Coalition vs
Newfront D&O Insurance
Coalition’s Executive Risks D&O is private/NFP with a $10 million cap; Newfront brokers seed-to-public D&O, Side A DIC, and IPO or deSPAC transitions.
What Is Coalition Insurance?
Coalition offers cyber insurance and technology E&O alongside cyber risk-management services. Its U.S. products are distributed through insurance producers, with separate admitted and surplus-lines routes and an executive-risk product suite. 1,2,3,4
What Is Newfront?
Newfront is a business-insurance and employee-benefits brokerage that combines specialist teams with online policy-management tools. It is now part of WTW. 6,7,8,9
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
Directors and officers liability insurance addresses covered claims alleging wrongful acts in managing an organization. 11
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Program Versus Executive Risk Desk
Coalition designs D&O as one of four Executive Risks coverages, sold only through appointed brokers, with Zurich American as the admitted carrier and unaffiliated insurers available. 4 5 Newfront brokers D&O rather than issuing that Executive Risks form. 10
Newfront’s Executive Risk practice brokers D&O under practice leader Deirdre Finn, lists private and public D&O and Side A DIC among key coverages, and does not name the issuing insurer. 10 Newfront’s book includes Side A DIC as a labeled product; Coalition’s Executive Risks offering describes primary D&O inside the suite, not a separately named DIC.
Seed, Unicorns and Listings Versus Asset Caps
Newfront says it services private companies from seed through every series, including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant M&A and IPOs. 10 Coalition says Executive Risks D&O is for private and not-for-profit U.S. organizations with up to $500 million in assets and up to 1,000 employees. 4
Newfront also describes a process for transitioning through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing. 10 Coalition also says limits up to $10 million per line may be available. 4
Dashboard Versus Handbook Tools
Newfront says clients get 24/7 access to their D&O program through a connected dashboard, that renewals use automated, pre-populated historical data, and that it provides integrated claims and coverage negotiation; you start by requesting a consultation. 10 Coalition lists a customized risk assessment, HR and director/officer hotline, training, handbook builder and website tools. 4 Newfront’s reviewed materials do not publish D&O limits; Coalition publishes the $10 million per-line figure. 10 4
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
- Ask Newfront whether the quote is private D&O, public D&O or Side A DIC, and which carrier issues it. 10
- If you are approaching an IPO, deSPAC or listing, ask how Newfront structures the transition versus Executive Risks. 10 4
- Confirm Coalition private/NFP, asset and employee rules. 4
- Ask whether Coalition paper is Zurich admitted or unaffiliated. 5
Offering Details
Coalition vs Newfront D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | Coalition Executive Risks — Directors and Officers Liability (D&O) | Newfront Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Coalition designs and distributes D&O as one of four coverages in its Executive Risks product suite, sold through appointed brokers. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Newfront's Executive Risk practice brokers D&O coverage, negotiating placement for management-liability lines. Deirdre Finn, the Executive Risk Solutions Practice Leader, oversees this D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary book of business. 10Company-reported. Executive Risk offering page and Leadership section. |
| Issuing Insurer | Coalition's disclaimer names Zurich American Insurance Company (NAIC 16535) as the admitted carrier for Executive Risks, and says Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. also places Executive Risks with unaffiliated insurers on a non-admitted basis, so the carrier for a specific D&O policy depends on the placement route. 5Company-reported. U.S. Disclaimers page as read on 2026-09-23. | The reviewed Executive Risk page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a D&O policy placed through Newfront. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23; carrier depends on the specific placement. |
| Who It’s For | Coalition says Executive Risks products, including D&O, are available to private and not-for-profit U.S. organizations in all 50 states and Washington, D.C., with up to $500 million in assets, up to 1,000 employees, and up to $500 million in plan assets. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks FAQ as read on 2026-09-23. | Newfront says it services private companies "from seed round through every series of capital funding," including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant matters such as M&A and IPOs. 10Company-reported. Here for the Long Run section; company-reported client counts, not independently verified. |
| Coverage Features | Coalition says D&O coverage protects company leadership from liability arising from their business decisions, including alleged breaches of duty or financial mismanagement. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23; exclusions and limitations apply per the page footer, and the issued policy controls actual terms. | Newfront lists "Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies" and "Side A DIC D&O" among its Executive Risk Key Coverages, and says its D&O work includes protection against securities-related litigation and regulatory investigations. 10Company-reported. Key Coverages list and Committed to Client Advocacy section; Side A DIC is a difference-in-conditions option, and actual trigger and exclusions require the proposed wording. |
| Limits and Retentions | Coalition says limits up to $10 million per coverage line may be available for Executive Risks products, including D&O, subject to exclusions and limitations. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks FAQ as read on 2026-09-23; not a quoted or bindable limit for any specific applicant. | The reviewed Executive Risk page does not publish D&O limits or retentions. 10Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Coalition says Executive Risks policyholders, including D&O buyers, get a customized risk assessment, a hotline for assistance with HR and director/officer-related issues, employee training, a handbook builder, and website compliance tools. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks page and FAQ as read on 2026-09-23. | Newfront says clients get 24/7 access to their D&O program through its connected dashboard, and that renewals use automated, pre-populated historical data for faster submissions and approvals. 10Company-reported. Industry-Leading Technology section of the Executive Risk page. |
| How to Apply | Coalition distributes Executive Risks, including D&O, only through appointed insurance brokers rather than direct to buyers. 4Company-reported. Executive Risks product page as read on 2026-09-23. | Newfront describes a process for private companies transitioning to public status through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, and you start a D&O placement by requesting a consultation through the Executive Risk page. 10Company-reported. Committed to Client Advocacy section and page call-to-action; no online quoting or binding described. |
| Claims Support | Not described in the reviewed sources. | Newfront says it provides "integrated claims and coverage negotiation" for its Executive Risk lines, which would apply to a D&O claim. 10Company-reported. The Newfront Difference section; described across Executive Risk lines, not a D&O-specific claims workflow. |
Full Comparison
More Coalition vs Newfront Comparisons
Other D&O Insurance Comparisons
Sources
Coalition
- Tech E&O Insurance Coverage. Coalition; Who needs Technology Errors & Omissions coverage? (organizations that provide a technology product or service for a fee); Combine Technology Errors & Omissions coverage with Active Cyber Insurance; Coalition Advantage. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- U.S. Producer Compensation. Coalition; Insurance Producers; Base Commission; Contingent Commission; Business Production Incentive Programs; Non-Insurance Products. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Are there any differences between Coalition’s admitted and surplus lines products? Coalition; Cyber insurance coverage offered by Coalition: Coverage availability; Coverage offering. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Executive Risks. Coalition; Product Offering: Directors and Officers Liability (D&O) — offers protection for company leadership from liability arising from their business decisions, including alleged breaches of duty or financial mismanagement; FAQ: What type of businesses do you protect?, What limits do you offer?, What resources do you have for policyholders? Accessed 2026-09-23.
- U.S. Disclaimers. Coalition; Admitted Executive Risk: insurance products offered by Coalition Insurance Solutions, Inc. acting on behalf of unaffiliated insurance companies and, on an admitted basis, on behalf of Zurich American Insurance Company (NAIC # 16535). Accessed 2026-09-23.
Newfront
- Business Insurance. Newfront; Purpose-Built Team; Full Transparency; Streamlined Program Management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Employee Benefits. Newfront; Employee Benefits heading; Tailored Solutions; Comprehensive Expertise: Benefits, Global Benefits, Compensation and Retirement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- WTW Completes Acquisition Of Newfront. WTW; 27 January 2026 release; completion announcement and allocation of Business Insurance and Total Rewards to WTW segments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Executive Risk. Newfront; Key Coverages to Protect Your Business: Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies, Side A DIC D&O; Here for the Long Run: Private Companies, IPOs, Public; Leadership: Deirdre Finn; Industry-Leading Technology. Accessed 2026-09-23.
D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.





