CNA vs Coverdash: How Do They Compare for D&O Insurance?

CNA offers Epack 3 for private companies; Coverdash arranges standalone D&O separately from its optional bundled management-liability product. 4,7,8

CNA Small Business Insurance: Products, Agents and Service

CNA directs small-business buyers to independent agents and describes CNA Connect as a businessowners policy for more than 600 small-business classes. Issuer and availability vary by policy and state, so confirm both in a quote. 1,2,3

Read the CNA profile

Read the CNA D&O Insurance page

What Is Coverdash Insurance?

Coverdash suits small businesses that want online shopping or an embedded partner purchase with one account for policies and billing; firms needing specialized complex-risk advice should compare broker-led programs. 5,6,7

Read the Coverdash profile

Read the Coverdash D&O Insurance page

What Is Directors and Officers Insurance?

D&O insurance can help pay covered defense costs and losses from claims against company leaders over management decisions. If your organization has a board or executives, check whether the company itself is insured and whether legal bills reduce the limit. 10,11,12

Read the full coverage guide

What Are the Key Differences Between CNA and Coverdash D&O Insurance?

Package design and buying route

CNA identifies Epack 3 as private-company D&O, with shared or separate limits available. Coverdash distinguishes a standalone D&O product from a management-liability bundle that can add EPLI, fiduciary and crime. Ask whether you need only D&O or want those additional lines placed together, then compare the policy schedules. 4 8

How the Difference Affects Your Placement

Coverdash describes a digital quote-to-purchase path and the option to add coverages alongside D&O. CNA’s reviewed record focuses on Epack 3 coverage and claims support, not a digital purchase path. Ask Coverdash which insurer and terms appear in the quote and ask your CNA agent for the equivalent submission timeline. 4 8

What Should You Confirm in CNA and Coverdash D&O Insurance Quotes?

  • Will Coverdash quote standalone D&O or its broader bundle, and who will issue the policy? 8
  • What shared/separate limit choices can CNA include in your Epack 3 quote? 4

CNA and Coverdash Review Scores for 2026

These averages can combine ratings for different products, locations, and customer groups, including approximate BBB grade conversions. Read each review for the sources, scope, and calculation.

CNA Review Score

9.0/ 10

Review Score

1 rated source

Customer feedback on CNA is mixed and hard to compare. NerdWallet gave it 4.5 out of 5 for manufacturers, while Trustpilot shows about 1.4 out of 5 from 49 mostly self-selected reviews.[1][5]

Read CNA reviews

Coverdash Review Score

7.2/ 10

Review Score

2 rated sources

Coverdash offers convenient quote comparison, but public customer feedback is sparse. A BBB unanswered-complaint record makes responsiveness worth checking before purchase.[1][4][6]

Read Coverdash reviews

CNA vs Coverdash D&O Insurance Compared

CNA vs Coverdash: D&O Insurance: documented features by provider

CriteriaCNA Epack 3 Private Company D&OCoverdash Directors & Officers Insurance
Role in This Line

Confirm in your quote.

Coverdash arranges standalone directors and officers coverage as a broker rather than an insurer, placing coverage with a carrier under its standard brokerage terms. 7,8Company-reported. General brokerage terms applied to the D&O page; not specific to any one carrier or state.

Issuing Insurer

Confirm in your quote.

The directors and officers page does not name the insurer that issues the policy. 8Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; the page describes coverage without naming a specific carrier.

Who It’s For

CNA states this D&O product is designed for private companies, including small private companies. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form.

Coverdash says any company with a board, investors or executives making decisions on its behalf needs D&O, and that it is frequently required as a condition of funding. 8Company-reported. Product-page eligibility description; actual acceptance depends on underwriting and the specific funding or governance situation.

Coverage Features

CNA’s private-company D&O summary describes coverage for covered company and individual claims and identifies Side A, Side B and Side C protection. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Company marketing summary only; issued policy forms, underwriting, jurisdictional availability, limits, exclusions and definitions control. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form.

Coverdash describes directors and officers coverage as protecting the company's directors, officers and the company itself against claims that a leadership decision caused financial harm, suits from investors or shareholders, and regulatory investigations, and pays defense costs and settlements for covered claims. 8Company-reported. Product-page coverage cards; the issued policy and declarations control actual wording, limits and exclusions.

Coverdash sells this standalone Directors & Officers product separately from its bundled management liability product, which adds optional employment-practices, fiduciary and crime coverage on top of the D&O core. 8Company-reported. Comparison of the directors-and-officers and management-liability product pages; does not establish which structure is cheaper or better suited to a given company.

Limits and Retentions

CNA says Epack 3 D&O can use shared or separate limits and offers an embedded Side A limit option. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Availability of options is subject to underwriting and policy wording. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form.

The directors and officers page does not publish specific limit, retention or deductible amounts. 8Not publicly disclosed. Reviewed directors and officers page as of 2026-09-23; figures are quote-specific and not shown on the public product page.

How to Apply

Confirm in your quote.

Coverdash describes a fully digital quote-to-purchase process for directors and officers coverage, with the option to add other coverages alongside it. 8Company-reported. Product-page company information and cross-sell section.

Claims Support

CNA says an experienced claims team supports policyholders with D&O claims. 4Company-reported. Entity: CNA brand; issuing company varies by form/state Product: Private-company D&O in Epack 3 Jurisdiction: United States Research source scope: U.S. private-company D&O under Epack 3; issuer/state terms vary Claim limitation: Company-reported service description; not an outcome guarantee. Source/date qualification: Source is CNA’s 2025 private-company D&O marketing summary; it is not an issued policy form.

Confirm in your quote.

Related Pages for CNA vs Coverdash D&O Insurance

D&O Insurance Pages for CNA and Coverdash

Other Coverage Lines Compared for CNA vs Coverdash

Other D&O Insurance Provider Comparisons

Sources for CNA vs Coverdash D&O Insurance

Sources About CNA

  1. Insurance for Small Businesses. CNA; Insurance for Small Businesses, lines 38-50 and 65-67 (CNA Central and agent route); lines 79-106 (product and stated appetite lists); page footer line 132 (CNA registered service mark). Accessed 2026-09-28.
  2. CNA Connect Small Businessowners Policy (BOP) | CNA Insurance. CNA; CNA Connect; coverages, product range, services. Accessed 2026-09-28.
  3. General Disclaimer. CNA; General Disclaimer paragraphs 1 and 5 (HTML lines 24 and 28): CNA describes Continental Casualty Company and its relevant affiliates; references to CNA may include one or more CCC affiliates; each particular policy/product/service is the responsibility only of the specific CNA company that issues or supplies it. Footer line 57 identifies CNA Financial Corporation as trademark registrant. Re-read 2026-09-29. Accessed 2026-09-29.
  4. Private Company Directors & Officers Liability | CNA. CNA; pp. 1–2: covered claims, Side A/B/C, limits, eligibility and claims. Accessed 2026-09-28.

Sources About Coverdash

  1. Frequently Asked Questions. Coverdash; Getting a quote & buying coverage; Claims & certificates; Billing & managing your policy; About Coverdash. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  2. About Us. Coverdash; How Coverdash Works: direct and embedded channels; Our Investors. Accessed 2026-09-15.
  3. Terms And Conditions. Coverdash; "Coverdash does not provide any underwriting services"; broker/agent of record designation. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  4. Directors & Officers Insurance. Coverdash; Product introduction; Types of Coverage cards for Management decisions, Investor and shareholder claims, Regulatory actions, Legal defense; Who It's For. Accessed 2026-09-23.
  5. Coverage Hub. Coverdash; Professional & Management category listing Directors & Officers separately from Management Liability, D&O Side A and the D&O + EPLI Bundle. Accessed 2026-09-23.

Sources for the D&O Insurance Guide

  1. Glossary of Business Insurance Terms. The Hartford; Directors and Officers Liability Insurance; Errors and Omissions Insurance; Employment Practices Liability Insurance. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  2. The Chubb Primary Directors & Officers and Entity Securities Liability Insurance. Chubb Group of Insurance Companies; hosted by eperils; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; I and III.A–B pp.1–2; VI Reporting pp.3–4. Accessed 2026-09-16.
  3. Private Company Directors and Officers Liability Coverage. Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America; I.A–C p.1; I.C p.1; Header p.1 and VI.A pp.6–7. Accessed 2026-09-16.

Updated . Spot, a product of Tools for Enlightenment, publishes this research and works in the commercial insurance market. The comparison applies the same criteria to both providers. Editorial policy. To suggest a correction, contact Spot with the page URL and supporting source.

Get Help With Insurance Buying and Renewals.

Get help buying coverage and managing renewals, with less paperwork for your team. Start with a free consultation.

Talk to Spot