Coalition vs StartupInsurance.ai D&O Insurance

Coalition sells Executive Risks D&O only through appointed brokers; StartupInsurance.ai places startup D&O via ContractorNerd.

What Is Coalition Insurance?

Coalition offers cyber insurance and technology E&O alongside cyber risk-management services. Its U.S. products are distributed through insurance producers, with separate admitted and surplus-lines routes and an executive-risk product suite. 1,2,3,4

Read the Coalition profile

What Is StartupInsurance.ai?

StartupInsurance.ai is a marketing brand of ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC, offering startup insurance placement and policy reviews. Buyers can begin with an online coverage selection or a review of existing policies and contract requirements. 6,7

Read the StartupInsurance.ai profile

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 10

Read the full coverage guide

Key Differences in D&O Insurance

How You Start

Coalition distributes Executive Risks, including D&O, only through appointed brokers. 4 StartupInsurance.ai lists D&O among lines its startup program places; ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC arranges the placement as agent, and D&O is the first coverage box on StartupInsurance.ai’s online quote-intake screen. 8 9 7 Coalition has no equivalent self-serve box on the reviewed Executive Risks page.

What Paper Is Named

StartupInsurance.ai’s homepage carrier panel names insurers with D&O capacity, such as Chubb (shown as A++ Admitted) and Coalition (shown as A- Surplus), but does not state that either specifically underwrites a given D&O placement. 8 Coalition’s disclaimer names Zurich American (NAIC 16535) for admitted Executive Risks and unaffiliated insurers on a non-admitted basis. 5 The panel can show Coalition as surplus; admitted Executive Risks on Zurich is a different paper path than that surplus label.

Who Is Described as Eligible

Coalition says Executive Risks D&O is for private and not-for-profit U.S. organizations with up to $500 million in assets and up to 1,000 employees. 4 StartupInsurance.ai frames D&O for venture-backed startups once a term sheet requires it. 8 Coalition’s described gates are numeric private/NFP rules; StartupInsurance.ai’s described buyer is a founder answering a term sheet.

What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes

  • Ask StartupInsurance.ai which insurer would issue D&O and whether it is Coalition Executive Risks, another Coalition product, or a different carrier. 8
  • Ask whether any AI exclusion endorsement is on the quote. 8
  • Confirm Coalition private/NFP and size eligibility and whether paper is Zurich admitted or surplus. 4 5
  • Compare quoted limits with Coalition’s $10 million per-line figure. 4

Offering Details

Coalition vs StartupInsurance.ai D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCoalition Executive Risks — Directors and Officers Liability (D&O)StartupInsurance.ai Directors & Officers (D&O) Insurance
Role in This Line

Coalition designs and distributes D&O as one of four coverages in its Executive Risks product suite, sold through appointed brokers. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23.

StartupInsurance.ai lists directors and officers coverage among the lines its startup program places, and its homepage cites an investor's term-sheet request for D&O as a typical reason a founder comes to it. ContractorNerd Insurance Services, LLC arranges the placement as agent/broker of record rather than underwriting it. 8,9Company-reported. Homepage coverage list and "the problem" narrative, plus ContractorNerd's terms and conditions on its producer role; does not describe a specific D&O policy's terms.

Issuing Insurer

Coalition's disclaimer names Zurich American Insurance Company (NAIC 16535) as the admitted carrier for Executive Risks, and says Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. also places Executive Risks with unaffiliated insurers on a non-admitted basis, so the carrier for a specific D&O policy depends on the placement route. 5Company-reported. U.S. Disclaimers page as read on 2026-09-23.

The homepage's carrier panel names insurers with D&O capacity, such as Chubb (shown as A++ Admitted) and Coalition (shown as A- Surplus), but does not state that either one specifically underwrites D&O placements; the issuing insurer varies by placement. 8Not publicly disclosed. Homepage carrier panel and ratings card; the panel is program-wide, not broken out by coverage line.

Who It’s For

Coalition says Executive Risks products, including D&O, are available to private and not-for-profit U.S. organizations in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., with up to $500 million in assets, up to 1,000 employees, and up to $500 million in plan assets. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks FAQ as read on 2026-09-23.

StartupInsurance.ai frames D&O as coverage founders typically need once an investor's term sheet requires it, positioning the line for venture-backed startups with a board rather than pre-revenue companies with no outside investors. 8Company-reported. Homepage narrative example; not a stated underwriting eligibility rule (e.g., minimum funding stage or headcount).

Coverage Features

Coalition says D&O coverage protects company leadership from liability arising from their business decisions, including alleged breaches of duty or financial mismanagement. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23; exclusions and limitations apply per the page footer, and the issued policy controls actual terms.

StartupInsurance.ai says one major carrier added a blanket AI exclusion to D&O (along with E&O and fiduciary forms), typically arriving at renewal inside an endorsement, and that it reviews policies for this exclusion as part of its free check. 8Company-reported. Homepage "wording that still says yes" section; names the exclusion trend industrywide but not the carrier, and does not state whether any StartupInsurance.ai-placed D&O policy carries this specific endorsement.

Limits and Retentions

Coalition says limits up to $10 million per coverage line may be available for Executive Risks products, including D&O, subject to exclusions and limitations. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks FAQ as read on 2026-09-23; not a quoted or bindable limit for any specific applicant.

Not described in the reviewed sources.

Risk Services

Coalition says Executive Risks policyholders, including D&O buyers, get a customized risk assessment, a hotline for assistance with HR and director/officer-related issues, employee training, a handbook builder, and website compliance tools. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks page and FAQ as read on 2026-09-23.

StartupInsurance.ai's free policy check reviews an existing program for AI exclusions and contract gaps within 48 hours, and the homepage specifically calls out D&O as one of the forms affected by the AI-exclusion trend it checks for. 8Company-reported. Homepage service description; a marketing offer describing what the review covers, not a report on any specific customer's D&O policy.

How to Apply

Coalition distributes Executive Risks, including D&O, only through appointed insurance brokers rather than direct to buyers. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23.

Directors & Officers (D&O) is the first coverage box on StartupInsurance.ai's online quote-intake screen, described there as coverage that "protects your board and executives from lawsuits." 7Company-reported. Initial coverage-selection screen of the quote application; does not show the underwriting questions that follow for this line.

Full Comparison

More Coalition vs StartupInsurance.ai Comparisons

Other D&O Insurance Comparisons

Sources

Coalition

  1. Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  4. Executive Risks. Coalition; Product Offering: Directors and Officers Liability (D&O) — offers protection for company leadership from liability arising from their business decisions, including alleged breaches of duty or financial mismanagement; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer?, What resources do you have for policyholders? Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Admitted Executive Risk: insurance products offered by Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. acting on behalf of unaffiliated insurance companies and, on an admitted basis, on behalf of Zurich American Insurance Company (NAIC # 16535). Accessed 2026-09-23.

StartupInsurance.ai

  1. Company | Startup Insurance. StartupInsurance.ai; The story; founders; The free policy check; legal footer. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. Apply for Startup Insurance | StartupInsurance.ai. StartupInsurance.ai; Coverage-selection screen: Directors & Officers (D&O) — “Protects your board and executives from lawsuits”. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  3. Startup Insurance | Coverage that clears the review. StartupInsurance.ai; The problem (“An investor's term sheet asked for D&O”); Wording that still says yes (“One major carrier added a blanket AI exclusion to D&O, E&O and fiduciary”); Coverage: What we place; The free policy check. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Terms and Conditions. ContractorNerd; Section 2, Insurance Services: “ContractorNerd is an insurance agency/insurance producer... not an insurance company, does not underwrite insurance”; Section 2.A, Broker/Agent of Record. Accessed 2026-09-23.

D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Let Spot Handle the Insurance Legwork.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot