Corgi vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance

Corgi underwrites a named RRG startup form; USI brokers D&O through ExecuSafe and a Technology practice from seed through IPO.

What Is Corgi Insurance?

Corgi Insurance sells commercial coverage to technology startups through stage-based packages (pre-seed and seed, Series A, and growth stage) that combine general liability, directors and officers, technology E&O, cyber, and related lines, alongside a growing small-business product line for other industries. Coverage may be issued by Corgi’s own risk retention group, an affiliated admitted carrier, or a partner insurer, so the issuing entity and available protections depend on the specific product and state. 1,2,3,4,5

Read the Corgi profile

What Is USI Insurance Services?

USI Insurance Services is a U.S. insurance brokerage and consulting firm that arranges property and casualty, employee benefits, personal risk, and retirement programs. Its Technology practice says it works with software, hardware, and related companies from early seed stage through IPO, using a consultative process rather than a published self-serve quote. 7,8,9

Read the USI Insurance Services profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 12

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

Named RRG Versus ExecuSafe Broker Package

Corgi’s D&O is a claims-made policy underwritten by Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. USI brokers D&O: it identifies exposures, reviews existing management-liability policies, and places coverage, including through ExecuSafe. USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed. A Corgi buyer can see the underwriter before quoting; a USI buyer sees the issuer on the placed quote. 6 10

Pre-Seed Packages Versus Seed-to-IPO Technology Practice

Corgi sells D&O as a standalone startup policy and inside packages starting at pre-seed and seed, with a self-serve quote. USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, and its Technology practice places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. If you are pre-seed, Corgi’s packages are the stage it describes; if you are a software, hardware or communications company heading toward IPO, USI’s Technology practice is the stage it describes. 6 10 8

Limits You Can See

Corgi’s illustrative structure shows limits up to $1 million per claim and $2 million in the aggregate, with a $25,000 retention (none on Side A) and defense inside the limit. USI does not publish its own placed ExecuSafe limits; its Technology practice cites a benchmarking case that changed a software company’s D&O limit. Check Corgi’s example against the bound form; take USI’s dollars from the quote after any benchmarking. 6 8 10

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Confirm Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc. is the issuer on a Corgi quote. 6

  • Ask USI which carrier would issue the policy and whether ExecuSafe endorsements are on the form. Keep Corgi’s named RRG next to USI’s unnamed ExecuSafe carrier. 10

  • Confirm whether USI is routing you through ExecuSafe for SMBs or the Technology practice for a seed-to-IPO placement. 10 8

  • Compare Corgi’s illustrative $1 million / $2 million structure with the actual USI placed limit after any benchmarking. 6 8

Offering Details

Corgi vs USI Insurance Services D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCorgi Directors & Officers (D&O)USI ExecuSafe Directors & Officers Liability Program
Role in This Line

Corgi sells D&O as a standalone startup policy and also bundles it into its stage-based packages starting at pre-seed and seed, describing it as protection for directors and officers against personal financial liability for management decisions. 6Company-reported. Product page for form CORG-DO-0100, last reviewed by Corgi on April 24, 2026 per the page itself.

USI is a broker for D&O coverage. It says it helps clients identify D&O exposures, review any existing management liability policies for gaps, and place coverage, including through its own named endorsement package, ExecuSafe. 10Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's "How USI Can Help" section.

Issuing Insurer

Corgi's D&O product page states directly that the policy is a claims-made policy underwritten by Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc., a risk retention group. 6Company-reported. Policy Boundaries section of the D&O product page; this is a line-specific underwriter statement, distinct from Corgi's general multi-entity disclaimer.

USI does not name the insurer that underwrites ExecuSafe or other D&O placements on the pages reviewed; it describes ExecuSafe as an endorsement package it applies to policies placed with the market. 10Not publicly disclosed. ExecuSafe article and Technology/Business Services practice pages as read on 2026-09-23.

Who It’s For

Not described in the reviewed sources.

USI targets small- and medium-sized businesses for ExecuSafe, saying many either skip D&O coverage or buy insufficient limits because their brokers do not help them identify the exposure. Its Technology practice separately places D&O for software, hardware and communications clients from seed stage through IPO. 10,8Company-reported. ExecuSafe article eligibility framing and Technology practice client description.

Coverage Features

The policy has three coverage parts: Side A pays individual directors and officers directly when the company cannot indemnify them and carries no retention; Side B reimburses the company when it does indemnify directors and officers; Side C covers the company entity itself, subject to additional exclusions including intellectual-property claims and contractual liability. 6Company-reported. Coverage summary for form CORG-DO-0100; the issued policy and declarations control.

The standard policy excludes claims from registered public securities offerings, but a carve-back preserves coverage for exempt transactions such as Regulation D private placements, which Corgi says covers how most startups raise capital. 6Company-reported. Scenario notes for form CORG-DO-0100; not every fundraising structure automatically qualifies as exempt.

Corgi covers individual directors and officers (Sides A and B) who receive a Wells Notice, subpoena or target letter from a regulator, but the standard policy excludes entity-level regulatory investigations of the company itself. 6Company-reported. Policy notes for form CORG-DO-0100; informal inquiries and document requests that don't rise to these triggers are not covered.

USI says D&O insurance is meant to protect a company's leadership from personal loss in a lawsuit, since the corporate veil does not shield directors and officers from personal liability for the business's actions and debts. It lists breach of contract, breach of duty, misrepresentation, unfair competition, misappropriation of trade secrets, securities lawsuits and creditor lawsuits as common claim types the coverage responds to. 10Company-reported. ExecuSafe article's description of D&O purpose and claim types; actual insuring agreements and exclusions are set by the issued policy.

Limits and Retentions

Corgi's illustrative D&O structure shows limits up to $1 million per claim and $2 million in the aggregate, with a $25,000 self-insured retention per claim (no retention on Side A) and defense costs included within the limit. 6Company-reported. Illustrative policy structure on the product page; actual limits and retentions appear on the declarations.

USI cites a 2016 Chubb survey that found 43% of private companies carry no D&O coverage, with an average private-company D&O claim cost of $450,000, but the article does not publish USI's own placed limits, retentions or premium ranges for ExecuSafe. 10Not publicly disclosed. Third-party statistic cited by USI to illustrate exposure, not USI's own placement data.

Risk Services

Corgi offers three optional D&O endorsements: Outside Directorship (extends coverage to directors and officers serving on outside boards at the company's request), Crisis Event Expense (covers PR and crisis-communications costs after negative publicity), and Investigative Costs (broader coverage for regulatory inquiries short of a formal claim). 6Company-reported. Available Add-ons section of the product page; endorsement availability varies by jurisdiction and underwriting, and each requires a separate endorsement to apply.

USI's Technology practice cites a case study where its benchmarking analysis showed a software company was buying more D&O limit than peers with similar risk profiles, and says the resulting change saved the client more than $100,000 per year in D&O premium. 8Company-reported. Single case study on the Technology practice page; company-reported outcome, not independently verified.

How to Apply

You can request a D&O quote online through Corgi's self-serve application. 6Company-reported. Product page quote call to action.

USI directs small- and medium-sized businesses interested in ExecuSafe to email Select.Business@usi.com; its Technology and Business Services practices separately route inquiries to pcinquiries@usi.com or a local USI office. 10,8,11Company-reported. Contact instructions on the ExecuSafe article and the Technology and Business Services pages.

Full Comparison

More Corgi vs USI Insurance Services Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Corgi

  1. Disclaimers & Licensing. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Carrier Financial Strength (including “federally chartered” and “federal prudential oversight” wording); About Corgi; Licensing; Premium and Payment Disclosures (producer commissions, fees, or other consideration, amounts available on request); Binding Authority and Policy Issuance; page last updated 04/05/26. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. Corgi Insurance homepage. Corgi Insurance Services, Inc.; Product packages: Cyber and Directors & Officers; Growth Stage and Custom Package; Self-Serve (apply, get quoted in minutes, bind same-day) and Book a Demo paths; Explore Our Main Policies: Commercial General Liability, Crime Insurance, Fiduciary Liability, Hired and Non-Owned Auto (HNOA), Worker’s Compensation; Specialized coverages: Employment Practices Liability (EPLI), K&R (Kidnap & Ransom), Representations and Warranties; Commercial Umbrella Liability; Business Owners Policy (BOP); Coverage sales cards: Media Liability, Medical Malpractice, Miscellaneous E&O; Core Operations: Tech E&O Insurance; Tech & AI Liability product module; Transportation menu: Auto Liability, Contractual Liability Insurance - Cargo; FAQ on cost, claims, and binding; footer entity, program-administrator and issuing-carrier notices. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Corgi Insurance Launches Admitted Insurance Carrier. PR Newswire (Corgi press release); Announcement of Corgi Insurance Company, Inc.; planned small-business product classes; guaranty-association eligibility statement. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  4. NAIC Listing of Companies. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; June 2026 listing, numerical entry 17763 P 1 AZ TECHNOLOGY RRG INC. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  5. Insurance Topics: Risk Retention Groups. National Association of Insurance Commissioners; Topic page last updated 13 October 2025: member-owned liability insurers formed under state and federal law; may be formed under a state's captive or traditional insurance laws; domiciled in one state and registered in others; treated as multi-state companies subject to modified NAIC accreditation standards. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  6. Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance for Startups. Corgi Insurance; What's Actually Inside Your D&O Policy (form CORG-DO-0100); Scenario notes; Policy notes; Available Add-ons; FAQ. Accessed 2026-09-23.

USI Insurance Services

  1. The Power of ONE. USI Insurance Services; History, client-count, nationwide office, and P&C / benefits / personal risk / retirement description. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Technology Insurance. USI Insurance Services; USI's Technology Practice provides risk management advisory and insurance placement for: ...Directors & Officers Liability...; CASE STUDY: USI Benchmarking Saves Software Company $100,000 in D&O Premiums. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Commissions and Fees. USI Insurance Services; Licensed-producer authority, insurer-paid commission default, contingent compensation, and client request right. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Protect Your Company and Personal Assets From Management Liability Risks. USI Insurance Services; JULY 5, 2023 article; common D&O claim types (Breach of Contract, Breach of Duty, Misrepresentation, Unfair Competition, Misappropriation of Trade Secrets, Securities Lawsuits, Creditor Lawsuits); Creditor Suit and Competitor Disputes scenarios; How USI Can Help; ExecuSafe endorsement packs. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Business Services. USI Insurance Services; USI advises clients...and provides solutions for...Directors & Officers Liability... Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot