CNA Small Business Insurance: Products, Agents and Service
CNA directs small-business buyers to independent agents and describes CNA Connect as a businessowners policy for more than 600 small-business classes. Issuer and availability vary by policy and state, so confirm both in a quote. 1,2,3
What Is Newfront?
Newfront suits growing and enterprise businesses seeking specialist insurance and benefits teams plus Navigator policy tools; small firms wanting an instant direct quote should compare online carriers. Its Partner Management tool is included in client service agreements. 5,6,7,8
What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?
D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 10,11,12
Key Differences in D&O Insurance
Renewal workflow and services
Newfront says it serves private companies from seed through later funding rounds and has worked with public companies on M&A and IPO matters. CNA’s reviewed product is designed for private companies including small businesses. A company approaching an IPO should ask Newfront how the placement changes at transition and confirm CNA’s appetite for its current structure. 4 9
How the Difference Affects Your Placement
Newfront describes 24/7 program dashboard access and automated, pre-populated renewal data. CNA’s record highlights claims-team support and choices in shared or separate limits. Ask Newfront what information its dashboard exposes and compare the claims and renewal support each provider commits to. 4 9
What to Confirm in D&O Insurance Quotes
CNA and Newfront Review Scores for 2026
These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.
CNA Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Customer feedback on CNA is mixed and hard to compare. NerdWallet gave it 4.5 out of 5 for manufacturers, while Trustpilot shows about 1.4 out of 5 from 49 mostly self-selected reviews.[1][5]
Read CNA reviewsNewfront Review Score
Review Score
1 rated source
Newfront has too little firmwide customer feedback for a reliable review verdict. An individual agent’s BBB grade does not establish the wider company’s service quality.[6]
Read Newfront reviewsCNA vs Newfront D&O Insurance Compared
CNA vs Newfront: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider
| Criteria | CNA Epack 3 Private Company D&O | Newfront Directors and Officers (D&O) Insurance |
|---|---|---|
| Role in This Line | Confirm in your quote. | Newfront's Executive Risk practice brokers D&O coverage, negotiating placement for management-liability lines. Deirdre Finn, the Executive Risk Solutions Practice Leader, oversees this D&O, employment-practices and fiduciary book of business. 9Company-reported. Executive Risk offering page and Leadership section. |
| Issuing Insurer | Confirm in your quote. | The reviewed Executive Risk page does not name the insurer or insurers that would issue a D&O policy placed through Newfront. 9Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23; carrier depends on the specific placement. |
| Who It’s For | CNA states this D&O product is designed for private companies, including small private companies. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form. | Newfront says it services private companies "from seed round through every series of capital funding," including over 120 unicorn companies, and has worked with over 500 publicly traded companies on D&O-relevant matters such as M&A and IPOs. 9Company-reported. Here for the Long Run section; company-reported client counts, not independently verified. |
| Coverage Features | CNA’s private-company D&O summary describes coverage for covered company and individual claims and identifies Side A, Side B and Side C protection. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form. | Newfront lists "Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies" and "Side A DIC D&O" among its Executive Risk Key Coverages, and says its D&O work includes protection against securities-related litigation and regulatory investigations. 9Company-reported. Key Coverages list and Committed to Client Advocacy section; Side A DIC is a difference-in-conditions option, and actual trigger and exclusions require the proposed wording. |
| Limits and Retentions | CNA says Epack 3 D&O can use shared or separate limits and offers an embedded Side A limit option. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Availability of options is subject to underwriting and policy wording. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form. | The reviewed Executive Risk page does not publish D&O limits or retentions. 9Not publicly disclosed. Executive Risk page as read on 2026-09-23. |
| Risk Services | Confirm in your quote. | Newfront says clients get 24/7 access to their D&O program through its connected dashboard, and that renewals use automated, pre-populated historical data for faster submissions and approvals. 9Company-reported. Industry-Leading Technology section of the Executive Risk page. |
| How to Apply | Confirm in your quote. | Newfront describes a process for private companies transitioning to public status through an IPO, deSPAC or direct listing, and you start a D&O placement by requesting a consultation through the Executive Risk page. 9Company-reported. Committed to Client Advocacy section and page call-to-action; no online quoting or binding described. |
| Claims Support | CNA says an experienced claims team supports policyholders with D&O claims. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Company-reported service description; not an outcome guarantee. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form. | Newfront says it provides "integrated claims and coverage negotiation" for its Executive Risk lines, which would apply to a D&O claim. 9Company-reported. The Newfront Difference section; described across Executive Risk lines, not a D&O-specific claims workflow. |
Related Pages for CNA vs Newfront D&O Insurance
D&O Insurance Pages for CNA and Newfront
Other Coverage Lines Compared for CNA vs Newfront
Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons
Sources for CNA vs Newfront D&O Insurance
Sources About CNA
- Insurance for Small Businesses. CNA; Insurance for Small Businesses, lines 38-50 and 65-67 (CNA Central and agent route); lines 79-106 (product and stated appetite lists); page footer line 132 (CNA registered service mark). Accessed 2026-09-28.
- CNA Connect Small Businessowners Policy (BOP) | CNA Insurance. CNA; CNA Connect; coverages, product range, services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
- General Disclaimer. CNA; General Disclaimer paragraphs 1 and 5 (HTML lines 24 and 28): CNA describes Continental Casualty Company and its relevant affiliates; references to CNA may include one or more CCC affiliates; each particular policy/product/service is the responsibility only of the specific CNA company that issues or supplies it. Footer line 57 identifies CNA Financial Corporation as trademark registrant. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
- Private Company Directors & Officers Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: covered claims, Side A/B/C, limits, eligibility and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.
Sources About Newfront
- Business Insurance. Newfront; Purpose-Built Team; Full Transparency; Streamlined Program Management. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Employee Benefits. Newfront; Employee Benefits heading; Tailored Solutions; Comprehensive Expertise: Benefits, Global Benefits, Compensation and Retirement. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- WTW Completes Acquisition Of Newfront. WTW; 27 January 2026 release; completion announcement and allocation of Business Insurance and Total Rewards to WTW segments. Accessed 2026-09-15.
- Executive Risk. Newfront; Key Coverages to Protect Your Business: Directors and Officers (D&O)—Private and public companies, Side A DIC D&O; Here for the Long Run: Private Companies, IPOs, Public; Leadership: Deirdre Finn; Industry-Leading Technology. Accessed 2026-09-23.
Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide
- Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
- Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.






