Counterpart vs USI Insurance Services: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

Counterpart describes private-company and nonprofit D&O products distributed through wholesale brokers. USI offers brokerage review and its named ExecuSafe package for small and midsize businesses. 3,4,9

What Is Counterpart Insurance?

Counterpart describes a broker-focused platform for small businesses and lists management and professional liability programs. Buyers should compare the named profession, carrier, state, policy wording and any package component on the actual quote. 1,2

Read the Counterpart profile

Read the Counterpart D&O Insurance page

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI suits software and hardware companies from seed stage through IPO seeking consultative broker support; buyers wanting a self-serve quote should compare digital agencies. Insurer commissions are typical and contingent compensation may also apply. 6,7,8

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

Read the USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 11,12,13

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Broker Review

Counterpart routes its D&O program through wholesale brokers. USI describes a broker-led process that identifies exposures, reviews existing management-liability policies for gaps, and can place its ExecuSafe endorsement package. For a buyer with existing coverage, USI’s documented review function gives you a specific discussion point beyond obtaining a new quote. 3 9

Benchmarking and Limit Advice

USI’s Technology practice says it used peer benchmarking to identify excess D&O limits for a software client, reporting a premium reduction of more than $100,000 per year. Counterpart’s published claims instead describe management-liability protection and illustrative policy figures. Ask USI how its benchmark applies to your risk and ask Counterpart for actual proposed terms; the case study is not a forecast of savings. 3 7

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask Counterpart for actual terms and whether an existing management-liability policy can be reviewed alongside the quote. 3
  • Ask USI which insurer issues ExecuSafe and what benchmark data and limits support your recommendation. 9

Review Scores

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

Counterpart

-/ 10

Review Score

No reviews found

We found no independent customer rating of Counterpart, so it has no Review Score. Its Trustpilot page shows no reviews, and BBB has no matching business.[7][10]

Read Counterpart reviews

USI Insurance Services

6.4/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

USI’s public feedback is too sparse and office-specific for a firmwide verdict. Check the local team’s responsiveness and experience with your type of business.[4][6][8]

Read USI Insurance Services reviews

Offering Details

Counterpart vs USI Insurance Services: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaPrivate Company and Nonprofit Directors & Officers LiabilityUSI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program
Role in This Line

Counterpart describes itself as distributing insurance through its producer and surplus-lines broker and says businesses access the program through a wholesale broker. 1,5Company-reported. The cited pages do not map a particular insurer to a D&O quote or state.

USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 9Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Counterpart publishes a private-company D&O product page and a separate D&O page for not-for-profit organizations. 3,4Company-reported. Separate product pages show different marketed segments; eligibility depends on the proposed risk and insurer review.

USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 9,7Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description.

Coverage Features

The private-company D&O page describes protection for management-liability claims and includes illustrative coverage and limit examples. 3Company-reported. Illustrations and summaries are not policy terms or an available limit commitment.

Counterpart separately markets D&O for not-for-profit organizations. 4Company-reported. The retained page summary does not establish a particular nonprofit’s eligibility or the terms of its policy.

USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 9Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Confirm in your quote.

USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 9Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data.

Risk Services

Confirm in your quote.

USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 7Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 9,7,10Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages.

Full Comparison

More Counterpart vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Counterpart

  1. Counterpart | Agentic Insurance™. Counterpart, Inc.; Current homepage: Quote Online CTA; brokers/small-business audiences; product list; performance claims; legal/footer qualifications, rendered lines 2–52, 55–70, 98–100, 282–287. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  2. About Counterpart. Counterpart, Inc.; Carrier disclosure and Our Story; underwriters named at line 13; company focus lines 22–36. Financial-strength note says ratings are as of 2024-02-26. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  3. Private Directors & Officers Liability Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Retained provider source: product page sections on covered organizations, coverage, example limits/retentions and capacity; prior access 2026-09-28. Direct reopen failed in this session. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  4. Not-for-Profit Directors & Officers Insurance. Counterpart, Inc.; Retained provider source: product page sections on nonprofit eligibility, coverage and underwriting partners; prior access 2026-09-28. Direct reopen failed in this session. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  5. How can I get insurance through Counterpart? Counterpart Knowledge Center; Retained source: article describes wholesale-broker referral route; prior access 2026-09-28. Accessed 2026-09-28.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot