since its product page does not name one. 4
  • Confirm your state is one where Hiscox sells professional liability online before assuming the direct-quote flow applies to you. 9
  • Get the specific limit and retention from each; neither publishes figures on its public pages. 4 9
  • Ask whether your coverage is claims-made and, if so, what retroactive date applies, since Hiscox's page addresses this and Coverdash's does not. 10

Offering Details

Coverdash vs Hiscox Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCoverdash Professional Liability (E&O) InsuranceHiscox Professional Liability Insurance
Role in This Line

Coverdash arranges professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 3,4Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the professional liability page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

Hiscox Inc., a licensed insurance intermediary, sells professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage directly online to small businesses as part of its Hiscox NOW admitted small-business catalogue. 8,9Company-reported. Company-stated online small-business channel.

Issuing Insurer

The professional liability page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

Hiscox's appetite guide and About Hiscox US page name Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. (NAIC 10200) as the underwriter of admitted Hiscox NOW professional-liability policies. 11,8Company-reported. Admitted small-business professional liability as described in company materials; the exact contracting entity for a particular state or channel should be confirmed on the quote.

Who It’s For

Coverdash markets professional liability to any small business, startup or e-commerce seller that gives advice, provides a service or delivers work for clients, citing examples including architects, dentists, doctors and real estate agencies. 4Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and profession-specific appetite.

Hiscox says professional liability is licensed for sale in 49 states and Washington, D.C., excluding Alaska, and that if it does not sell the product online in a buyer's state, a specialist broker may be able to help instead. 9,11Company-reported. Company-stated jurisdiction for the online small-business catalogue; the appetite guide's technology classes (IT consultants, software development) illustrate typical buyers but do not guarantee acceptance for any one applicant.

Coverage Features

Coverdash describes professional liability as covering claims that a client's financial harm came from the business's negligent advice or service, mistakes made by the business or an employee, or a missed deadline or undelivered work, and pays legal defense costs even for a baseless claim. 4Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits, exclusions and whether the policy is claims-made.

Coverdash's coverage hub lists this general professional liability product separately from Tech E&O (for technology companies) and Lawyers Professional Liability, so a technology or legal business would typically be pointed to the more specific product instead. 5Company-reported. Coverage hub category structure; does not establish which product a given underwriter would actually issue.

Hiscox describes professional liability as a claims-made policy, meaning a claim is covered only if it is made (and typically reported) while the policy is active, rather than an occurrence policy covering incidents regardless of when the claim surfaces. 10Company-reported. Product FAQ description; exact triggers, retroactive dates, exclusions and wording are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

The professional liability page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 4Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed professional liability page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

The professional-liability pages reviewed do not publish standard limit, retention or deductible amounts; specific figures are shown only on a quote. 9,10Not publicly disclosed. Public product and FAQ pages as previously reviewed.

How to Apply

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for professional liability, with the option to add coverages such as general liability or cyber alongside it. 4Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

Hiscox says eligible buyers can quote and buy professional liability online, with licensed advisors available by phone during posted hours for questions during the process. 9Company-reported. Company-described online application; eligibility and binding conditions require confirmation on the actual application.

Claims Support

Not described in the reviewed sources.

A professional-liability FAQ tells current customers that the claims phone line is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, separate from the general claims-center hours listed elsewhere on the Hiscox site. 10Company-reported. Company-described claims-reporting availability for this product's FAQ; does not establish claim outcomes or turnaround time.

Full Comparison

More Coverdash vs Hiscox Comparisons

Other Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Negligence, Mistakes and errors, Missed deadlines, Legal defense; Who It's For industry list. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Professional Liability separately from Tech E&O and Lawyers Professional Liability. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Hiscox

  1. Website Terms & Conditions of Use. Hiscox; Last modified May 28, 2024; Hiscox Inc. as Delaware corporation headquartered in Atlanta, d/b/a Hiscox Insurance Agency in CA, licensed intermediary for admitted and surplus-lines business with Hiscox Insurance Company Inc., other domestic insurers, and Lloyd’s syndicates; small-business online path distinguished from broker-only site sections. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Get A Small Business Insurance Quote. Hiscox; States that Hiscox offers general liability, professional liability, cyber security and business owner’s policies online; zip-code quote field; licensed-agent hours Monday–Friday 7 a.m.–10 p.m. ET and Saturday–Sunday 8 a.m.–5 p.m. ET. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. About Hiscox US Insurance. Hiscox; Hiscox Insurance Company Inc. NAIC 10200 as Chicago, IL domiciled insurer admitted or licensed in all 50 states and D.C.; Hiscox Inc. as general agent and Lloyd’s coverholder for Syndicates 33 and 3624; surplus-lines placements through licensed surplus-lines brokers; A.M. Best rating statement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability Insurance for Small Businesses. Hiscox; Professional liability/E&O product; licensed in 49 states and Washington, D.C. (Alaska excluded); specialist-broker assistance if not licensed in a state; licensed-advisor hours. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  5. What is Professional Liability Insurance? Hiscox; Claims-made description; current-customer claim number described as open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  6. Hiscox US Agent Appetite Guide. Hiscox; Hiscox NOW admitted GL, PL, cyber and BOP underwritten by Hiscox Insurance Company Inc.; technology classes including IT consultants and software development. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Professional Liability (E&O) Insurance Guide

  1. FAQ: Professional liability insurance. Texas Department of Insurance; What’s professional liability coverage?; What types of damages…; What’s general liability insurance?; Do I need professional liability… if I have general liability…?; Is professional liability insurance required?; Can a client require…?; What’s the difference between occurrence policies and claims-made policies. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Professional liability insurance. Insurance Information Institute; Opening paragraphs (professional services/advice and E&O name); Claims not covered by general liability; What types of businesses need professional liability insurance?; What’s covered… and what’s not (claims-made versus occurrence, defense and judgments, non-financial/intentional limits, BOP/in-home exclusion). Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Get business insurance. U.S. Small Business Administration; Six common types of business insurance table. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Professional Liability – US Direct Errors and Omissions Insurance. Hiscox Inc. specimen; About this Policy / Coverage for Claims Made Against You; I.A Insuring Agreement; I.B Defense; I.C Settlement; II.A Notice of Claims; II.C Optional Extended Reporting Period; III.A, III.K, III.M, III.R, III.S Exclusions; IV.A–B Limits and Deductible; VI.O Professional Services; VI.U Wrongful Act. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot